Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 739

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break In Grasmere

Stay Date: 02/06/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Macdonald Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Grasmere wrote this review.

Lovely place to stay in the lake district. Hotel in ideal place to go on various walks. We left the car in hotel car park and did a different walk everyday. Staff at hotel very polite and attentive. See More  Read more information Bed and pillows were very comfy. Food beautifully served. A very relaxing break. I would love to stay there again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere  
Helvellyn  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel Amenity

Stay Date: 17/06/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Macdonald Swan Hotel in Grasmere wrote this review.

Wash towels were not provided. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hill Top  
Windermere  
Lake District Tour By Lakes Supertours  
The World Of Peter Rabbit Exhibition  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Italian Restraurant Porto At Winderemere  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Celebratory Super Break

Stay Date: 29/06/11, a customer from Macclesfield who stayed at 3* Macdonald Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Grasmere wrote this review.

Having received 'all clear' following a hospital operation, my wife and i decided to celebrate this and the occasion of our wedding anniversary at the swan hotel, grasmere. The excellent See More  Read more information accommodation, cuisine, staff and friendly atmosphere made our short stay both memorable and delightful. An additional feature was that the sun shone and the walk from lodore to hawse, incorporating use of theregular boat services out of keswick, is a 'perfect day' excursion ............ Weather permitting of course.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere Village - Too Commercialised!  
Derwentwater Walk, Incl. Keswick Launch Services  
Lake District Visitor Centre - Disappointing  
Borrowdale - Honister Pass - Buttermere Drive  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Miller How Cafe, Grasmere - Great Staff &Amp; Nice Tea  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Kendal Chill-Out

Stay Date: 03/07/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal wrote this review.

Good points, pleasant staff good breakfast, excellent weather good town centre and sitting on hotel balcony over the river having drinks not so good points, not being able to get room until 3.0 See More  Read more information oclock, state of toilets in main reception.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bengal Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Great Short Break

Stay Date: 16/08/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* The Wild Boar Inn (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

As the weather was not brilliant we decided to take a car tour between lakes windermere and coniston. It was the 'drive 1' in the area information book. It was very interesting with spectacular See More  Read more information views. Recommended. We would have liked a lake cruise but the weather was not good enough. We had a great break in a good hotel. Recommended.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake Coniston  
Lake Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Sun, Crook  
The Wild Boar Inn  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend Break

Stay Date: 29/08/11, a customer from Oxfordshire who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

My wife and I took our two dogs away for the first time and were very apprehensive about it. However, it went wonderfully well without any problems. We visited numerous lake areas and villages and See More  Read more information took walks around brotherswater and in the hills near grassmere and i had forgotten how spectacular the lake district is! We had a memorable weekend and will be back before the end of the year.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Visit Different Lake Areas  
Took Walks  
Visited Various Villages  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beach Hill Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Kendal

Stay Date: 29/08/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

An Autumn Adventure

Stay Date: 03/09/11, a customer who stayed at 4* The Wild Boar Inn (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Lovely location in a beautiful lakeland valley. Atmospheric restaurant with rock feature and lakeland farmhouse feel. Public rooms all excellent. Food tasty, fresh and excellently presented. See More  Read more information Accommodation disappointing - bedroom tired and not up the standard of the rest of the hotel. We were in an annex that appeared to be like a rather non-descript motel. There were rooms in the main part ofthe hotel which looked comfortable and in keeping. There was no warning when we booked that we would be outside this standard. We have a well behaved dog and if this was the reason, we should have beenwarned.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blackwells  
K Village Shopping Outlet  
 

User Review Ratings: 3 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Lancaster

Stay Date: 04/09/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Lancaster (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Lancaster wrote this review.

Everything was very nice, except the meal on the evening when we arrived could of been better, there was also a supplement which we was not told about until check out. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blackpool  
The Lakes  
Morecombe  
Lancaster Town  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: It does state in our terms and conditions that where a hotel offers dinner this may be table d'hote, a carvery or may sometimes be in the form of an allowance against the a la carte menu.

 

Lindeth Howe Country Hotel

Stay Date: 02/10/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

Stayed at the lindeth howe country hotel on saturday evening. Room very spacious, well decorated and furnished and clean. The bed was very large and extremely comfortable. Had an excellent nights See More  Read more information sleep. If I stay again I will choose a lake or garden view room.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Roberto's Bowness On Windemere  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 541 - 550 of 739 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001374 @ 19/10/2017 16:34:01

Last rendered @ 20/10/2017 17:02:31

Last rendered @ 20/10/2017 17:02:31

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.