Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 753

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Lakeland Retreat

Stay Date: 02/02/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Perfect setting, attentive staff and spotlessly clean. The food was superb, we really enjoyed our evening meal - it was superb! We would definitely go back to this wonderful Lakeland retreat! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The George pub  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The George Pub  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Mini break in Lake District

Stay Date: 24/03/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Bicester who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Excellent mini-break, helped with good weather. Hotel very good and conveniently situated near Lake Windermere. We could walk down to the promenade to get on the boat for a lake cruise. Hotel was a See More  Read more information little too warm but otherwise very nice. The food was excellent, if anything, their dinner menu could be simplified. Our room was very big and very comfortable with a couple of easy chairs where wecould sit and relax.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Boat trip on lake  
Steam train ride  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing on Windermere

Stay Date: 09/04/16, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Our second wedding anniversary short break at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel was absolutely amazing. The hotel and ground itself was gorgeous, reception and bar staff were great, however some of See More  Read more information the restaurant staff lacked personality and a smile, the food was lovely and overall very relaxing. Would definitely return for another stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bodega tapas bar  
Cafe Riva  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great mini break in Windermere

Stay Date: 07/05/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Liverpool who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Excellent hotel, fantastic location overlooking the lake, breakfast was lovely so was the evening meal, cannot fault this hotel, will be staying again in the near future. Buy the freedom & train See More  Read more information ticket for 24 hour boat trips and Haverthwaite Steam train ride £22.50 per person, worked out good value for money. We were upgraded to Lake view honeymoon room - fantastic.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Boat Ride On Windermere  
Haverthwaite Steam Train  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
China Fortune Bowness  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lakes break

Stay Date: 06/05/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Leicester who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Overall am ideal location for a relaxing break. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake Cruise  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Country house hotel

Stay Date: 20/05/16, a customer aged 65+ from Redcar who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

An excellent Country House Hotel - everything you could hope for. Beautiful gardens, country house style furnishings and roomy bedrooms with good facilities. The staff are attentive and helpful. A See More  Read more information first class dining experience. We will definitely return.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grizedale Forest  
Sizergh Castle  
Hill Top house Beatrix Potter  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Sun Inn Crook  
Mainsgill farm shop  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Rainy Break in the Lakes

Stay Date: 28/06/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Lindeth Howe is in a wonderful location, cosy and comfortable with warm welcoming staff. The pool, although small was adequate especially when we had the luxury of having it to ourselves. The food See More  Read more information in the restaurant exceeded expectations.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hill Top  
AyraForce  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Quiet break in Bowness

Stay Date: 12/07/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Lancashire who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Hotel was lovely with lots of character, all the food in the restaurant was stunning. Was slightly disappointed on arrival as the SuperBreak site stated there was a gym which is why after trawling See More  Read more information through all hotels in Bowness on the Internet we chose this hotel, there is no longer a gym but the pool & sauna are still open.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shahibs  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely country hotel in Lakes

Stay Date: 05/08/16, a customer aged 45-64 from St. Helens who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Lovely hotel with great restaurant. Good location in lovely grounds - we had a great room with garden view and the evening meal was fine dining. Attentive staff. Only disappointment was that we See More  Read more information booked for a special birthday treat and wanted to have a beauty treatment only to be told that the therapist wasn't available due to an injured wrist. It would have been useful to know this in advance.Would visit this hotel again though.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere  
Bowness  
Hill Top  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Overpriced

Stay Date: 06/08/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Lytham St. Annes who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

The hotel is dated in places. Most of the staff were really friendly but some service was slow. I have marked this hotel down because on the first day of eating breakfast a child was allowed to play See More  Read more information the piano which was not very relaxing for the other guests to hear, most were unhappy about this. We raised our disapproval to a few members of staff yet the after eating her breakfast the child wasallowed to play the piano again, much to the annoyance of my husband and I. The next day at breakfast she was allowed to play again! It didn't last very long as my husband and I left the dining roomto finish our breakfast in the bar area of the hotel and it was evident to the child's parents that we were not happy. Also on the Sunday evening a guest was allowed to eat in the restaurant wearshorts & flipflops! Really? Guests were informed that long trousers and a collard shirt were required, this guy looked like he'd just walked in off the beach. I don't class this hotel as a "luxuryhotel" and have stayed in much better.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Keswick  
Lakeland Motor Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal Oak  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 691 - 700 of 753 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001507 @ 06/12/2017 10:38:16

Last rendered @ 12/12/2017 02:30:50

Last rendered @ 12/12/2017 02:30:50

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.