Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 756

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Lovely Lake Windermere shame about the weather.

Stay Date: 30/03/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa in Bowness-on-Windermere wrote this review.

We had a very nice stay at the Old England Hotel Windermere. There was a bit of a mix up at reception about our booking. The older man on reception was not very helpful. However a very nice young See More  Read more information man sorted the mix up out. Other staff were very very helpful. The drinks were very expensive £12 for a175ml glass of Sauvignon Blanc! All in all a very nice stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Italian  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Daffodil Hotel Grasmere

Stay Date: 30/03/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* The Daffodil Hotel & Spa in Grasmere wrote this review.

A very nice hotel. The staff were all charming and helpful. We liked the humorous prints hung on the walls in the corridors. Loved the spa pool. Large rooms and excellent facilities in the See More  Read more information bedrooms. Liked the way we could leave the cars in the car park after we checked out so that we could enjoy another day to explore the area. Would definitely come again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Easedale Tarn  
Allan Bank House  
Grasmere Lake circuit  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Potted Out  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Wet walk in The Lakes

Stay Date: 29/03/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

The Lindeth Howe is a fine old English style hotel with great food and even better service, think armchairs and log fires with lake views to the front. Our room to the rear was a good size and well See More  Read more information furnished, clean and well maintained with what looked like a new bathroom. The only but was the bed, I could feel the springs, so maybe not for fussy sleepers like me. The pool is clean but not verylarge it does not have a deep end, so good for kids. Oh and it's £4.50 in a taxi. The Italian across the road from the cinema is good. All in all we felt well looked after in a nice relaxed way andwould like to return but maybe to a deluxe room with a better bed.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great weekend break

Stay Date: 26/03/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Lindeth Howe was a lovely hotel, excellent food and friendly staff. The hotel was in beautiful surroundings and the weather was good for walking and the boat trip on the lake. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beatrix Potters House  
Boat trip on Lake Windermere  
Claife viewing point  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ship Inn  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic 2 Day Break in Ambleside

Stay Date: 24/03/17, a customer aged 65+ from Prescot who stayed at 4* Waterhead Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ambleside wrote this review.

Spent two fantastic nights at the Waterhead Hotel in Ambleside for my wife's birthday celebration. This was our second visit to this hotel but from the time we pulled into the hotel car park and See More  Read more information then into Reception we could not fault the level of service from the hotel staff and putting us into a lovely double bed room with the window looking out to the wonderful Lake Windermere at the WaterheadPier. The weather was kind to us for 3 days, as it was unusually warm and sunny for the end of March. The room was a good size (heated bathroom floor), well maintained and very clean considering itwas a dog friendly hotel. There were some fine touches with an ice box changed every day and the bed was turned down every evening. I would like to commend the hotel staff for the level of service wereceived at all times and in particular the professional attentiveness of Steven Fox - the Food and Beverage Service Manager -who always seemed to be around at all times of the day (and night) todirect his team to ensure they were kept on their toes in keeping customers happy at the busy breakfast and dinner times. We did pop out on our first evening to central Ambleside for dinner at the JintanaThai restaurant and found the food to be excellent. So would definitely recommend this hotel and will return for a third stay when we can.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Waterhead Hotel  
Jintana Thai  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely hotel

Stay Date: 19/03/17, a customer aged 65+ from Stoke-On-Trent who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Very good. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel and Bowness

Stay Date: 22/03/17, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Bowness-on-Windermere wrote this review.

Hotel was in a fabulous position on the lake and we were given a very big lake view room which was so lovely. The staff could not have been more helpful or attentive. The car parking price had See More  Read more information increased to £20 which I thought was outrageous but they reduced it to £10 as was on our documentation. The spa was too full of users but that didn't spoil what was a really lovely short break. It was areally lovely few days in very pleasant surroundings.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere  
Ambleside  
windremere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hyltons  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beatrix Potter hotel!

Stay Date: 27/02/17, a customer aged 65+ from Liverpool who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Stayed at Lindeth Howe - very welcoming, great room with lake views afternoon tea, great al a carte menu in dining room. Breakfast first class - used indoor heated pool a great few days of relaxation. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hill Top  
Windermere Ferry  
Claife Tower  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Our Lakes Stay

Stay Date: 22/02/17, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

The hotel and location was lovely. We've stayed in that hotel loads of times, it was our first time of having breakfast with our stay and we thought there wasn't much choice there, but we also had See More  Read more information evening meal and we thought the choice for evening meal was fab. Even thought we booked a table for 7 o'clock and we was still waiting at 7.45pm because they where short staffed, so that was a bit of adisappointment. Kendal and Ambleside out stunning places.. and lots of history to them too and lovely places to eat. If you have time you should visit them. Overall it was a fab mini break with myboyfriend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside  
Kendal  
Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Hotel  
Jade Delight  
The Alpine  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Kendal Riverside Hotel

Stay Date: 19/02/17, a customer aged 25-44 from Lancashire who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal wrote this review.

The location is excellent, not far from the castle ruins or the town centre for shopping. Our room looked out onto the river, which was relaxing and peaceful. The staff at the Riverside Hotel are See More  Read more information very helpful. The restaurant staff are friendly and helpful, giving very good service. The rooms were rather hot making sleeping a bit uncomfortable. But it is a lovely hotel, bright, clean andwelcoming. The family room we stayed in was quite large and modern. I would stay there again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kendal Castle  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 61 - 70 of 756 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001676 @ 21/02/2018 08:54:20

Last rendered @ 21/02/2018 11:32:51

Last rendered @ 21/02/2018 11:32:51

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.