Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 753

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Nice But Expensive!

Stay Date: 12/09/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

Have stayed in nicer hotel rooms costing half the price. tv reception very poor, should invest in signal amplifier. Saying that the meals in the hotel were excellent and the staff were very See More  Read more information friendly. Would certainly go again if not for the extortionate price of the room. Superbreak vouchers were given to us as xmas presents, thats why we went to an expensive hotel hoping for the luxury but theluxury never materialised.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windermere Boat Trip  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Craig Manor Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Newby Bridge

Stay Date: 28/09/07, a customer from Durham who stayed at 3* Newby Bridge Hotel & Leisure Centre in Newby Bridge rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness-on-Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Royal Tea Garden  
 
 

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 29/09/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jacksons Bistro  
 
 

Short Break in Kendal

Stay Date: 15/10/07, a customer from Bedale who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 15/10/07, a customer from Cleveland who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere  
Lake Windermere  
Hawkshead - Beatrix Potter  
 
 

Daughters Birthday Treat

Stay Date: 30/11/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa in Ambleside wrote this review.

I bought this super break for my daughters birthday and she had a fabulous time . The hotel upgraded the room and the jacuzi bath was a bit hit. The hotel was well located for a wet weekend in See More  Read more information Ambleside I will book again, You made us both very happy. Thanks   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside Walk  
Shopping in Ambleside  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lucys  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good Time

Stay Date: 01/12/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

Hotel was good. Great place to visit. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lucy 4  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Brief Encounter in the Lake District.

Stay Date: 11/01/08, a customer from Newton Stewart who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal wrote this review.

My wife and I live at opposite ends of the country - due to work. I rent a place and work in Hampshire whilst our home is in Scotland. We have occasional romantic weekends in the Lake District, See More  Read more information where we meet in the middle. This weekend we visited the Carnforth Exhibition at Carnforth railway station, made famous by the film Brief Encounter (1940's). This made for a romantic weekend for our veryown Brief Encounter and my wife and I our looking forwards to our next Brief Encounter in The Lake District. Brilliant weekend many thanks.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Carnforth Railway Exhibition  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Spanish in Kendal  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

A Wet Weekend in Lancaster

Stay Date: 12/01/08, a customer from Bury who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Lancaster in Lancaster wrote this review.

The hotel was fine but nothing out of the ordinary. The pool, sauna etc was very good. The staff were very helpful although the bar went unattended for longish periods early evening and I had to ask See More  Read more information for service at Reception a couple of times. The bar meals were surprisingly good quality and value - unusual in a 'businessman's' hotel. Breakfast was very, very good. The general public area,lounge, bar etc was grim - a vast expanse of low level tables and seating, much of it sagging, with no attractive features at all. I absolutely detested the big flat-screen televisions blaring out SkySports football matches with almost no-one watching - such a din. The town was small but crammed with interest. We only managed to see the castle/prison and the Priory, but they were both fascinating andwe spent hours in each. I would go again at the right rate.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Priory  
Lancaster  
Castle and Prison  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Ambleside

Stay Date: 18/03/08, a customer from Wakefield who stayed at 4* Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa in Ambleside wrote this review.

Good central location for exploring Lakeland fells.Excellent pool & spa facilities. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Sheila's Cottage Restaurant, The Slack, Ambleside  
Matthew's Bistro (Ambleside)  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 621 - 630 of 753 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001507 @ 06/12/2017 10:38:16

Last rendered @ 18/12/2017 10:44:48

Last rendered @ 18/12/2017 10:44:48

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.