Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 737

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Beatrix Potter's Mum's House

Stay Date: 02/04/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

This Hotel was once owned my Mrs Potter senior and the style reflects that with a pleasant sense of timeshift. Staff ever so attentive, polite, and competent. Wonderfully comfy bed and nice views See More  Read more information too. The only thing letting it down was the pool. It's a postage stamp, shallow, and the changing room is unisex with only 2 cubicles. Not good at all with hardly any privacy. Altogether inadequate, andI wonder how the Hotel got four stars in the circumstances. Apart from that we had a wonderful time away. Oh and the food was terrfic!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
N/A  
Sutherlands  
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good bank holiday in Bowness

Stay Date: 04/04/15, a customer aged 65+ from Birmingham who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

I can heartily recommend this hotel. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic time at Lindeth howe

Stay Date: 10/04/15, a customer aged 25-44 from Middlesbrough who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

We have just returned from a two night break at Lindeth Howe in Bowness on Windermere and I have to say what a fantastic time we had . Lovely location and an amazing restaurant (fantastic views) and See More  Read more information all the staff couldn't do enough to help . What a wonderful place it is... We will definitely be back - thank you so much for your excellent service.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside  
Bowness On Windermere  
Bowness steamers  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lindeth Howe  
Bluebell tea rooms  
Costa coffee ambleside  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in the lakes

Stay Date: 29/05/15, a customer aged 65+ from Leeds who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Lovely hotel, excellent breakfast and fantastic views from our room. Staff all friendly and helpful. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The Lakes

Stay Date: 20/07/15, a customer aged 65+ from Wigan who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

We often go for walks, and like to visit Grasmere, Keswick, Windermere etc. But the hotel and staff really spoilt us - foods was good, and the room had everything you could think of. We will be See More  Read more information staying again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Keswick  
Grassmere  
Lake District  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Windermere

Stay Date: 12/08/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

A piece of paradise .So much has been written about this hotel and the peace and tranquillity to be found within its walls that I find it impossible to enhance those viewpoints. I can however bear See More  Read more information witness as to the truth of those words.This is a tiny piece of heaven in God's own country.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lakeland Store  
Bowness boat hire  
fellfoot park  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
lindeth howe hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lazy Lakes

Stay Date: 25/08/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Fairburn who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

We visited this hotel to celebrate our 10th anniversary. Through SuperBreak we had a deluxe room and first night evening meal during our two night stay. Our room was clean tidy and well equipped, See More  Read more information however some standard rooms are in need of a make over. The evening meal at £42.50 a head was nice, but the restaurant had no atmosphere due to to the lack of numbers. Leisure facilities are small andcompact, luckily during our stay my wife and I had it to ourselves. Overall if you book through SuperBreak and get a good deal it's well worth a visit, but don't look too closely at the finishes, youmay be disappointed.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Porto  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent weekend at The Wild Boar Inn Lake District

Stay Date: 28/02/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* The Wild Boar Inn (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Fab time at the Wild Boar Inn. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wild Boar Inn  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Wild Boar hotel

Stay Date: 17/05/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Morpeth who stayed at 4* The Wild Boar Inn (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Very nice comfortable room lots of stairs maybe difficult for older guests. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Alarming stay

Stay Date: 07/11/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* The Wild Boar Inn (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

As promised the hotel gives easy access to the lakes and you cannot fault its surroundings. The staff were very good and helpful at all times. Our room was large very clean and had everything you See More  Read more information wanted for a weekend break but I found the bed to be a bit hard for my comfort. A meal in the restaurant on the first night was included in our deal the food was good but a little expensive. As withanother reviewer my wife spoke to the manager about her dish having to much salt in its preparation. Our first night sleep was disturbed twice by the fire alarm sounding with a fault but aspromised their fire alarm engineers were there first thing to fix the fault. however on our second night we were woken once again around midnight with the alarm sounding with a fault once again add this tothe dog barking in another room for much of Saturday evening not the restful stay I had expected.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lakeland Motor Museum  
Lake Windermere  
Lake District  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 691 - 700 of 737 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001363 @ 18/10/2017 08:13:42

Last rendered @ 19/10/2017 03:01:53

Last rendered @ 19/10/2017 03:01:53

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.