Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 745

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Great break in Lake District

Stay Date: 29/02/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Newton Abbot who stayed at 4* Lakeside Hotel in Windermere (Newby Bridge) wrote this review.

Could not fault the hotel in any way, from checking in at reception to checking out the staff could not have done anything more to make us feel so welcome and valued as guests. The location is See More  Read more information superb, hotel facilities and dining superb, will be going back again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Coniston  
Hawkshead  
bowness/ambleside  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Mini break in Lake District

Stay Date: 24/03/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Bicester who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Excellent mini-break, helped with good weather. Hotel very good and conveniently situated near Lake Windermere. We could walk down to the promenade to get on the boat for a lake cruise. Hotel was a See More  Read more information little too warm but otherwise very nice. The food was excellent, if anything, their dinner menu could be simplified. Our room was very big and very comfortable with a couple of easy chairs where wecould sit and relax.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Boat trip on lake  
Steam train ride  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great, Convenient, Cozy !

Stay Date: 25/03/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal wrote this review.

Excellent location and perfectly placed, we really had a great time @Riverside. The staff were quite helpful and you have very nice rooms. If you are okay to be a bit away from the actual lakes, See More  Read more information then this hotel comes highly recommended for overall stay and hospitality. Thanks Riverside :-)   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Keswick  
Kendal  
Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Riva  
Riverside  
Farrer's  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing on Windermere

Stay Date: 09/04/16, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Our second wedding anniversary short break at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel was absolutely amazing. The hotel and ground itself was gorgeous, reception and bar staff were great, however some of See More  Read more information the restaurant staff lacked personality and a smile, the food was lovely and overall very relaxing. Would definitely return for another stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bodega tapas bar  
Cafe Riva  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Memorable Stay.

Stay Date: 25/04/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Morpeth who stayed at 4* 4* Mystery Non Refundable Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

The Beech Hill hotel is in a superb location and our lake-view room more than lived up to its promise. Breakfast, with very high quality food and a superb lake view, was simply a joy. The indoor See More  Read more information heated pool also looked great, although we didn't get round to using it because we were sight-seeing much of our stay. Our room radiator wouldn't switch on and we reported this to reception; it was fixedimmediately.The staff, and the service they provided, were absolutely first class. Will return to this hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hill Top  
Wray Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Ship, Bowness  
Ambleside Gardencentre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great mini break in Windermere

Stay Date: 07/05/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Liverpool who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Excellent hotel, fantastic location overlooking the lake, breakfast was lovely so was the evening meal, cannot fault this hotel, will be staying again in the near future. Buy the freedom & train See More  Read more information ticket for 24 hour boat trips and Haverthwaite Steam train ride £22.50 per person, worked out good value for money. We were upgraded to Lake view honeymoon room - fantastic.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Boat Ride On Windermere  
Haverthwaite Steam Train  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
China Fortune Bowness  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A break overlooking Windermere

Stay Date: 09/05/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Low Wood Bay in Windermere wrote this review.

This is a very nice hotel in a superb location. Few, if any places in the world can boast a more scenic outlook. The picture of the hotel which appears to show it at the top of a grass bank sweeping See More  Read more information down to the lake is however misleading as there is a narrow two track road with no speed limit between the hotel and the lake with a non-stop stream of traffic travelling at speed. It would be saferplaying Russian roulette than attempting to cross. We had a four night break but the room we were given was abysmal. A ground floor room as preferred but with a narrow window in one corner virtuallyobscured by a tangle work of metal which turned out to be the fire escape from rooms above. It was tight against the window and if you could see past it a side view of the lake which we had requested.A more dismal and depressing room we have never experienced. On voicing our dissatisfaction at check out we were told we could have had a different room. This being the case why did we not get abetter room in the first place. There was a token reduction in our food and bar bill but this did not make up for the disappointment and in addition it appears the hotel has a lift so it would not havemattered which floor we were on. Not the sort of treatment we have received at other SuperBreak destinations over the years.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Country house hotel

Stay Date: 20/05/16, a customer aged 65+ from Redcar who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

An excellent Country House Hotel - everything you could hope for. Beautiful gardens, country house style furnishings and roomy bedrooms with good facilities. The staff are attentive and helpful. A See More  Read more information first class dining experience. We will definitely return.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grizedale Forest  
Sizergh Castle  
Hill Top house Beatrix Potter  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Sun Inn Crook  
Mainsgill farm shop  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely and Relaxing

Stay Date: 23/05/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

The Beech Hill is the perfect spot to relax and just enjoy the scenery. Unhurried, and chance to escape the daily grind. Second visit - Birthday - Food really is excellent both in The Dining Room See More  Read more information and in the Bar. It is such a pleasure to sit on the Terrace in the warm afternoon sun, with a cooling refreshing drink and take in the view. Wish I was there right now.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Rainy Break in the Lakes

Stay Date: 28/06/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Lindeth Howe is in a wonderful location, cosy and comfortable with warm welcoming staff. The pool, although small was adequate especially when we had the luxury of having it to ourselves. The food See More  Read more information in the restaurant exceeded expectations.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hill Top  
AyraForce  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 41 - 50 of 745 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001435 @ 08/11/2017 08:02:58

Last rendered @ 20/11/2017 00:27:59

Last rendered @ 20/11/2017 00:27:59

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.