Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 739

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break In Grasmere

Stay Date: 18/05/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Macdonald Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Grasmere wrote this review.

We have stayed at the swan a number of times and have never been disappointed. The staff have always been friendly and of course the views never fail to impress. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Keswick  
Buttermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Grasmere

Stay Date: 02/06/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Macdonald Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Grasmere wrote this review.

Lovely place to stay in the lake district. Hotel in ideal place to go on various walks. We left the car in hotel car park and did a different walk everyday. Staff at hotel very polite and attentive. See More  Read more information Bed and pillows were very comfy. Food beautifully served. A very relaxing break. I would love to stay there again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere  
Helvellyn  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Another Relaxing Stay At The Swan

Stay Date: 08/06/11, a customer from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Macdonald Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Grasmere wrote this review.

This was our second visit to the swan, and again we stayed for 2 nights on a Superbreak 1st night dinner deal, and had a lovely time - equally as good as our first visit late last year. The hotel is See More  Read more information however looking a little bit shabby 'around the edges' you might say e.g. The furniture in the lounges is a little grubby and tired looking and our room, although clean, had loose and badly fittedtrim in the bathroom and a window that had no facility to hold it open, which did detract a little on the quality front. The staff however were at all times very helpful and friendly and are worthy ofhigh praise in this respect. The food at dinner was very good in my opinion, and we decided to dine again on the second evening, as the quality and service was much better than some other places wehave visited in grasmere. Breakfast was very good with a varied selection of both continental and cooked items available. The bar was good, with a few local beers etc. And a decent selection of wine bythe glass, although as usual for a hotel it is quite expensive. The garden is very nice, even though it is adjacent to the main road, but it really could do with some comfortable chairs etc. To relaxin, as it only has wooden picnic style tables and chairs with no cushions. The free car park is directly adjacent to the hotel, and the free wi-fi is a real bonus, as some hotels charge ridiculousamounts for this - very well done! overall then, if you get a good deal, then i think it is excellent value for money, but at full price i would probably have been looking for a bit more for my money. Idid hear that the hotel is due to be refurbished later in the year, so that could account for some of the minor issues i have mentioned, and if so, then it is quite understandable.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cafe Bar 26 Keswick  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hill Walking Short Break In The Lakes

Stay Date: 01/07/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Macdonald Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Grasmere wrote this review.

The swan hotel grasmere is an ideal base for walking, or touring the lake district by car. Plenty of walks start from village itself therefore not necessary to move car unless you choose to. 2 nt See More  Read more information short break with dinner on 1st night was superb - staff friendly and diligent throughout stay. Hotel facilities 1st class; plenty of pubs & restaurants in grasmere for food and drink as an alternativeto hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Celebratory Super Break

Stay Date: 29/06/11, a customer from Macclesfield who stayed at 3* Macdonald Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Grasmere wrote this review.

Having received 'all clear' following a hospital operation, my wife and i decided to celebrate this and the occasion of our wedding anniversary at the swan hotel, grasmere. The excellent See More  Read more information accommodation, cuisine, staff and friendly atmosphere made our short stay both memorable and delightful. An additional feature was that the sun shone and the walk from lodore to hawse, incorporating use of theregular boat services out of keswick, is a 'perfect day' excursion ............ Weather permitting of course.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere Village - Too Commercialised!  
Derwentwater Walk, Incl. Keswick Launch Services  
Lake District Visitor Centre - Disappointing  
Borrowdale - Honister Pass - Buttermere Drive  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Miller How Cafe, Grasmere - Great Staff &Amp; Nice Tea  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Grasmere

Stay Date: 14/09/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Macdonald Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Grasmere rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Autumn Break In The Lake District

Stay Date: 27/10/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Macdonald Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Grasmere wrote this review.

Birthday treat and hassle-free half term break for primary school headteacher. At least "good" in all respects. Very good value for money. We would definitely go again. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Langdale Pikes - Fell Walking  
Keswick - Shopping  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zefirellis In Ambleside For Coffee.  
Lakeland Pedlar (Keswick)  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Well Earned Break In Grasmere

Stay Date: 26/10/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Macdonald Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Grasmere wrote this review.

The hotel staff were very welcoming and the room was very clean, well stocked with coffee, tea and shortbread biscuits. From the hotel we were able to walk into Grasmere and enjoyed a lovely meal at See More  Read more information the red lion. We visited hawkshead and then moved on to coniston where we had a walk to trover. We enjoyed good sandwiches in the cafe on the side of coniston water and then took the ferry back towindermere. We had a thoroughly good three days and are looking forward to visiting this area again soon.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere  
Coniston  
Hawkshead  
Rydal Water  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Red Lion Grasmere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Autumn Break In The Lake District

Stay Date: 06/11/11, a customer from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Macdonald Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Grasmere wrote this review.

Arranged a short break for my wife and I to join friends who were already booked into a different hotel. We were very pleased with our stay at the swan, which provided comfortable surroundings, good See More  Read more information food, and was in a very convenient (and beautiful) location. The hotel was a bit tired around the edges, but was good where it really mattered to us; ie very comfortable bed and excellent food in therestaurant. Overall we would give this break 8 out of 10, and it was undoubtedly good value for money at just over £100 per person for 2 nights including dinner on the first night.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere Village  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Swan Hotel  
Skelwith Bridge Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Grasmere

Stay Date: 29/01/12, a customer who stayed at 3* Macdonald Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Grasmere wrote this review.

Hotel was warm and welcoming. The restaurant was excellent, food and service very good. Room was dated and tired in need of refurbishment, particularly the windows. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lakeside Walks  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 541 - 550 of 739 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001374 @ 19/10/2017 16:24:53

Last rendered @ 20/10/2017 19:07:56

Last rendered @ 20/10/2017 19:07:56

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.