Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 733

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in the Lakes

Stay Date: 17/02/08, a customer from Stirling who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

A wonderful 3 nights in a great location. We were extremely lucky with the weather - cold and frosty at night but brilliant clear sunshine during the days - ideal for walking and admiring the See More  Read more information stunning scenery.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lucy4@The Porthole, Bowness-on-Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

First Visit to Lancaster and the Lake

Stay Date: 18/02/08, a customer from Rhyl who stayed at 4* Lancaster House Hotel in Lancaster wrote this review.

The hotel was first class in every way except one: the restaurant was 'award winning' - OK if you like nouvelle cuisine. but there was no alternative. Even the bar meals were on the style - long on See More  Read more information design, short on content! We enjoyed the city of Lancaster and the towns of Kendal and Windermere - people were so friendly and helpful.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kendal  
Lake Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lake District Visit

Stay Date: 17/02/08, a customer from Canterbury who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

Spectacular scenery, wonderful hotel and staff which made our visit an immense enjoyment. Would love to go again. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lakes  
The World of Beatrix Potter Attraction  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rumours  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 16/02/08, a customer from Wakefield who stayed at 4* Lakeside Hotel in Windermere (Newby Bridge) wrote this review.

Fantastic hotel for an overnight stay. we had a beautiful room and our own private garden. staff very helful and made you feel very special. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lakeside Resturant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 09/02/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

The room we were allocated was in a poorly decorated and tired state. There was a nasty smell in the corridor to the room. The plumbing in the neighbouring rooms was very noisy.The stair carpet upto See More  Read more information the main hotel was ripped/worn out in several places. The bar was expensive.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Lovely 3 Night Break

Stay Date: 10/02/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Lancaster House Hotel in Lancaster wrote this review.

We recently enjoyed a wonderful break at the Lancaster House hotel, the spa and health facilities were excellent, managed to take a dip on 4 occasions throughtout our 4 day break, the outdoor hot See More  Read more information tub definately a bonus and steam room. The hotel staff were very helpful, we even managed to have a look into a suite for our next stay, there will definately be a return visit to this hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Butterfly House  
Morecambe  
Lancaster Castle Tour  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wetherspoons, Eric Bartholomew  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 02/02/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere  
Ambleside  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Villa Positano  
 
 

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 03/02/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Puzzle Museum  
 
 

Perfect Long Weekend

Stay Date: 24/01/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Lakeside Hotel in Windermere (Newby Bridge) wrote this review.

We needed a break and it was my husband's birthday so we spoiled ourselves! He has always loved the lakes and we wanted to ride Clydesdale horses (amazing horses, willing, responsive and speedy). See More  Read more information The hotel spoiled us from the moment we arrived, the pool and spa area are spacious, immaculate and robes are available in the room for the walk down. It looks when you arrive as if parking may be aproblem, but the hotel have that all in hand, and boats and aquarium are on the doorstep. The bistro was closed for work when we were there (well January and it has to be done sometime) but the food wasremarkable, and bistro menu was available. We had the restaurant meal on the Saturday night and it rated with some of the best restaurants we have visited. Sandwiches at lunch may seem a bit pricey,but the standards are high, and lots of little extras seem to be included. Definitely feel we got what we paid for...go there if you want to be spoiled in 1st class comfort.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cumbrian Heavy Horses  
Lake Windermere Boat Trip  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pub, Newby Bridge  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

A Wet Weekend in Lancaster

Stay Date: 12/01/08, a customer from Bury who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Lancaster in Lancaster wrote this review.

The hotel was fine but nothing out of the ordinary. The pool, sauna etc was very good. The staff were very helpful although the bar went unattended for longish periods early evening and I had to ask See More  Read more information for service at Reception a couple of times. The bar meals were surprisingly good quality and value - unusual in a 'businessman's' hotel. Breakfast was very, very good. The general public area,lounge, bar etc was grim - a vast expanse of low level tables and seating, much of it sagging, with no attractive features at all. I absolutely detested the big flat-screen televisions blaring out SkySports football matches with almost no-one watching - such a din. The town was small but crammed with interest. We only managed to see the castle/prison and the Priory, but they were both fascinating andwe spent hours in each. I would go again at the right rate.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Priory  
Lancaster  
Castle and Prison  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 561 - 570 of 733 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100699 @ 24/08/2017 14:04:18

Last rendered @ 23/09/2017 14:02:12

Last rendered @ 23/09/2017 14:02:12

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.