Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 749

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Good Day in Lake District

Stay Date: 09/10/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel (2 Nt/1st Night Dinner + Windermere Cruise) in Windermere wrote this review.

Beautiful hotel in fantastic surroundings, spa was second to none, food in hotel restaurant was quality. Staff very friendly. SuperBreak team arranged it all very good. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beech Hill Hotel

Stay Date: 04/02/17, a customer aged 25-44 from Gb who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night BB Offer + Windermere Cruise) in Windermere wrote this review.

Lovely hotel with excellent views. Lovely pubs all close by. A lovely way to spend a weekend with my new partner! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cruise  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The lake raj  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely relaxing break in the Lakes

Stay Date: 06/02/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Regent Hotel in Ambleside wrote this review.

The Regent was a lively hotel to enjoy the Lakes from. Location and facilities all great, room comfortable and breakfast fabulous for choice and service. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Keswick  
Hawkshead  
Fell Walking  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Our Lakes Stay

Stay Date: 22/02/17, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

The hotel and location was lovely. We've stayed in that hotel loads of times, it was our first time of having breakfast with our stay and we thought there wasn't much choice there, but we also had See More  Read more information evening meal and we thought the choice for evening meal was fab. Even thought we booked a table for 7 o'clock and we was still waiting at 7.45pm because they where short staffed, so that was a bit of adisappointment. Kendal and Ambleside out stunning places.. and lots of history to them too and lovely places to eat. If you have time you should visit them. Overall it was a fab mini break with myboyfriend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside  
Kendal  
Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Hotel  
Jade Delight  
The Alpine  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely hotel

Stay Date: 19/03/17, a customer aged 65+ from Stoke-On-Trent who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Very good. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely Lake Windermere shame about the weather.

Stay Date: 30/03/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa in Bowness-on-Windermere wrote this review.

We had a very nice stay at the Old England Hotel Windermere. There was a bit of a mix up at reception about our booking. The older man on reception was not very helpful. However a very nice young See More  Read more information man sorted the mix up out. Other staff were very very helpful. The drinks were very expensive £12 for a175ml glass of Sauvignon Blanc! All in all a very nice stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Italian  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great relax

Stay Date: 06/04/17, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Newby Bridge Hotel & Leisure Centre in Newby Bridge wrote this review.

Wonderful stay in South Lakes. Friendly and welcoming hotel. Thanks. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Fell foot park  
Brockle hole  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beautiful view of Windermere

Stay Date: 15/05/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night BB Offer + Windermere Cruise) in Windermere wrote this review.

A pleasant stay for a couple of nights - best feature was the beautiful view of Windermere as you enjoy breakfast. We were upgraded to lake view in our room which was lovely with chairs outside See More  Read more information window. Room a little dated and tired but fine. Breakfast good range. Staff were friendly and efficient.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blue Islands boat trip  
Viewing platform at Claife with aeolean harp  
Hilltop house Beatrix Potter's home  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short break in the Lake District

Stay Date: 26/08/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Bedford who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel (2 Nt/1st Night Dinner + Windermere Cruise) in Windermere wrote this review.

Plenty of parking. Ideal position overlooking the lake. The spa facilities very clean and modern and some of the pampering seemed well priced. The swimming pool, steam room, sauna and spa were See More  Read more information nice facilities to have available. The restaurant is well above average and the staff are attentive and menu was versatile. Standard rooms are not large but options for suites exist. The furnishingsare not fresh - rustic and comfortable. Externally, work is needed and internals in some places could do with bringing up to date. The staff were helpful and polite. We enjoyed all our meals and thefood was well presented and of good quality and choices. From what we could see, most rooms faced toward the lake and many had mini terrace facilities. In summary, a value for money short break in avery picturesque area. We enjoyed our stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Keswick  
Bowness - boat trip  
Troutbeck  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Stepping stone to the lakes

Stay Date: 14/09/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Our hotel was perfectly situated as a stepping stone to visit many of the lakes and enjoy the picturesque hill walks. The inclusion of an indoor swimming pool was also ideal to ease the aching limbs See More  Read more information when returning from a long day out.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Elterwater  
Grassmere  
rydal lake  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 461 - 470 of 749 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001573 @ 03/01/2018 09:05:40

Last rendered @ 22/01/2018 08:39:02

Last rendered @ 22/01/2018 08:39:02

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.