Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 745

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Beech Hill Hotel

Stay Date: 03/10/14, a customer aged 65+ from Ormskirk who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

A very nice but expensive hotel with wonderful scenic views. We had to climb two flights of quite steep stairs to reach ground level for the restaurant and bar. There are no lifts. Not recommended See More  Read more information for people who are not reasonably fit or elderly. Food very good, drinks overpriced. Decor and surroundings excellent.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
white inn  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lakeside

Stay Date: 02/11/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Lakeside Hotel in Windermere (Newby Bridge) wrote this review.

The hotel was beautiful lots of character and charm. Our room was a good size the down side would be the bed.it was a zip and link so basically 2 single mattresses zipped together .not very See More  Read more information comfortable at all as the beds are really soft and then you keep rolling into the centre. Attention to detail was lacking in the room as well. Spiderwebs behind bedside lamps, we had to ask for slippersand the second day the tea and coffee making facilities were not replenished. We stayed 3 nights and our bed linen was not changed once. The bar was full of character and had a beautiful burningfire . We chose the casual dining experience .the pool and sauna were very nice however unfortunately the steam room was being retiled when we were there so couldn't use. The breakfast was very nice,lots of choice. The curtains in the formal dining room need to be cleaned though as soiled with food and drink. The upkeep of the plants and flower arrangements need a mention, not only are theviews fantastic but the plants and flowers incredibly well maintained and cared for. The staff all friendly and helpful.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Boat Tour  
Walking Tour  
train  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Too Hot

Stay Date: 10/11/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Laura Ashley The Belsfield Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

Whilst the hotel is fabulous unfortunately our room was just too hot a day we like the heat! Switched off the radiator and had window open all night in November and still quite warm in morning. See More  Read more information Please treat as constructive criticism as I said the rest was great.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blue Lake Tour  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing break

Stay Date: 25/11/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

We had a very enjoyable stay at the hotel with an excellent 3 course meal on the 1st night. The staff were very attentive and the hotel in beautiful surroundings. My only reservation is the number See More  Read more information of stairs we had to ascend to get to the lounge/bar/restaurant. We were in a low number room and would have seriously struggled with the stairs had we been in any way infirm.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
Ambleside  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
You & Me Chinese  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely stay in Kendal

Stay Date: 13/12/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Uk who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal wrote this review.

Arrived in Kendal, there was a light covering of snow, checked in at 15.00 hrs after looking round the shops. Hotel staff very friendly and efficient and welcoming. Had a table reserved in See More  Read more information restaurant, food was just average and not much choice, however very reasonably priced for what we received. We could have eaten out in Kendal as plenty of pubs and restaurants within waking distance. Dinnerwas part of our Superbreak deal though... if I were to stay at the Riverside again I would probably choose room only or bed and breakfast.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kendal Town Centre  
Westmorland Serrvices  
Orton Chocolate Factory and tearoom  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Emmas Yard in Kendal its a tearoom  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Christmas break

Stay Date: 24/12/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel 3 Night Christmas Break in Kendal wrote this review.

Lovely to get away for Christmas and enjoy meals made for us. Time to relax and unwind in our room with Christmas TV; helpful of the hotel to provide Christmas listings guides. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Countryside  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Celebrations

Stay Date: 22/03/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Bolton who stayed at 3* The Regent Hotel (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ambleside wrote this review.

We had a great time celebrating our wedding anniversary at The Regent Hotel Ambleside. We had a room upgrade, the staff are very friendly, prices for food and drinks is reasonable. In walking See More  Read more information distance of Ambleside village. The restaurant is bright and airy and evening meal and breakfast were first class. We will certainly book again to stay at this hotel   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Ambleside wedding

Stay Date: 26/06/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Regent Hotel (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ambleside wrote this review.

Tied in visit to Ambleside with a wedding. Regent Hotel room and food excellent. Was within easy walking distance to shops etc. Great location next to lake. Hotel very clean and staff efficient. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

3 days of leisure at The Lakes

Stay Date: 01/09/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Uk who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

Craig Manor Hotel with a lake view room lived up to its name. A member of our party had walking difficulties but the hotel was accessible with a ground floor room. Plenty of parking space with See More  Read more information helpful staff. Breakfast was very good and served in a pleasant dining room with lake views. Really well located between Windermere and Bowness on Windermere on the main road with an easy walk into Bownesson Windermere. Unfortunately two consecutive nights the hotel had no steaks so had to dine elsewhere.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake Windermere Cruise  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Watersedge Inn Ambleside  
Skiddaw hotel Keswick  
John Pell Bowness on Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shame about the noise

Stay Date: 19/11/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Lovely hotel in a splendid location overlooking Lake Windermere. The only thing that ruined our stay was the noisy people in the room next to us. Television on very loud both nights until gone one See More  Read more information in the morning and very loud snoring from the same room and very loud talking! The walls were very very thin! Spoke to reception staff about it but was told there was nothing they could do.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 481 - 490 of 745 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001435 @ 08/11/2017 08:02:58

Last rendered @ 17/11/2017 17:47:08

Last rendered @ 17/11/2017 17:47:08

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.