Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 727

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Stay in Kendal

Stay Date: 26/07/13, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal wrote this review.

Good location right next to the river, good for eexploring kendal and only a short drive to Windermere. The hotel itself was good, room nice with a comfortable bed. Facilities very good, swimming See More  Read more information pool, bar. Breakfast a little basic but ok. I'd read before I went other reviews that mentioned the cobwebs in the staircase which aren't great if you don't like spiders! And could do with beingcleaned.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windermere  
Kendal  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ok but Overpriced

Stay Date: 28/09/13, a customer aged 25-44 from Wrexham who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal wrote this review.

The hotel is ok, slightly faulty towers as the same person seems to work reception, the bar, breakfast etc! The room was very small and there were some strange looking stains on the walls! Could See More  Read more information have benefited from a good clean. I wouldn't stay here again as in my opionion the rooms/food are overpriced.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Giavannis  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Lancaster Break

Stay Date: 07/11/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Bradford who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Lancaster (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Lancaster wrote this review.

Hotel was clean and acceptable, facilities were good and enjoyed swimming pool. Friendly staff. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake District  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Damson dene experience

Stay Date: 15/04/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Damson Dene Hotel & Leisure Club in Crosthwaite (Nr. Bowness) wrote this review.

We stayed at the Damson Dene so we had a base near to the South Lakes Zoo (which is excellent and well worth visiting). The hotel is in desperate need of paint and a deep clean. Our room was dirty See More  Read more information although the beds were comfy. The swimming pool was 'broken' but had been this way for weeks - the boiler has broken so the water was freezing cold. Breakfast was ok but the evening meals wereextortionate and of poor quality (take a trip to the Masons Arms down the road for more reasonable prices and far superior food).   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cartmel  
Lake Windermere  
South lakes zoo  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Masons Arms  
Damson dene  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Wild Boar hotel

Stay Date: 17/05/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Morpeth who stayed at 4* The Wild Boar Inn (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Very nice comfortable room lots of stairs maybe difficult for older guests. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Disappointing arrival and room

Stay Date: 04/08/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Lamplighter Dining Rooms in Windermere wrote this review.

No one was at reception on arrival and after ringing the bell and ten minutes, we telephoned the hotel to inform them that were were sitting in reception; along with another couple, who had arrived See More  Read more information earlier.The excuse was that the bell must not be working. The reception area is very worn out as is the stair cases and landings. Deluxe Room 3 was disappointing .The carpet was spotted withstains and the bathroom had mop marks on the skirting boards and shower.The hospitality tray was sparse and generally there was too much evidence of previous guests. We asked for the room to be cleanedagain and for the manager. We were told that he was not able to be contacted until tomorrow after breakfast. The room was better after the re clean but not perfect. We were unsuccessful in findingconsecutive nights accommodation elsewhere, so we decided to stay and not allow the initial disappointment to spoil our break. The manager apologised the next morning and put the drop in standards due toit being the busy mid season- He gave us a bottle of wine. We asked for a different room but he said they were fully booked. We did see the vacancies sign displayed however. We put new batteriesin the tv remote but it still did not work properly. The room is on the front and the noise from the traffic until midnight is unavoidable I suppose. The food at breakfast was good however the staffwere forgetful at times.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere  
Bowness  
Coniston  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Fat Olives  
little chippy  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

The view is nice

Stay Date: 28/08/14, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

The view was amazing in the hotel. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Disappointed

Stay Date: 21/11/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Birmingham who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa Non Refundable (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Found the hotel to be very shabby. Room small and this was the second room offered so very disappointed. View spectacular from the restaurant and lounge area. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lakeland Motor Museum  
Ambleside falls  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely stay in Kendal

Stay Date: 13/12/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Uk who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal wrote this review.

Arrived in Kendal, there was a light covering of snow, checked in at 15.00 hrs after looking round the shops. Hotel staff very friendly and efficient and welcoming. Had a table reserved in See More  Read more information restaurant, food was just average and not much choice, however very reasonably priced for what we received. We could have eaten out in Kendal as plenty of pubs and restaurants within waking distance. Dinnerwas part of our Superbreak deal though... if I were to stay at the Riverside again I would probably choose room only or bed and breakfast.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kendal Town Centre  
Westmorland Serrvices  
Orton Chocolate Factory and tearoom  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Emmas Yard in Kendal its a tearoom  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Christmas break

Stay Date: 24/12/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel 3 Night Christmas Break in Kendal wrote this review.

Lovely to get away for Christmas and enjoy meals made for us. Time to relax and unwind in our room with Christmas TV; helpful of the hotel to provide Christmas listings guides. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Countryside  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 651 - 660 of 727 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100637 @ 17/08/2017 08:58:35

Last rendered @ 24/08/2017 04:09:55

Last rendered @ 24/08/2017 04:09:55

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.