Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 727

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

The Old England Hotel

Stay Date: 21/10/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Bowness-on-Windermere wrote this review.

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and had dinner included on the 1st night. The food was absolutely fantastic and we were blown away by the standard. The meal included a complimentory starter See More  Read more information which was delicious. We ate out in Bowness on the second night and wish we'd stayed in the hotel! The spa was a lovely addition to the stay as well.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Fat Olives In Bowness  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Bowness

Stay Date: 16/10/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Bowness-on-Windermere rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Macdonald Old England Hotel  
 
 

Lake District - By Car

Stay Date: 18/10/09, a customer from Buckinghamshire who stayed at 4* Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Bowness-on-Windermere wrote this review.

You can't rely on the weather in the Lake District but it doesn't matter becasue the landscape is spectacular in any condition, except maybe fog! Don't forget your sat nav, an essential tool these See More  Read more information days enabling you to enjoy the scenery without the thought in the back of your mind "where are we".   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Keswick  
Grange over Sands  
Ullswater  
Kirkstone Pass  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Macdonalds Old England

Stay Date: 07/09/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Bowness-on-Windermere wrote this review.

The hotel is lovely, perfect location right on the lake and close to lots of bars and restaraunts.Our room was very spacious the only drawback we were in the roof so it only had velux windows in the See More  Read more information roof. You could see the lake if you stood on a chair to look out but it really wasn't a problem. The first night we had dinner in the hotel, really good, it was included in the price. I think wewould have thought twice about it if it had not been, also the bar prices are a little steep. All in all we would return there and also recommend it a really lovely place to stay. My husband reallyenjoyed the pool and the leisure facilities.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cartmel  
Grange over Sands  
Lake Cruise Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jackson Bistro  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In South Lakes

Stay Date: 07/08/09, a customer from Coldstream who stayed at 4* Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Bowness-on-Windermere rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Family meeting at the Lake Districk

Stay Date: 14/09/13, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* The Wild Boar Inn (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

We spent long hours in the comfort of the hotel reminiscing with family members we hadn't seen for a long time. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Bowness on Windermere

Stay Date: 22/02/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* The Wild Boar Inn (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Would highly recommend the Wild Boar Inn, our first visit Feb 2014 was very memorable and we are already planning a return visit. Whilst staying there it was evident that other guests had indeed See More  Read more information returned many times!! Very comfortable hotel & the bedroom was warm and nicely decorated. The bar & restaurant had a great atmosphere on both Saturday & Sunday evening with lovely warm open fires blazingwhich were much appreciated as the weather was cold and wet at the end of February! The staff were all very helpful, polite & friendly. Great walks locally in the adjacent woods, wellies provided forfree!! Cant wait to return. Thank you and hope to visit again soon, Edward & Sarah   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside  
Bowness on Widermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wild Boar Inn  
Apple Pie cafe  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent weekend at The Wild Boar Inn Lake District

Stay Date: 28/02/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* The Wild Boar Inn (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Fab time at the Wild Boar Inn. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wild Boar Inn  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Wild Boar hotel

Stay Date: 17/05/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Morpeth who stayed at 4* The Wild Boar Inn (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Very nice comfortable room lots of stairs maybe difficult for older guests. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Alarming stay

Stay Date: 07/11/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* The Wild Boar Inn (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

As promised the hotel gives easy access to the lakes and you cannot fault its surroundings. The staff were very good and helpful at all times. Our room was large very clean and had everything you See More  Read more information wanted for a weekend break but I found the bed to be a bit hard for my comfort. A meal in the restaurant on the first night was included in our deal the food was good but a little expensive. As withanother reviewer my wife spoke to the manager about her dish having to much salt in its preparation. Our first night sleep was disturbed twice by the fire alarm sounding with a fault but aspromised their fire alarm engineers were there first thing to fix the fault. however on our second night we were woken once again around midnight with the alarm sounding with a fault once again add this tothe dog barking in another room for much of Saturday evening not the restful stay I had expected.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lakeland Motor Museum  
Lake Windermere  
Lake District  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 691 - 700 of 727 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100637 @ 17/08/2017 08:58:34

Last rendered @ 22/08/2017 12:22:14

Last rendered @ 22/08/2017 12:22:14

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.