Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 727

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Nice Hotel

Stay Date: 15/08/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Tewkesbury who stayed at 4* Lancaster House Hotel in Lancaster wrote this review.

Nice hotel, staff friendly, breakfast good. Lovely warm indoor pool and spa. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend Break Grasmere

Stay Date: 24/08/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Wirral who stayed at 4* Rothay Garden Hotel in Grasmere wrote this review.

Lovely weekend break in Grasmere, weather was fantastic which always helps. Hotel fab and great location, walking and cycling also excellent, will return to visit. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere  
Ambleside  
Easdale Tarn  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dove Bistro  
Rothay garden  
Waterhead Bar & Grill  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Nice break at the Lakes

Stay Date: 24/08/13, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

The hotel was comfortable, not a 4* as advrtised and in need of a refurb. It's looking a little tired and dated. The views from the hotel were stunning and it was very nice on the terrace See More  Read more information overlooking the lake. The food was very nice in the restaurant and staff helpful and polite.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windermere  
Coniston Waters  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Family meeting at the Lake Districk

Stay Date: 14/09/13, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* The Wild Boar Inn (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

We spent long hours in the comfort of the hotel reminiscing with family members we hadn't seen for a long time. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lake District Break

Stay Date: 16/09/13, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* 4* Mystery Non Refundable Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

We walked we hired a car and toured on the lakes and railway and generally chilled out. The hotel was comfortable and well positioned the.food and service good. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake District  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
At Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Trip to Windermere

Stay Date: 19/10/13, a customer aged 25-44 from Glasgow who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

We took an overnight stay as a treat before our baby arrives in December. We found the hotel no problems and on initial arrival you see how beautiful the view and surroundings are. There's a few See More  Read more information internal stairs to negotiate. Staff were friendly and check in was quick. Our room was lovely. Could do with a few touch ups to paint etc but hardly noticed as view stunning. We were told we wereupgraded room. Took a trip to Windermere for dinner lovely meal at Sutherlands. Parking at hotel at night very tricky as it was busy. Next day breakfast was gorgeous. Staff friendly. Check out easy!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Sutherlands  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

STAFF REVIEW

Stay Date: 12/07/13, a customer from York who stayed at 3* Macdonald Swan Hotel in Grasmere wrote this review.

We stayed here on a half board rate in mid July. It is in a good location on the edge of the village. This does mean it is a 10 - 15 minute walk into the centre of the village however the bonus is See More  Read more information that it has a large car park which some of the more central properties struggle with. There is a bus stop opposite the hotel. The rooms are clean and functional however the bathrooms are quitesmall. The decor is traditional. The staff were very helpful and we were even served our evening meal in the garden as it was so warm. Breakfast is split, cooked items and hot drinks being served to youand other items you help yourself. Great base for walking the beautiful countryside around. We walked the picturesque route to Ambleside and back, alternatively you could catch the bus one way.   Collapse  Hide

Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Unwind in the Lakes

Stay Date: 02/12/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Good base for exploring lakes. Many local walks close-by in Bowness. Hotel accommodation excellent, friendly staff. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Keswick  
Ambleside  
Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Local Pub  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Grew day out in Lancaster

Stay Date: 26/12/13, a customer from Bolton who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Lancaster (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Lancaster wrote this review.

Went round local shops in Lancaster See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lancaster  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Nice Relaxing Break

Stay Date: 28/12/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Warrington who stayed at 4* Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa in Bowness-on-Windermere wrote this review.

Lovely view of the lake. Arrived early however concierge took care of our luggage and parked the car also luggage took up to our room when it was ready. First morning breakfast was very good with a See More  Read more information table by the window with a view of the lake which was lovely. The second day I was disappointed that we had to queue outside the breakfast room for about 10 mins to be seated when lots of tables wereavailable, this service for a 4 star hotel is not acceptable. It would have made more sense to get everyone seated and then come and take our orders. There appeared to be few staff and a lot dashingaround but not really doing an awful lot. When we left the dining room there was still a small queue waiting however the dining room was not full. This was reported at check out and the receptionmanager did apologise for this. On a positive note the staff were all courteous the room was lovely beds comfortable and the spa facilities very nice.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rumours  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 481 - 490 of 727 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100637 @ 17/08/2017 08:40:20

Last rendered @ 20/08/2017 14:43:07

Last rendered @ 20/08/2017 14:43:07

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.