Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 737

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short stay by the lake

Stay Date: 20/09/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Stayed 2 nights at the Beech Hill Hotel overlooking Windermere. Great views and the spa and pool facilities excellent especially enjoyed the lake view hot tub. The breakfast was good and the dinner See More  Read more information menu also excellent. We slept in a room with a lake view room which had a nice outside patio but unfortunately the walls of the room were very thin. Overall though nice hotel in excellent location 4miles from Bowness within easy reach of local sightseeing and facilities.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hill Top  
Beatrix Potter Museum  
Town end  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Trattoria winermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Brilliant weekend in Lake District

Stay Date: 10/09/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

The Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel was excellent, could not fault it at all, the hotel was beautiful lovely surroundings, the food was amazing and the staff were excellent. We stayed in The Potter See More  Read more information Room it was luxury and had amazing views, would definitely recommend anyone to stay there.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness town  
Steam train ride  
Windemere lakes boat trip  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
lindeth howe hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

4 days In The Lakes

Stay Date: 22/08/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

The view from our room was fantastic, couldn't have wished for a nicer view to wake up to. Room was spacious, bright and well decorated. The spa area was clean, lots of towels and the Hot Tub See More  Read more information outside was a big bonus to watch the sun go down from after a busy day exploring. We took a day trip with Mountain Goat Tours - 10 Lakes which was excellent, well worth the money. We visited lots of lovelyplaces and reminisced of childhood memories and got engrossed with the tales of Beatrix Potter, getting around by car is easy but make sure you have lots of change for parking. Would I visit again, abig yes, can't wait.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mountain Goat Tours  
Ullswater Steam Boat  
The Lakeside & Haverthwaite Railway  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jacksons Bistro  
El Porton  
The Arts Bar & Grill  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Memorable stay

Stay Date: 27/08/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

The hotel which at one time was the property of famous writer Beatrix Potter is a charming, very quintessentially English hotel overlooking Lake Windermere set in very beautiful surroundings. We See More  Read more information were very fortunate to have the centre uppermost room with stunning views of the lake, especially at sunset and early morning when the mist is still over the lake. The hotel is hidden amid beautifullykept gardens and yet within walking distance to Bowness town centre and a marina close by. Evening meal was fantastic, staff were friendly and quite welcoming. The hotel has a pool and a sauna. Highlyrecommended if you are not after a budget stay. Thank you SuperBreak for getting us this deal.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kirkstone Pass  
Lake Cruise  
Bowness Town centre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Room Size

Stay Date: 25/08/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Low Wood Bay in Windermere wrote this review.

The room was a lot smaller than the photographs on the website suggest. Whilst adequate, the room was not as large as I would expect for a four star hotel the bathroom was however quite good. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely hotel

Stay Date: 16/08/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* The Regent Hotel (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ambleside wrote this review.

Staff friendly and very helpful. The breakfast good varies small or large. Evening dinner was good quality. Nice and quiet hotel. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wordsworth house and garden  
Lake cruise and steam train  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The Lakes

Stay Date: 09/08/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Stoke-On-Trent who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night BB Offer + Windermere Cruise) in Windermere wrote this review.

Arriving & first impression were mixed as carpet to entrance was very tired! Room wasn't ready (we arrived at about 1 pm) so we decided to go out! Room was acceptable but quite stuffy! Nice See More  Read more information bathroom & room was clean. Hotel staff were friendly but didn't seem to have any direction in the hotel restaurant! Food was average! The hotel had a spa which was very good & nice after a long daywalking. All in all the hotel was ok, a good base for a mini break in The Lakes.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jumble Room  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Overpriced

Stay Date: 06/08/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Lytham St. Annes who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

The hotel is dated in places. Most of the staff were really friendly but some service was slow. I have marked this hotel down because on the first day of eating breakfast a child was allowed to play See More  Read more information the piano which was not very relaxing for the other guests to hear, most were unhappy about this. We raised our disapproval to a few members of staff yet the after eating her breakfast the child wasallowed to play the piano again, much to the annoyance of my husband and I. The next day at breakfast she was allowed to play again! It didn't last very long as my husband and I left the dining roomto finish our breakfast in the bar area of the hotel and it was evident to the child's parents that we were not happy. Also on the Sunday evening a guest was allowed to eat in the restaurant wearshorts & flipflops! Really? Guests were informed that long trousers and a collard shirt were required, this guy looked like he'd just walked in off the beach. I don't class this hotel as a "luxuryhotel" and have stayed in much better.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Keswick  
Lakeland Motor Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal Oak  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely country hotel in Lakes

Stay Date: 05/08/16, a customer aged 45-64 from St. Helens who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Lovely hotel with great restaurant. Good location in lovely grounds - we had a great room with garden view and the evening meal was fine dining. Attentive staff. Only disappointment was that we See More  Read more information booked for a special birthday treat and wanted to have a beauty treatment only to be told that the therapist wasn't available due to an injured wrist. It would have been useful to know this in advance.Would visit this hotel again though.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere  
Bowness  
Hill Top  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Quiet break in Bowness

Stay Date: 12/07/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Lancashire who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Hotel was lovely with lots of character, all the food in the restaurant was stunning. Was slightly disappointed on arrival as the SuperBreak site stated there was a gym which is why after trawling See More  Read more information through all hotels in Bowness on the Internet we chose this hotel, there is no longer a gym but the pool & sauna are still open.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shahibs  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 61 - 70 of 737 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001286 @ 05/10/2017 10:49:14

Last rendered @ 17/10/2017 20:01:27

Last rendered @ 17/10/2017 20:01:27

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.