Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 733

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Windermere

Stay Date: 14/09/07, a customer from Dunfermline who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

This was our second trip to the Craig Manor Hotel in Bowness on Windermere. We again thoroughly enjoyed our short stay. The only down side was that we had requested an upper floor quiet room which See More  Read more information the hotel were unable to provide. Reception staff were quite defensive and reminded us that it was only a request and could not be guaranteed. I felt that their attitude could have been less abrupt.That said the hotel is nice and we would consider returning one day. We stayed B&B this time as it was good to eat away from the hotel. We are definitely considering a return visit in the very nearfuture.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside Village  
Lake Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Angel Inn, Bowness on Windermere  
Americanas, Bowness on Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ambleside Salutation

Stay Date: 17/09/07, a customer from Grimsby who stayed at 4* Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa in Ambleside rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rheged  
Windermere Cruise  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Robertos Bistro - Bowness  
 
 

Honeymoon

Stay Date: 08/09/07, a customer from Lancaster who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

We stayed at Craig Manor for our honeymoon, the Hotel was lovely the food in the restaurant was fantastic. The staff were very pleasant and even kept the bar open late for us!! We would recommend See More  Read more information this hotel to anyone, and I would imagine we will be going back in the future.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake Windermere  
Go Ape at Grizedale forest  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Angel Inn  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Revisiting Cumbria After Far Too Long !

Stay Date: 02/09/07, a customer from Wallasey who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

The Beech Hill Hotel was beyond our expectations. With views over the lake not only from the main rooms but our own patio overlooking the lake too ! The staff,food,service and cleanliness all See More  Read more information excellent, we cannot praise enough and hope to go back very soon. P.s we stayed for a whole week and the standards never dropped !   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Brown Horse, Winster  
Hawkshead  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Drunken Duck  
Brown Horse, Winster  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Long weekend in Ambleside

Stay Date: 07/09/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa in Ambleside wrote this review.

Familiar with the Lakes but usually go self catering. Hotel very good and good location,very hot so left windows open, but the town gets a bit noisy at night, as well as guests coming and going in See More  Read more information early hours, so every nights sleep was disturbed. Took the edge off a lovely weekend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Walks  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside Salutation Hotel Restaurant  
Sheilas Cottage  
Lucy on a Plate  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lakeside Newby Bridge Cumbria

Stay Date: 13/09/07, a customer from Crumlin who stayed at 4* Lakeside Hotel in Windermere (Newby Bridge) wrote this review.

Absolutely lovely hotel and staff but we couldn't understand their concept of a "Full English Breakfast" The food content were excellent but it was served in a "Nouvelle Cuisine" style which was See More  Read more information totally inappropriate to the English breakfast concept. It ruined what otherwise was a perfect stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Gibby's Bowness  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Nice But Expensive!

Stay Date: 12/09/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

Have stayed in nicer hotel rooms costing half the price. tv reception very poor, should invest in signal amplifier. Saying that the meals in the hotel were excellent and the staff were very See More  Read more information friendly. Would certainly go again if not for the extortionate price of the room. Superbreak vouchers were given to us as xmas presents, thats why we went to an expensive hotel hoping for the luxury but theluxury never materialised.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windermere Boat Trip  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Craig Manor Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

First trip to Lake District

Stay Date: 02/09/07, a customer from Sheffield who stayed at 3* Newby Bridge Hotel & Leisure Centre in Newby Bridge wrote this review.

Our Hotel view was wonderful, the room was cosy and had good facilities. The Lake District itself was so beautiful I recommend it to everyone. The Beatrix Potter exhibition was amazing for anyone See More  Read more information who is into that kind of thing. For car lovers the Motor Museum is also a brilliant place to see.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hill Top  
Lakeside river cruise  
Motor Museum  
Beatrix Potter Exhibition  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Newby Bridge Bar -The Huntsmans Inn  
Balti House  
The Sandwich Deli  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Short Stay in Ambleside

Stay Date: 30/08/07, a customer from Leicestershire who stayed at 4* Waterhead Hotel in Ambleside rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Holker Hall  
Bowness-on-Windermere Railway  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Outgate Inn  
The White Lion Hotel  
The Waterhead Hotel  
 
 

Short Break in Kendal

Stay Date: 06/09/07, a customer from Lancashire who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 
 

Showing 591 - 600 of 733 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100699 @ 24/08/2017 14:04:18

Last rendered @ 22/09/2017 12:40:15

Last rendered @ 22/09/2017 12:40:15

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.