Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 737

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Interesting

Stay Date: 03/04/15, a customer aged 25-44 from Darlington who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Lancaster (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Lancaster wrote this review.

Hotel staff not customer focused. Kept waiting 20 mins at check in Just for confirmation room ready. Breakfast not usual standard for holiday inn property. No pancake machine - no Nutella - no See More  Read more information scrambled egg - no black pudding. Chef told us ran out 1st morning - -2nd morning told don't do it any more. No acknowledgement I am a Ihg member on arrival asked staff later - told don't know. Swimmingpool incident - swimming Sunday am lights went out emergency lighting came on smell of burning - took my husband to alert staff for evacuation. Turned out to be faulty electric wires that had shorted.Surely if lights go out emergency ones come on Staff on reception should be automatically alerted.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ingleton falls  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lancaster

Stay Date: 04/04/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Lancaster (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Lancaster wrote this review.

Poor experience at hotel Holiday Inn Lancaster arrived to find no record of booking! finally a room was provided. hotel duty manager blamed Superbreaks! Issues of hygiene in restaurant,bathroom See More  Read more information could have been cleaner, shower mat took twelve hours to appear,evening meal spoilt by raucus behaviour of young children fighting over use of computers located adjacent to dining area!!! At check outreceptionist requested full payment,more time wasted whilst duty manager sorted it out. All in all a very poor break would think twice before considering this hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend break

Stay Date: 24/07/15, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal wrote this review.

We arrived early and our room was ready so we were allowed in. The staff were all very helpful and polite. The room was spacious and clean . The bed was very comfy. There wasn't any toilet rolls in See More  Read more information the room when we arrived but luckily the cleaners were in the corridor and the problem was solved immediately. Our only niggle was the rooms were far too warm - we had the fan on most of the weekend-the hotel would benefit by installing air conditioning going on a lot of TripAdvisor comments. Also a lot of banging doors. Breakfast had a good selection to choose from - wasn't very good the firstday but much better on the Sunday. You had to get your own tea and coffee, personally I prefer it brought to the table. Nevertheless we had a wonderful weekend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
sawadee thai  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Poor Hotel - Disappointed

Stay Date: 28/09/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Windermere Hydro in Windermere wrote this review.

Bowness was fantastic, with loads of lovely pubs and restaurants. View from hotel was great and staff were brilliant, very helpful. Coach load of tourists on the first night so had to queue for See More  Read more information breakfast the next morning and had to wait 20 minutes for teas and coffees as staff were so busy. Had a basic buffet breakfast but we were also offered hash browns and mushrooms but never offered againfor the next 2 mornings. Jacuzzi not working properly in leisure centre. Bath panel at front of bath was hanging off. Mattress was really hard on the bed and the whole of the hotel was shabby. Thecarpet was dirty on entrance to our room. We were really disappointed in the hotel as it looked so much nicer on the website. Would not recommend, even though staff tried their hardest.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere  
Bowness  
Ambleside  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Walking in the Lake District

Stay Date: 16/10/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* The Daffodil Hotel & Spa in Grasmere wrote this review.

Excellent scenery, decent weather. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake District  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Travellers' Rest Inn  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Romantic break

Stay Date: 17/10/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Barnard Castle who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

Lovely hotel, quiet weekend. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Motor Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hydro Bowness. Hmm

Stay Date: 23/04/16, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Windermere Hydro in Windermere wrote this review.

Booked the hotel after looking at the lovely room pictures online, gets to hotel, outside looks very tired. Definitely in need of some work, inside the hotel again is in need of some refurbishment, See More  Read more information some of the hallways smell very damp and mouldy, some of the safety glass in the internal doors is shattered and this it with the £140+ a night. Not a chance. The room was something out of the 70s andbore no resemblance to the lovely pics on the website. Would I stay there again? No way! Spend another £50-£60 and stay at the MacDonald hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Cleaning

Stay Date: 03/05/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Merewood Country House Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

Needed much better cleaning - complaint made and management attended to the issue of the room. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Overpriced

Stay Date: 06/08/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Lytham St. Annes who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

The hotel is dated in places. Most of the staff were really friendly but some service was slow. I have marked this hotel down because on the first day of eating breakfast a child was allowed to play See More  Read more information the piano which was not very relaxing for the other guests to hear, most were unhappy about this. We raised our disapproval to a few members of staff yet the after eating her breakfast the child wasallowed to play the piano again, much to the annoyance of my husband and I. The next day at breakfast she was allowed to play again! It didn't last very long as my husband and I left the dining roomto finish our breakfast in the bar area of the hotel and it was evident to the child's parents that we were not happy. Also on the Sunday evening a guest was allowed to eat in the restaurant wearshorts & flipflops! Really? Guests were informed that long trousers and a collard shirt were required, this guy looked like he'd just walked in off the beach. I don't class this hotel as a "luxuryhotel" and have stayed in much better.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Keswick  
Lakeland Motor Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal Oak  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

The Lakes

Stay Date: 09/08/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Stoke-On-Trent who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night BB Offer + Windermere Cruise) in Windermere wrote this review.

Arriving & first impression were mixed as carpet to entrance was very tired! Room wasn't ready (we arrived at about 1 pm) so we decided to go out! Room was acceptable but quite stuffy! Nice See More  Read more information bathroom & room was clean. Hotel staff were friendly but didn't seem to have any direction in the hotel restaurant! Food was average! The hotel had a spa which was very good & nice after a long daywalking. All in all the hotel was ok, a good base for a mini break in The Lakes.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jumble Room  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 651 - 660 of 737 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001286 @ 05/10/2017 10:49:14

Last rendered @ 17/10/2017 06:46:03

Last rendered @ 17/10/2017 06:46:03

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.