Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 735

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Lovely stay in Kendal

Stay Date: 13/12/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Uk who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal wrote this review.

Arrived in Kendal, there was a light covering of snow, checked in at 15.00 hrs after looking round the shops. Hotel staff very friendly and efficient and welcoming. Had a table reserved in See More  Read more information restaurant, food was just average and not much choice, however very reasonably priced for what we received. We could have eaten out in Kendal as plenty of pubs and restaurants within waking distance. Dinnerwas part of our Superbreak deal though... if I were to stay at the Riverside again I would probably choose room only or bed and breakfast.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kendal Town Centre  
Westmorland Serrvices  
Orton Chocolate Factory and tearoom  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Emmas Yard in Kendal its a tearoom  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Interesting

Stay Date: 03/04/15, a customer aged 25-44 from Darlington who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Lancaster (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Lancaster wrote this review.

Hotel staff not customer focused. Kept waiting 20 mins at check in Just for confirmation room ready. Breakfast not usual standard for holiday inn property. No pancake machine - no Nutella - no See More  Read more information scrambled egg - no black pudding. Chef told us ran out 1st morning - -2nd morning told don't do it any more. No acknowledgement I am a Ihg member on arrival asked staff later - told don't know. Swimmingpool incident - swimming Sunday am lights went out emergency lighting came on smell of burning - took my husband to alert staff for evacuation. Turned out to be faulty electric wires that had shorted.Surely if lights go out emergency ones come on Staff on reception should be automatically alerted.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ingleton falls  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beech Hill Hotel - Lake District

Stay Date: 03/04/15, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Upon arrival there was a little uncertainity about letting us check in 5 minutes early. Even though we were carrying a naked 1 year old due to him being sick before arrival. The room was spacious See More  Read more information but the decor was not fresh. The food we had ordered in the evening to the room was ok but nothing special bearing in mind it is a good 4 hour journey into civilisation. On departure we were overcharged by at least £6 for our food and then a whopping £5 for a bottle of water which was meant to have been free. We had asked for fresh milk which was meant to have been complimentary anyway so whetherthe charges reflected this only god knows. We will never use this hotel again or recommend it to any family or friends.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
Windermere  
Brockhole  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Lake Outing

Stay Date: 10/02/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Laura Ashley The Belsfield Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

The Hotel was located in an excellent location overlooking Lake Windermere,our room No 22 was ok (the bathroom was small) but it did have a wonderful lake view. We only had breakfast in the hotel See More  Read more information which was very good, choice on offer was excellent. I would stay at this hotel again but would ask for a room with a larger bathroom.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Walks  
Boat ride on the lake  
Potter museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Italian near Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Stay at Lamplighter Dining Rooms

Stay Date: 07/09/15, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* The Lamplighter Dining Rooms in Windermere wrote this review.

Enjoyed stay at the Lamplighter Dining Rooms. Food was excellent, staff were very pleasant. Negatives were I found stairs to our 2nd floor room difficult to climb after a long day of See More  Read more information sightseeing. The flat screen TV was very small (around 19"). I would however stay here again in the future.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere  
Keswick  
Ambleside  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lamplight Dining Rooms  
Gray Walls  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Staying at the Beech Hill Hotel

Stay Date: 25/09/15, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

The staff were all really nice and helpful. The hotel is tired to be honest, broken tiles in the bathroom and no attention to detail in the room, worn out carpets and dated. The views are beautiful See More  Read more information from the bar and eating area. There was a mix up with our meals in the evening - it was sorted in the end. I would stay again if there were no vacancies elsewhere.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness town  
windermwere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Poor Hotel - Disappointed

Stay Date: 28/09/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Windermere Hydro in Windermere wrote this review.

Bowness was fantastic, with loads of lovely pubs and restaurants. View from hotel was great and staff were brilliant, very helpful. Coach load of tourists on the first night so had to queue for See More  Read more information breakfast the next morning and had to wait 20 minutes for teas and coffees as staff were so busy. Had a basic buffet breakfast but we were also offered hash browns and mushrooms but never offered againfor the next 2 mornings. Jacuzzi not working properly in leisure centre. Bath panel at front of bath was hanging off. Mattress was really hard on the bed and the whole of the hotel was shabby. Thecarpet was dirty on entrance to our room. We were really disappointed in the hotel as it looked so much nicer on the website. Would not recommend, even though staff tried their hardest.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere  
Bowness  
Ambleside  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hydro Bowness. Hmm

Stay Date: 23/04/16, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Windermere Hydro in Windermere wrote this review.

Booked the hotel after looking at the lovely room pictures online, gets to hotel, outside looks very tired. Definitely in need of some work, inside the hotel again is in need of some refurbishment, See More  Read more information some of the hallways smell very damp and mouldy, some of the safety glass in the internal doors is shattered and this it with the £140+ a night. Not a chance. The room was something out of the 70s andbore no resemblance to the lovely pics on the website. Would I stay there again? No way! Spend another £50-£60 and stay at the MacDonald hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Bowness

Stay Date: 09/06/16, a customer aged 25-44 from Rotherham who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

Nice place with lovely shops. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Divas  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in Lakes

Stay Date: 30/06/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Windermere Hydro in Windermere wrote this review.

The hotel was tired the room was clean. The TV was ancient approx 10 inch screen. Seen one like it on Antiques Road Show. Would not go again until rooms are modernised. Also bathroom was tiny had See More  Read more information difficulty sitting on toilet and I am not big!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Restaurant  
Lakes  
garden centres  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Italian  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 621 - 630 of 735 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100699 @ 24/08/2017 10:04:35

Last rendered @ 26/09/2017 13:56:23

Last rendered @ 26/09/2017 13:56:23

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.