Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 727

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Crosthwaite

Stay Date: 05/06/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Damson Dene Hotel & Leisure Club in Crosthwaite (Nr. Bowness) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Aquarium of the Lakes, Bowness  
Lakeland Ltd, Windermere  
 
 

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 04/08/06, a customer from Hertfordshire who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake Windermere  
 
 

Lakes in a Rush

Stay Date: 26/10/06, a customer from Swadlincote who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

Excellant scenery and good view of Windermere from the hotel bedroom when the rain stopped! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake District  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 09/11/06, a customer from Preston who stayed at 4* Laura Ashley The Belsfield Hotel in Windermere rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grizedale Forest  
Beatrix Potter's World  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Il Postino  
 
 

Windermere

Stay Date: 08/12/06, a customer from Dunfermline who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

Did a short break in the Lake District, staying at the Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere. As it was low season, travel and access to attractions were easy. Took a boat trip on Lake Windermere - very See More  Read more information relaxing. Bowness and Windermere are very attractive with many bars and restaurants to frequent. We were on DB & B basis so only ate in the hotel restaurant. Hotel and meals were very good although theroom we were allocated was quite small. That said it was very clean. We are definitely considering a return visit in the very near future.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake District  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Kendal

Stay Date: 27/01/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Riverside Hotel Bar  
 
 

Cleaning

Stay Date: 03/05/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Merewood Country House Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

Needed much better cleaning - complaint made and management attended to the issue of the room. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Disappointed

Stay Date: 29/12/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Liverpool who stayed at 3* Sawrey House Hotel in Ambleside wrote this review.

We booked this break last minute and on arrival walked into an empty hotel without a reception. A young girl eventually appeared but could not find our booking. She went to find the assistant See More  Read more information manager who curtly said "you've just booked this, haven't you? We've been overbooked and will have to do some shuffling around". We were then handed our keys and she disappeared without a smile or awelcome. We had dinner in the restaurant which totally lacked atmosphere. The lamb and guinea fowl was very tasty but we were disappointed that there were no vegetables served with the dishes. We found ourroom clean but far too hot, the bathroom was the tiniest we have ever experienced. The bed was lumpy and the grandfather clock in the hallway annoyingly chimed all night long. We went down forbreakfast at 9am and there was no one to greet us, the same young girl was waiting on and eventually came and took our order. We had to wait 50 minutes for our breakfast to arrive which was good apart fromthe egg being slimy. When we checked out we had to ring a bell for attention for the girl to appear again to take our payment. If it hadn't been for the mix up over our booking we wouldn't have seenany other member of staff apart from this girl who also ran the bar in the evening. We had no issues with her, she was very pleasant but lacked training and was clearly overworked. We would definitelynot stay at this hotel again, we did not feel welcome or looked after which is the very least we expect as paying guests.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Wet walk in The Lakes

Stay Date: 29/03/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

The Lindeth Howe is a fine old English style hotel with great food and even better service, think armchairs and log fires with lake views to the front. Our room to the rear was a good size and well See More  Read more information furnished, clean and well maintained with what looked like a new bathroom. The only but was the bed, I could feel the springs, so maybe not for fussy sleepers like me. The pool is clean but not verylarge it does not have a deep end, so good for kids. Oh and it's £4.50 in a taxi. The Italian across the road from the cinema is good. All in all we felt well looked after in a nice relaxed way andwould like to return but maybe to a deluxe room with a better bed.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend break in Windemere

Stay Date: 22/04/17, a customer aged 25-44 from Preston who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

We stayed at the Lindeth Howe Hotel ,Windermere. The hotel is beautiful and the staff are amazingly friendly, nothing is too much trouble, great relaxed seating inside and out and the food in the See More  Read more information restaurant is first class, the only criticism I have is we were in a room over the staff area and kitchen which looked over the car park and with being a light sleeper it was quite noisy at times sodidn't always have the best sleep, that being said wouldn't stop me from staying again, this is a first class place. It is only a short drive /taxi from Windermere or a 20 mins walk which you can thenget anywhere in the lakes, it is a well put together transport system.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Aquarium  
The boat to lakeside  
The car museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The fizzy tart  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 681 - 690 of 727 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100637 @ 17/08/2017 08:40:12

Last rendered @ 21/08/2017 19:03:28

Last rendered @ 21/08/2017 19:03:28

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.