Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 727

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Walking in the Lakes

Stay Date: 24/01/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Stockton-On-Tees who stayed at 3* Macdonald Swan Hotel in Grasmere wrote this review.

The Swan is a great location for a variety of walks around Keswick, Grasmere and Ambleside. Good rooms and food. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside  
Derwentwater  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jumble Room  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent weekend at The Wild Boar Inn Lake District

Stay Date: 28/02/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* The Wild Boar Inn (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Fab time at the Wild Boar Inn. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wild Boar Inn  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Stay in Lancaster

Stay Date: 05/03/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Glasgow who stayed at 4* Lancaster House Hotel in Lancaster wrote this review.

Hotel was very comfortable and staff friendly. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blackpool  
Lancaster  
Morecambe  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Waterhead Hotel fantastic

Stay Date: 17/03/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Waterhead Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ambleside wrote this review.

We stayed at the Waterhead Hotel in Ambleside. The room we stayed in was great with underfloor heating and contemporary style. The meals were of the highest standard. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Waterhead  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great days in the lakes

Stay Date: 20/03/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa in Bowness-on-Windermere wrote this review.

The stay in the Lakes was enhanced by the fact that the hotel and staff were fantastic the hotel was very well placed and the staff were so attentive. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Anniversary Break

Stay Date: 24/03/14, a customer aged 25-44 from Sale who stayed at 4* Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Bowness-on-Windermere wrote this review.

A great surprise for my partner, he likes the lake district so it was a great place to stay. He liked the position of the hotel with great views. We ate in the restaurant on our first night the food See More  Read more information was excellent with lots to choose, staff friendly but not in your face - we had a three course meal wine and port. Lovely big room great shower comfortable bed. Its all about the breakfast in myman's world, he didn't know what to have so over the two days I think he tried most things. The cooked breakfast used local products which made it very tasty. I would like to say what a great time in alovely place.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good day at Windermere

Stay Date: 05/04/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

A relaxing time no phones good food nice hotel. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Damson dene experience

Stay Date: 15/04/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Damson Dene Hotel & Leisure Club in Crosthwaite (Nr. Bowness) wrote this review.

We stayed at the Damson Dene so we had a base near to the South Lakes Zoo (which is excellent and well worth visiting). The hotel is in desperate need of paint and a deep clean. Our room was dirty See More  Read more information although the beds were comfy. The swimming pool was 'broken' but had been this way for weeks - the boiler has broken so the water was freezing cold. Breakfast was ok but the evening meals wereextortionate and of poor quality (take a trip to the Masons Arms down the road for more reasonable prices and far superior food).   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cartmel  
Lake Windermere  
South lakes zoo  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Masons Arms  
Damson dene  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Quick trip to the Lakes

Stay Date: 26/04/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

We went for a quiet, relaxing 2 days away to celebrate our 29th wedding anniversary. The hotel was perfect for this set in a rural location. The room, which was clean and inviting, was large with See More  Read more information patio doors onto a garden terrace. The view of the lake was superb. We ate in the hotel the food was lovely, well cooked and presented. The staff were all helpful checking regularly if we neededanything. There was plenty of choice at breakfast. The lounge/bar area was furnished with comfortable chairs and sofas perfect for a "do nothing" break away. There was a pool however we did not make use ofit. We would be happy to stay at the hotel again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness on Windermer  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Wild Boar hotel

Stay Date: 17/05/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Morpeth who stayed at 4* The Wild Boar Inn (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Very nice comfortable room lots of stairs maybe difficult for older guests. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 381 - 390 of 727 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100637 @ 17/08/2017 08:40:12

Last rendered @ 19/08/2017 19:58:39

Last rendered @ 19/08/2017 19:58:39

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.