Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 749

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Stay in Lancaster

Stay Date: 05/03/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Glasgow who stayed at 4* Lancaster House Hotel in Lancaster wrote this review.

Hotel was very comfortable and staff friendly. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blackpool  
Lancaster  
Morecambe  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great days in the lakes

Stay Date: 20/03/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa in Bowness-on-Windermere wrote this review.

The stay in the Lakes was enhanced by the fact that the hotel and staff were fantastic the hotel was very well placed and the staff were so attentive. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good day at Windermere

Stay Date: 05/04/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

A relaxing time no phones good food nice hotel. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Grasmere

Stay Date: 02/08/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Barrow-In-Furness who stayed at 4* The Daffodil Hotel & Spa in Grasmere wrote this review.

The Hotel was lovely loved pictures, food was really lovely. But the check in was not very good they gave us key to someone else's room. Bar area in restaurant to small. Not enough seating in See More  Read more information downstairs bar. The sitting room is is bizarre, not cosy at all, would maybe be better if had bar and some better seating.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Beeches Hotel, Windermere

Stay Date: 11/08/14, a customer aged 65+ from Solihull who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

The room wasn't ready at 4.00pm when we arrived. They gave us some tea in the lounge but at 5.30 I enquired when the room would be ready and was told it had been ready for about 20 minutes. There See More  Read more information had been a problem with non delivery of linen and they did give us a bottle of fizzy wine but we were annoyed that we had been kept waiting longer than necessary. Also there were 3 flights of stairsfrom the car park to reception and dining room wasn't made clear before we booked and my husband has considerable difficulty in getting up steps. The room was very small but there was a great view of thelake.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
boat & train trip on Lake Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Grasmere Lovely - Shame about the Hotel

Stay Date: 28/08/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Uk who stayed at 3* Macdonald Swan Hotel in Grasmere wrote this review.

We have stayed at the Swan at Grasmere before and were looking forward to staying again. We had requested a ground floor room, we got a ground floor room no 41 there are only 42 rooms on the ground See More  Read more information floor. it was easier to walk round outside than walk through the building. The bed and pillows were too soft after the first night the cleaner didn't bother to remove a jug of fresh milk which wasleft to go sour another day no milk cartons or biscuits left.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere  
Holker Hall  
Allan Banks - National Trust  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bar of Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

We will be back!

Stay Date: 12/09/14, a customer aged 25-44 from Jarrow who stayed at 4* Waterhead Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ambleside wrote this review.

Excellent stay once again in the Waterhead. Highly recommend booking a suite for the extra touches and the room itself. Food excellent at the hotel too. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beech Hill Hotel

Stay Date: 03/10/14, a customer aged 65+ from Ormskirk who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

A very nice but expensive hotel with wonderful scenic views. We had to climb two flights of quite steep stairs to reach ground level for the restaurant and bar. There are no lifts. Not recommended See More  Read more information for people who are not reasonably fit or elderly. Food very good, drinks overpriced. Decor and surroundings excellent.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
white inn  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lakeside

Stay Date: 02/11/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Lakeside Hotel in Windermere (Newby Bridge) wrote this review.

The hotel was beautiful lots of character and charm. Our room was a good size the down side would be the bed.it was a zip and link so basically 2 single mattresses zipped together .not very See More  Read more information comfortable at all as the beds are really soft and then you keep rolling into the centre. Attention to detail was lacking in the room as well. Spiderwebs behind bedside lamps, we had to ask for slippersand the second day the tea and coffee making facilities were not replenished. We stayed 3 nights and our bed linen was not changed once. The bar was full of character and had a beautiful burningfire . We chose the casual dining experience .the pool and sauna were very nice however unfortunately the steam room was being retiled when we were there so couldn't use. The breakfast was very nice,lots of choice. The curtains in the formal dining room need to be cleaned though as soiled with food and drink. The upkeep of the plants and flower arrangements need a mention, not only are theviews fantastic but the plants and flowers incredibly well maintained and cared for. The staff all friendly and helpful.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Boat Tour  
Walking Tour  
train  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The Hotel

Stay Date: 26/10/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

The area & hotel very good, with splendid views across the lake from the restaurant terrace. My only criticism of the hotel was the fact that our room was located at the rear of the hotel right on See More  Read more information the A592. Between 6am and 7am every morning a lorry arrived (I suspect to deliver supplies) and was left running for approx 10 minutes.This awoke us and after it left was very difficult to get back tosleep. Being so close to the road we could here every passing car.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kendal  
Lakeland Motor Museum  
Ravensglass & Eskdale Railway  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 491 - 500 of 749 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001573 @ 03/01/2018 08:52:01

Last rendered @ 19/01/2018 15:48:31

Last rendered @ 19/01/2018 15:48:31

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.