Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 745

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Lancaster

Stay Date: 30/04/06, a customer from Stockton-On-Tees who stayed at 4* Lancaster House Hotel in Lancaster wrote this review.

visited Lake District and historical town of Lancaster Both good Lancaster House Hotel Excellant food and service See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Windermere (Newby Bridge)

Stay Date: 28/05/06, a customer from Lancashire who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

We were very lucky with the weather and it was lovely to sit in the sun all afternoon at the Angel Inn right in the centre of Bowness. We booked a lake trip on the boat at Bowness. It was stunning See More  Read more information scenery and made me feel proud to be British.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cartmel Racecourse  
Windermere Lake Cruise  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Angel Inn, Bowness  
The Spinney, Bowness  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Lancaster

Stay Date: 09/06/06, a customer from Winchester who stayed at 4* Lancaster House Hotel in Lancaster rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Quite Simply French  
 
 

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 17/06/06, a customer from Tyne and Wear who stayed at 4* Lakeside Hotel in Windermere (Newby Bridge) wrote this review.

Excellent service at hotel. Surrounding area very limited for attractions/alternative restaurants. Enjoyed Lake District and would visit north lakes next time. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Grasmere

Stay Date: 30/06/06, a customer from Merseyside who stayed at 4* Rothay Garden Hotel in Grasmere wrote this review.

Visited Keswick and the Saturday market, good coffee by the Lake, Pencil Museum very good. Aquarium of the Lakes excellent, good cafe there Hotel, Rothay Garden excellent, Rooms comfortable, service See More  Read more information excellent, food superb.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Aquarium of the Lakes  
Ambleside & Hayes Garden Centre  
Cumberland Pencil Museum  
Keswick  
Hawkshead  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Horse and Farrier in Threlkeld nr Keswick  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 16/07/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Spinney Wheel  
 
 

Our Lakes Stay

Stay Date: 22/02/17, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

The hotel and location was lovely. We've stayed in that hotel loads of times, it was our first time of having breakfast with our stay and we thought there wasn't much choice there, but we also had See More  Read more information evening meal and we thought the choice for evening meal was fab. Even thought we booked a table for 7 o'clock and we was still waiting at 7.45pm because they where short staffed, so that was a bit of adisappointment. Kendal and Ambleside out stunning places.. and lots of history to them too and lovely places to eat. If you have time you should visit them. Overall it was a fab mini break with myboyfriend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside  
Kendal  
Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Hotel  
Jade Delight  
The Alpine  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good location

Stay Date: 02/04/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Lancashire who stayed at 4* Rothay Garden Hotel in Grasmere wrote this review.

Lovely location. Had our honeymoon here 31 years ago. Hotel was better then! Bedroom we were in was average. Quite small with small balcony needing refurbishment. Bathroom was badly laid out. No See More  Read more information grout in tiles on floor and all sealant needing replacing, in other words bathroom needs refurbishment. Rest if hotel ok. Staff looked weary! But at least they let us use the car park after we hadchecked out. Spa was ok but the steam room was not working! Just hope the other rooms are better than the one we stayed in as it is quite an expensive hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jumbles  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great brebak in Lakes

Stay Date: 06/04/17, a customer aged 65+ from Blaydon-On-Tyne who stayed at 3* Newby Bridge Hotel & Leisure Centre (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Newby Bridge wrote this review.

A lovely hotel with excellent views easy walk to high peak. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lakes  
Bowness  
Hawkshead  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Enjoyable break at Bowness on Windermere

Stay Date: 02/05/17, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

Just returned from a 3 day break at The Craig Manor Hotel. Great location for variety of walks as we were in easy walking distance of Bowness and the lake. We particularly enjoyed a ride out to See More  Read more information Grasmere on an open topped bus from outside hotel. Much better view of the wonderful scenery and informative audio playing throughout the journey. Staff at hotel very friendly and keen to make our staystay comfortable. Great breakfast set us up for all the great walks. Discovered the 20 minute walk up to Orrest Head above Windermere station. Amazing views of Lake Windermere and the fells. Willcertainly return to this location again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
open topped bus to Grasmere from windermere  
orrest head viewpoint above windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Angel Inn at Bowness  
Chesters by the river at Skelwith Bridge  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 611 - 620 of 745 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170621

Version=10638028915 @ 20/06/2017 17:04:17

Last rendered @ 24/06/2017 21:53:37

Last rendered @ 24/06/2017 21:53:37

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.