Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 745

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Memorable stay

Stay Date: 27/08/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

The hotel which at one time was the property of famous writer Beatrix Potter is a charming, very quintessentially English hotel overlooking Lake Windermere set in very beautiful surroundings. We See More  Read more information were very fortunate to have the centre uppermost room with stunning views of the lake, especially at sunset and early morning when the mist is still over the lake. The hotel is hidden amid beautifullykept gardens and yet within walking distance to Bowness town centre and a marina close by. Evening meal was fantastic, staff were friendly and quite welcoming. The hotel has a pool and a sauna. Highlyrecommended if you are not after a budget stay. Thank you SuperBreak for getting us this deal.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kirkstone Pass  
Lake Cruise  
Bowness Town centre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

4 days In The Lakes

Stay Date: 22/08/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

The view from our room was fantastic, couldn't have wished for a nicer view to wake up to. Room was spacious, bright and well decorated. The spa area was clean, lots of towels and the Hot Tub See More  Read more information outside was a big bonus to watch the sun go down from after a busy day exploring. We took a day trip with Mountain Goat Tours - 10 Lakes which was excellent, well worth the money. We visited lots of lovelyplaces and reminisced of childhood memories and got engrossed with the tales of Beatrix Potter, getting around by car is easy but make sure you have lots of change for parking. Would I visit again, abig yes, can't wait.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mountain Goat Tours  
Ullswater Steam Boat  
The Lakeside & Haverthwaite Railway  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jacksons Bistro  
El Porton  
The Arts Bar & Grill  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short stay by the lake

Stay Date: 20/09/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Stayed 2 nights at the Beech Hill Hotel overlooking Windermere. Great views and the spa and pool facilities excellent especially enjoyed the lake view hot tub. The breakfast was good and the dinner See More  Read more information menu also excellent. We slept in a room with a lake view room which had a nice outside patio but unfortunately the walls of the room were very thin. Overall though nice hotel in excellent location 4miles from Bowness within easy reach of local sightseeing and facilities.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hill Top  
Beatrix Potter Museum  
Town end  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Trattoria winermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Sapphire Anniversary

Stay Date: 25/09/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Excellent SuperBreak at Lindeth Howe to celebrate our Sapphire Anniversary - only two days. Lovely hotel, beautiful location, excellent scenery - shame about the weather! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lindeth Howe  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing break.

Stay Date: 09/10/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

The short break booked via SuperBreak was excellent value with first night dinner and breakfast included. Our request for a superior double was amended to a twin as we requested. To be honest we See More  Read more information we wondered it if I was too good to be true but the break exceeded our expectations. The hotel was a delight, comfortable and in a lovely setting. Staff were attentive and efficient. Definitely oneto return to.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere  
Bowness  
Keswick  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
lindeth howe hotel  
Potted Out Cafe  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good Day in Lake District

Stay Date: 09/10/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel (2 Nt/1st Night Dinner + Windermere Cruise) in Windermere wrote this review.

Beautiful hotel in fantastic surroundings, spa was second to none, food in hotel restaurant was quality. Staff very friendly. SuperBreak team arranged it all very good. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Strange Hotel

Stay Date: 30/12/16, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Newby Bridge Hotel & Leisure Centre 3 Night New Year Break in Newby Bridge wrote this review.

At first sight the hotel look good but we found that we were stationed in the annex which was a short walk from the hotel and the room was cramped we were relocated to the main hotel for the 2nd See More  Read more information night to an very good room. The food at the hotel was amazing for all meals. Just small issues otherwise a very pleasant stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
Keswick  
Lake Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beech Hill Hotel

Stay Date: 04/02/17, a customer aged 25-44 from Gb who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night BB Offer + Windermere Cruise) in Windermere wrote this review.

Lovely hotel with excellent views. Lovely pubs all close by. A lovely way to spend a weekend with my new partner! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cruise  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The lake raj  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely relaxing break in the Lakes

Stay Date: 06/02/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Regent Hotel in Ambleside wrote this review.

The Regent was a lively hotel to enjoy the Lakes from. Location and facilities all great, room comfortable and breakfast fabulous for choice and service. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Keswick  
Hawkshead  
Fell Walking  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Our Lakes Stay

Stay Date: 22/02/17, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

The hotel and location was lovely. We've stayed in that hotel loads of times, it was our first time of having breakfast with our stay and we thought there wasn't much choice there, but we also had See More  Read more information evening meal and we thought the choice for evening meal was fab. Even thought we booked a table for 7 o'clock and we was still waiting at 7.45pm because they where short staffed, so that was a bit of adisappointment. Kendal and Ambleside out stunning places.. and lots of history to them too and lovely places to eat. If you have time you should visit them. Overall it was a fab mini break with myboyfriend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside  
Kendal  
Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Hotel  
Jade Delight  
The Alpine  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 461 - 470 of 745 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001435 @ 08/11/2017 09:41:29

Last rendered @ 20/11/2017 02:01:08

Last rendered @ 20/11/2017 02:01:08

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.