Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 745

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Weekend in Lakes

Stay Date: 30/06/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Windermere Hydro in Windermere wrote this review.

The hotel was tired the room was clean. The TV was ancient approx 10 inch screen. Seen one like it on Antiques Road Show. Would not go again until rooms are modernised. Also bathroom was tiny had See More  Read more information difficulty sitting on toilet and I am not big!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Restaurant  
Lakes  
garden centres  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Italian  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

The Lakes

Stay Date: 09/08/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Stoke-On-Trent who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night BB Offer + Windermere Cruise) in Windermere wrote this review.

Arriving & first impression were mixed as carpet to entrance was very tired! Room wasn't ready (we arrived at about 1 pm) so we decided to go out! Room was acceptable but quite stuffy! Nice See More  Read more information bathroom & room was clean. Hotel staff were friendly but didn't seem to have any direction in the hotel restaurant! Food was average! The hotel had a spa which was very good & nice after a long daywalking. All in all the hotel was ok, a good base for a mini break in The Lakes.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jumble Room  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short stay by the lake

Stay Date: 20/09/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Stayed 2 nights at the Beech Hill Hotel overlooking Windermere. Great views and the spa and pool facilities excellent especially enjoyed the lake view hot tub. The breakfast was good and the dinner See More  Read more information menu also excellent. We slept in a room with a lake view room which had a nice outside patio but unfortunately the walls of the room were very thin. Overall though nice hotel in excellent location 4miles from Bowness within easy reach of local sightseeing and facilities.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hill Top  
Beatrix Potter Museum  
Town end  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Trattoria winermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good Day in Lake District

Stay Date: 09/10/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel (2 Nt/1st Night Dinner + Windermere Cruise) in Windermere wrote this review.

Beautiful hotel in fantastic surroundings, spa was second to none, food in hotel restaurant was quality. Staff very friendly. SuperBreak team arranged it all very good. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beech Hill Hotel

Stay Date: 04/02/17, a customer aged 25-44 from Gb who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night BB Offer + Windermere Cruise) in Windermere wrote this review.

Lovely hotel with excellent views. Lovely pubs all close by. A lovely way to spend a weekend with my new partner! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cruise  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The lake raj  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Kendal Riverside Hotel

Stay Date: 19/02/17, a customer aged 25-44 from Lancashire who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal wrote this review.

The location is excellent, not far from the castle ruins or the town centre for shopping. Our room looked out onto the river, which was relaxing and peaceful. The staff at the Riverside Hotel are See More  Read more information very helpful. The restaurant staff are friendly and helpful, giving very good service. The rooms were rather hot making sleeping a bit uncomfortable. But it is a lovely hotel, bright, clean andwelcoming. The family room we stayed in was quite large and modern. I would stay there again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kendal Castle  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Our Lakes Stay

Stay Date: 22/02/17, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

The hotel and location was lovely. We've stayed in that hotel loads of times, it was our first time of having breakfast with our stay and we thought there wasn't much choice there, but we also had See More  Read more information evening meal and we thought the choice for evening meal was fab. Even thought we booked a table for 7 o'clock and we was still waiting at 7.45pm because they where short staffed, so that was a bit of adisappointment. Kendal and Ambleside out stunning places.. and lots of history to them too and lovely places to eat. If you have time you should visit them. Overall it was a fab mini break with myboyfriend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside  
Kendal  
Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Hotel  
Jade Delight  
The Alpine  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good location

Stay Date: 02/04/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Lancashire who stayed at 4* Rothay Garden Hotel in Grasmere wrote this review.

Lovely location. Had our honeymoon here 31 years ago. Hotel was better then! Bedroom we were in was average. Quite small with small balcony needing refurbishment. Bathroom was badly laid out. No See More  Read more information grout in tiles on floor and all sealant needing replacing, in other words bathroom needs refurbishment. Rest if hotel ok. Staff looked weary! But at least they let us use the car park after we hadchecked out. Spa was ok but the steam room was not working! Just hope the other rooms are better than the one we stayed in as it is quite an expensive hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jumbles  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Enjoyable break at Bowness on Windermere

Stay Date: 02/05/17, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

Just returned from a 3 day break at The Craig Manor Hotel. Great location for variety of walks as we were in easy walking distance of Bowness and the lake. We particularly enjoyed a ride out to See More  Read more information Grasmere on an open topped bus from outside hotel. Much better view of the wonderful scenery and informative audio playing throughout the journey. Staff at hotel very friendly and keen to make our staystay comfortable. Great breakfast set us up for all the great walks. Discovered the 20 minute walk up to Orrest Head above Windermere station. Amazing views of Lake Windermere and the fells. Willcertainly return to this location again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
open topped bus to Grasmere from windermere  
orrest head viewpoint above windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Angel Inn at Bowness  
Chesters by the river at Skelwith Bridge  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short break in the Lake District

Stay Date: 26/08/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Bedford who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel (2 Nt/1st Night Dinner + Windermere Cruise) in Windermere wrote this review.

Plenty of parking. Ideal position overlooking the lake. The spa facilities very clean and modern and some of the pampering seemed well priced. The swimming pool, steam room, sauna and spa were See More  Read more information nice facilities to have available. The restaurant is well above average and the staff are attentive and menu was versatile. Standard rooms are not large but options for suites exist. The furnishingsare not fresh - rustic and comfortable. Externally, work is needed and internals in some places could do with bringing up to date. The staff were helpful and polite. We enjoyed all our meals and thefood was well presented and of good quality and choices. From what we could see, most rooms faced toward the lake and many had mini terrace facilities. In summary, a value for money short break in avery picturesque area. We enjoyed our stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Keswick  
Bowness - boat trip  
Troutbeck  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 621 - 630 of 745 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001435 @ 08/11/2017 08:02:58

Last rendered @ 20/11/2017 07:47:00

Last rendered @ 20/11/2017 07:47:00

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.