Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 745

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Lake District Excursion

Stay Date: 18/07/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Hotel was fantastic, we were upgraded to the Ruskin suite, from a premier plus room, the trip was a romantic wknd for me and my girlfriend. There was plenty to do and see, being an older hotel some See More  Read more information things were tired and needed mending but the views were stunning from our room and overall experience was excellent, walk down to the jetty, picnic tables, sun terrace and do not forget the swimmingpool. Want a luxury feel, go here.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Keswick  
Wray Castle  
Bo'ness on Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Village bar Bo'ness  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Grasmere

Stay Date: 02/08/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Barrow-In-Furness who stayed at 4* The Daffodil Hotel & Spa in Grasmere wrote this review.

The Hotel was lovely loved pictures, food was really lovely. But the check in was not very good they gave us key to someone else's room. Bar area in restaurant to small. Not enough seating in See More  Read more information downstairs bar. The sitting room is is bizarre, not cosy at all, would maybe be better if had bar and some better seating.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Wedding anniversary in the Lakes

Stay Date: 12/09/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

As we went to our room staff were cleaning other rooms...this happens, fine....but the piles of sheets along the corridor were NOT a welcome site. Surely one pile or even a work station would have See More  Read more information done. On a lighter note, the restaurant staff were lovely as was the food, so much so we ate there two nights. The room was clean , tidy and comfortable and the view was very good. To be able tosit on the terrace late afternoon having a drink with the superb view of the lake was brilliant. Overall a wonderful two night break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windermere Boat Trip  
Ullswater  
Wrey Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Costa Coffee  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Hotel, need to up service

Stay Date: 30/09/14, a customer aged 25-44 from Newcastle Upon Tyne who stayed at 4* Laura Ashley The Belsfield Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

This hotel without doubt has had a great refurb. It feels grand and regal. Our room a little small and overlooked a disused backyard, not great. However drinks in the garden overlooking Lake See More  Read more information Windermere simply stunning. Only problem is the staff. All need to up their service game. Just simple 'Good Morning' would be a start.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
Ambleside  
Lake Cruise  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Riva  
Jackson Bistro  
Hyltons  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beech Hill Hotel

Stay Date: 03/10/14, a customer aged 65+ from Ormskirk who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

A very nice but expensive hotel with wonderful scenic views. We had to climb two flights of quite steep stairs to reach ground level for the restaurant and bar. There are no lifts. Not recommended See More  Read more information for people who are not reasonably fit or elderly. Food very good, drinks overpriced. Decor and surroundings excellent.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
white inn  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lakeside

Stay Date: 02/11/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Lakeside Hotel in Windermere (Newby Bridge) wrote this review.

The hotel was beautiful lots of character and charm. Our room was a good size the down side would be the bed.it was a zip and link so basically 2 single mattresses zipped together .not very See More  Read more information comfortable at all as the beds are really soft and then you keep rolling into the centre. Attention to detail was lacking in the room as well. Spiderwebs behind bedside lamps, we had to ask for slippersand the second day the tea and coffee making facilities were not replenished. We stayed 3 nights and our bed linen was not changed once. The bar was full of character and had a beautiful burningfire . We chose the casual dining experience .the pool and sauna were very nice however unfortunately the steam room was being retiled when we were there so couldn't use. The breakfast was very nice,lots of choice. The curtains in the formal dining room need to be cleaned though as soiled with food and drink. The upkeep of the plants and flower arrangements need a mention, not only are theviews fantastic but the plants and flowers incredibly well maintained and cared for. The staff all friendly and helpful.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Boat Tour  
Walking Tour  
train  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great weekend

Stay Date: 25/10/14, a customer aged 45-64 from St Helens who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Staff excellent, food excellent, location good, need taxi down into Windermere. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing break

Stay Date: 25/11/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

We had a very enjoyable stay at the hotel with an excellent 3 course meal on the 1st night. The staff were very attentive and the hotel in beautiful surroundings. My only reservation is the number See More  Read more information of stairs we had to ascend to get to the lounge/bar/restaurant. We were in a low number room and would have seriously struggled with the stairs had we been in any way infirm.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
Ambleside  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
You & Me Chinese  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Pleasant overnight stay in the Beech Hill Hotel

Stay Date: 28/11/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

The hotel was perfectly located to explore the Windermere area. The staff were very friendly and the food in the restaurant was very good. We felt that the decor looked tired and could do with a See More  Read more information refurbishment, albeit we had a comfortable stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Poor Christmas Day Lunch Experience

Stay Date: 24/12/14, a customer aged 65+ from Stockton-On-Tees who stayed at 3* Newby Bridge Hotel & Leisure Centre 3 Night Christmas Break in Newby Bridge wrote this review.

Food good as usual but not as successful as 2012 when we stayed previously. The shower failed to work from Christmas Day. The hotel was full (total not capped as in previous years) and they had See More  Read more information extra guests in the bar, which meant that lunch on Christmas Day was delayed for many guests despite having booked a time slot due to kitchen's inability to cope with the numbers. We ate an hour late,served in the bar extension by the bar manager Brian, as we were out of sight so out of mind and seated next to the Huntsman's Inn door which was in full use, not the nice Garden View Restaurantexperience expected. One party of six waited in the bar to be served and did not go into the restaurant until at least 15.45. Compliments to Paul who did his best to keep the dining room moving on ChristmasDay but this was a very disappointing Christmas experience.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stag Garden Centre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 381 - 390 of 745 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001435 @ 08/11/2017 08:02:57

Last rendered @ 19/11/2017 15:47:25

Last rendered @ 19/11/2017 15:47:25

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.