Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 727

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Relaxing break

Stay Date: 25/11/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa Non Refundable (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

We had a very enjoyable stay at the hotel with an excellent 3 course meal on the 1st night. The staff were very attentive and the hotel in beautiful surroundings. My only reservation is the number See More  Read more information of stairs we had to ascend to get to the lounge/bar/restaurant. We were in a low number room and would have seriously struggled with the stairs had we been in any way infirm.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
Ambleside  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
You & Me Chinese  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely stay in Kendal

Stay Date: 13/12/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Uk who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal wrote this review.

Arrived in Kendal, there was a light covering of snow, checked in at 15.00 hrs after looking round the shops. Hotel staff very friendly and efficient and welcoming. Had a table reserved in See More  Read more information restaurant, food was just average and not much choice, however very reasonably priced for what we received. We could have eaten out in Kendal as plenty of pubs and restaurants within waking distance. Dinnerwas part of our Superbreak deal though... if I were to stay at the Riverside again I would probably choose room only or bed and breakfast.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kendal Town Centre  
Westmorland Serrvices  
Orton Chocolate Factory and tearoom  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Emmas Yard in Kendal its a tearoom  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Christmas break

Stay Date: 24/12/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel 3 Night Christmas Break in Kendal wrote this review.

Lovely to get away for Christmas and enjoy meals made for us. Time to relax and unwind in our room with Christmas TV; helpful of the hotel to provide Christmas listings guides. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Countryside  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Celebrations

Stay Date: 22/03/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Bolton who stayed at 3* The Regent Hotel (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ambleside wrote this review.

We had a great time celebrating our wedding anniversary at The Regent Hotel Ambleside. We had a room upgrade, the staff are very friendly, prices for food and drinks is reasonable. In walking See More  Read more information distance of Ambleside village. The restaurant is bright and airy and evening meal and breakfast were first class. We will certainly book again to stay at this hotel   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Ambleside wedding

Stay Date: 26/06/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Regent Hotel (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ambleside wrote this review.

Tied in visit to Ambleside with a wedding. Regent Hotel room and food excellent. Was within easy walking distance to shops etc. Great location next to lake. Hotel very clean and staff efficient. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

3 days of leisure at The Lakes

Stay Date: 01/09/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Uk who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

Craig Manor Hotel with a lake view room lived up to its name. A member of our party had walking difficulties but the hotel was accessible with a ground floor room. Plenty of parking space with See More  Read more information helpful staff. Breakfast was very good and served in a pleasant dining room with lake views. Really well located between Windermere and Bowness on Windermere on the main road with an easy walk into Bownesson Windermere. Unfortunately two consecutive nights the hotel had no steaks so had to dine elsewhere.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake Windermere Cruise  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Watersedge Inn Ambleside  
Skiddaw hotel Keswick  
John Pell Bowness on Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shame about the noise

Stay Date: 19/11/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa Non Refundable (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Lovely hotel in a splendid location overlooking Lake Windermere. The only thing that ruined our stay was the noisy people in the room next to us. Television on very loud both nights until gone one See More  Read more information in the morning and very loud snoring from the same room and very loud talking! The walls were very very thin! Spoke to reception staff about it but was told there was nothing they could do.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A golden nugget of a hotel

Stay Date: 19/11/15, a customer aged 65+ from Ilkley who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

We have stayed here many times and the standard of this hotel is very good. The hotel is for those who seek a quiet stay and not a place for young families, although they are welcomed. The beauty of See More  Read more information this place is the tranquillity of the surroundings set above Lake Windermere, the peacefulness of the main public areas of the hotel and the warm heated rooms everywhere that make it so welcoming.The food is excellent and the staff are attentive and helpful. We have stayed in many hotels and find this one that still hold good memories.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wild & Co Windermere  
Lucy's on a Plate Ambleside  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Stay at Newby Bridge

Stay Date: 31/01/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Newby Bridge Hotel & Leisure Centre in Newby Bridge wrote this review.

Good break - hotel in good location and restaurant food was very good. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Motor Museum  
lakeland wildlife oasis  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent Valentine's retreat

Stay Date: 13/02/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa in Bowness-on-Windermere wrote this review.

The room was superb with large bedroom, dressing room and large bathroom. The only disappointment was that the hot water was in short supply that evening. The full English breakfast was delicious, See More  Read more information with added choice of fruits, cereals and pastries. The view over the lake from all the main rooms is wonderful. One of my favourite places to stay. Great place to visit the south lakes.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Francines  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 461 - 470 of 727 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100637 @ 17/08/2017 08:58:35

Last rendered @ 20/08/2017 18:12:42

Last rendered @ 20/08/2017 18:12:42

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.