Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 727

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Relaxing break

Stay Date: 25/11/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa Non Refundable (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

We had a very enjoyable stay at the hotel with an excellent 3 course meal on the 1st night. The staff were very attentive and the hotel in beautiful surroundings. My only reservation is the number See More  Read more information of stairs we had to ascend to get to the lounge/bar/restaurant. We were in a low number room and would have seriously struggled with the stairs had we been in any way infirm.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
Ambleside  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
You & Me Chinese  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Amazing stay in Windermere

Stay Date: 07/06/15, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa Non Refundable (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

The Beech Hill Hotel was outstanding, from the room, staff and facilities. Nothing was too much trouble for all staff. The view of the lake from our room was breathtaking. Amazing value for money. I See More  Read more information am looking now to book again for august.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Town  
the lake  
The Lakes Aquarium  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beech Hill Hotel  
the graze  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

2 Nights at Beech Hill Hotel

Stay Date: 09/09/15, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa Non Refundable (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

The hotel is situated at the side of Windermere. The hotel itself is large and very pleasant. The staff were very helpful at all times. The view from our room over the lake was wonderful and we were See More  Read more information treated to a lovely sunset on our second night. The evening meal as part of the package was excellent and the breakfasts were good. We found that our stay here was very enjoyable and good value formoney.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dove Cottage  
Lake Cruise  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beech Hill Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Perfect dining experience in hotel

Stay Date: 21/10/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa Non Refundable (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Good location for room (lake view from decking outside room). Good dining at this hotel. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Hotel in very quiet location and good parking. Will definitely go back for a See More  Read more information quiet break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside  
Keswick Market  
Grassmere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shame about the noise

Stay Date: 19/11/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa Non Refundable (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Lovely hotel in a splendid location overlooking Lake Windermere. The only thing that ruined our stay was the noisy people in the room next to us. Television on very loud both nights until gone one See More  Read more information in the morning and very loud snoring from the same room and very loud talking! The walls were very very thin! Spoke to reception staff about it but was told there was nothing they could do.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Lake District Break

Stay Date: 26/04/16, a customer aged 65+ from Ashbourne who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa Non Refundable (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Wonderful quiet location overlooking the Lake and the mountains. Very comfortable public rooms, good food and ambiance. We would stay again. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
Derwent Water  
Ills water cruise  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely and Relaxing

Stay Date: 23/05/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa Non Refundable (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

The Beech Hill is the perfect spot to relax and just enjoy the scenery. Unhurried, and chance to escape the daily grind. Second visit - Birthday - Food really is excellent both in The Dining Room See More  Read more information and in the Bar. It is such a pleasure to sit on the Terrace in the warm afternoon sun, with a cooling refreshing drink and take in the view. Wish I was there right now.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short stay by the lake

Stay Date: 20/09/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa Non Refundable (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Stayed 2 nights at the Beech Hill Hotel overlooking Windermere. Great views and the spa and pool facilities excellent especially enjoyed the lake view hot tub. The breakfast was good and the dinner See More  Read more information menu also excellent. We slept in a room with a lake view room which had a nice outside patio but unfortunately the walls of the room were very thin. Overall though nice hotel in excellent location 4miles from Bowness within easy reach of local sightseeing and facilities.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hill Top  
Beatrix Potter Museum  
Town end  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Trattoria winermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beech Hill Hotel

Stay Date: 18/10/16, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa Non Refundable (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Everything was fantastic - relaxing and pleasant hotel. Food was excellent and leisure facilities were fantastic especially the hot tub. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
ship inn bowness  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Unexpected luxury

Stay Date: 29/04/17, a customer who stayed at 4* Lancaster House Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Lancaster wrote this review.

Gosh, we just loved the place, it's just full of character. There's no lift there so be warned. The bedrooms were big, clean and very comfortable, very pretty in fact. Nice view from our window See More  Read more information and very with it - pots for tea or coffee. The spa was exceptional, massive sauna and steam room. Also a nice big pool, and Jacuzzi inside and outside yes I did say outside. Goodness we were soimpressed with this hotel - the staff were great as well. We go away most weekends but this is the best one. We will go back soon and it's not that far from where we live.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 541 - 550 of 727 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100637 @ 17/08/2017 08:58:35

Last rendered @ 22/08/2017 17:59:58

Last rendered @ 22/08/2017 17:59:58

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.