Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 753

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Kendal Riverside Hotel

Stay Date: 19/02/17, a customer aged 25-44 from Lancashire who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal wrote this review.

The location is excellent, not far from the castle ruins or the town centre for shopping. Our room looked out onto the river, which was relaxing and peaceful. The staff at the Riverside Hotel are See More  Read more information very helpful. The restaurant staff are friendly and helpful, giving very good service. The rooms were rather hot making sleeping a bit uncomfortable. But it is a lovely hotel, bright, clean andwelcoming. The family room we stayed in was quite large and modern. I would stay there again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kendal Castle  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely relaxing break in the Lakes

Stay Date: 06/02/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Regent Hotel in Ambleside wrote this review.

The Regent was a lively hotel to enjoy the Lakes from. Location and facilities all great, room comfortable and breakfast fabulous for choice and service. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Keswick  
Hawkshead  
Fell Walking  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beech Hill Hotel

Stay Date: 04/02/17, a customer aged 25-44 from Gb who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night BB Offer + Windermere Cruise) in Windermere wrote this review.

Lovely hotel with excellent views. Lovely pubs all close by. A lovely way to spend a weekend with my new partner! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cruise  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The lake raj  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely Stay

Stay Date: 01/01/17, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Merewood Country House Hotel (Afternoon Tea Offer) in Windermere wrote this review.

Our party of 4 was very pleasantly impressed and surprised with Merewood as the only other review gave it 1 star so we didn't know what to expect before we arrived. We gave it 5 stars due to the See More  Read more information warmness of the staff, the building itself - historic yet luxurious, and the amazing afternoon tea by a roaring fire in one of the reception rooms which we had to ourselves for the duration. The roomswere lovely too and a great breakfast. We'll definitely be back.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Boat Trip  
BAETRIX POTTER  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
MACDONALD BOWNESS HOTEL  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Strange Hotel

Stay Date: 30/12/16, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Newby Bridge Hotel & Leisure Centre 3 Night New Year Break in Newby Bridge wrote this review.

At first sight the hotel look good but we found that we were stationed in the annex which was a short walk from the hotel and the room was cramped we were relocated to the main hotel for the 2nd See More  Read more information night to an very good room. The food at the hotel was amazing for all meals. Just small issues otherwise a very pleasant stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
Keswick  
Lake Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Disappointed

Stay Date: 29/12/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Liverpool who stayed at 3* Sawrey House Hotel in Ambleside wrote this review.

We booked this break last minute and on arrival walked into an empty hotel without a reception. A young girl eventually appeared but could not find our booking. She went to find the assistant See More  Read more information manager who curtly said "you've just booked this, haven't you? We've been overbooked and will have to do some shuffling around". We were then handed our keys and she disappeared without a smile or awelcome. We had dinner in the restaurant which totally lacked atmosphere. The lamb and guinea fowl was very tasty but we were disappointed that there were no vegetables served with the dishes. We found ourroom clean but far too hot, the bathroom was the tiniest we have ever experienced. The bed was lumpy and the grandfather clock in the hallway annoyingly chimed all night long. We went down forbreakfast at 9am and there was no one to greet us, the same young girl was waiting on and eventually came and took our order. We had to wait 50 minutes for our breakfast to arrive which was good apart fromthe egg being slimy. When we checked out we had to ring a bell for attention for the girl to appear again to take our payment. If it hadn't been for the mix up over our booking we wouldn't have seenany other member of staff apart from this girl who also ran the bar in the evening. We had no issues with her, she was very pleasant but lacked training and was clearly overworked. We would definitelynot stay at this hotel again, we did not feel welcome or looked after which is the very least we expect as paying guests.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Super stay

Stay Date: 24/12/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Telford who stayed at 3* Newby Bridge Hotel & Leisure Centre 3 Night Christmas Break in Newby Bridge wrote this review.

Booked quite late for Christmas and did think it might be poor but what a lovely surprise, lovely hotel, very festive feel, lots of extra treats in store and very pleasant staff. For me I would have See More  Read more information liked some evening entertainment but not a problem. I thought having a gym was a bonus but that was a big disappointment, needs to be reworded to say limited exercise equipment. However I didn't pickthe hotel for that reason so can't complain about it. I believe they have rooms with 4 poster beds, would like to go back and try it. A dog friendly place and all dogs very well behaved, didn't bringmine this time but will next - lovely stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Coniston  
Lakeland Motor Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bluebird pub  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic Lake District stay

Stay Date: 04/12/16, a customer aged 25-44 from Ripley who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Situated on Lake Windermere, walking to the bottom of the grounds to the lake is possibly where you will find the best views. We drove up and down the lake looking for the 'perfect view' and ended See More  Read more information up finding it from exploring the grounds of the hotel. It is definitely worth seeing it.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Aira Force  
Bowness On Windermere  
Lake Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shaibs  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Great Centre for Exploring

Stay Date: 02/12/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Chester who stayed at 3* Newby Bridge Hotel & Leisure Centre in Newby Bridge wrote this review.

The New Bridge Hotel has a wonderful location on the southern edge of Lake Windermere, so ideal for exploring the southern lakes and also the Furness peninsular, which tends to be ignored by See More  Read more information tourists, yet which has the remains of the second largest abbey in the UK. Furness Abbey (English Heritage) is a real gem, well worth a visit. As for the hotel, it was very comfortable and the staff weremost hospitable. On the downside, the restaurant was quite disappointing (a limited selection and our meal was not very tasty). Bathroom adequate except for the shower, which was difficult to to keepat a constant temperature.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hawkshead  
Furness Abbey  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Swan Hotel, Newby Bridge  
Punchbowl Inn, Crossthwaite  
Bay Horse, Ulverston  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Charming hotel with character and history

Stay Date: 17/11/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

We very much enjoyed our stay at Lindeth Howe. The staff were fantastic, the lounges were homely with a lovely period features and our evening meal in the restaurant was one of the best we have had. See More  Read more information We did however feel that our room and the upstairs in general was ever so slightly run down - the bath had been repaired in places and the door to the room never did seem to close properly.Altogether though the hotel is beautiful and in a staggeringly pretty location.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake Windemere  
Ulswater  
Bowness-on-windemere town  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lindeth Howe  
The old john peel inn  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 61 - 70 of 753 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001507 @ 06/12/2017 10:38:16

Last rendered @ 14/12/2017 20:58:25

Last rendered @ 14/12/2017 20:58:25

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.