Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 749

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Great weekend

Stay Date: 25/10/14, a customer aged 45-64 from St Helens who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Staff excellent, food excellent, location good, need taxi down into Windermere. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing break

Stay Date: 25/11/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

We had a very enjoyable stay at the hotel with an excellent 3 course meal on the 1st night. The staff were very attentive and the hotel in beautiful surroundings. My only reservation is the number See More  Read more information of stairs we had to ascend to get to the lounge/bar/restaurant. We were in a low number room and would have seriously struggled with the stairs had we been in any way infirm.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
Ambleside  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
You & Me Chinese  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Pleasant overnight stay in the Beech Hill Hotel

Stay Date: 28/11/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

The hotel was perfectly located to explore the Windermere area. The staff were very friendly and the food in the restaurant was very good. We felt that the decor looked tired and could do with a See More  Read more information refurbishment, albeit we had a comfortable stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

At leisure in the Lakes.

Stay Date: 22/02/15, a customer aged 65+ from Manchester who stayed at 4* The Daffodil Hotel & Spa in Grasmere wrote this review.

Daffodil Hotel and Spa. Super modern Spa Hotel. Situated in Grasmere. ideal for walking, hiking or just exercise with fabulous scenery, well situated to get to all the surrounding Lakes and tourist See More  Read more information attractions. A very pleasant and enjoyable break, especially with the relaxing Spa facilities.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Celebrations

Stay Date: 22/03/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Bolton who stayed at 3* The Regent Hotel (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ambleside wrote this review.

We had a great time celebrating our wedding anniversary at The Regent Hotel Ambleside. We had a room upgrade, the staff are very friendly, prices for food and drinks is reasonable. In walking See More  Read more information distance of Ambleside village. The restaurant is bright and airy and evening meal and breakfast were first class. We will certainly book again to stay at this hotel   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Really Good Hotel

Stay Date: 06/06/15, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* The Regent Hotel (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ambleside wrote this review.

We recently had a 2 night stay in The Regent Hotel Ambleside with an evening meal on the first night. We upgraded to a superior double room which was really nice and spacious! Shower was See More  Read more information excellent!! The evening meal was really nice and you got to choose off the daily menu or al la carte menu. Breakfast menu was the best I've seen in any hotel I have stayed in. Great location down by the lake,although Ambleside was a good 10-15 minute walk away.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Regent Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic hotel, stunning lake views

Stay Date: 13/06/15, a customer aged 25-44 from Brighouse who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

A lovely weekend break staying in the lakes at the Beach Hill Hotel after taking part in the Great North Swim. Family room was possibly the largest family room I've ever seen with breathtaking views See More  Read more information of the lake. Staff were fantastic and very friendly and helpful and the pool was lovely and clean and we all enjoyed a nice swim. Breakfast was self service and very tasty with a fantastic selection.Even our two almost teenage boys were full. A fab setting and a delightful hotel. Will hopefully be back on our own for a romantic weekend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal Oak Pub  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Refreshing Break at Lakeside

Stay Date: 11/08/15, a customer aged 65+ from Sheffield who stayed at 4* Lakeside Hotel in Windermere (Newby Bridge) wrote this review.

Just what my daughter and I needed! A well run hotel in a delightful setting serving great food with a comfortable, well-equipped and serviced room. Wonderful bonus - spa and pool. Relaxing boat See More  Read more information trip to save driving to Bowness where Beatrix Potter attraction is - amazing.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Holker Hall  
Cartmel  
Lake Windermere Steamer  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Punch Bowl Crossthwaite  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great hotel ideally situated

Stay Date: 14/08/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Durham who stayed at 4* Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa in Ambleside wrote this review.

The hotel is situated in the centre of Ambleside which is a great town to visit. The rooms are clean and the staff were very friendly. There is a Jacuzzi and hot tub but it is hard to get in when See More  Read more information there are a lot of people in the facility. The food is good. If you book direct with the hotel it is considerably cheaper. We could have had an upgraded room with a balcony for what we paid for astandard room!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside Town  
Centre of Lake district  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
White Lion  
Ambleside Spa hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Windermere

Stay Date: 12/08/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

A piece of paradise .So much has been written about this hotel and the peace and tranquillity to be found within its walls that I find it impossible to enhance those viewpoints. I can however bear See More  Read more information witness as to the truth of those words.This is a tiny piece of heaven in God's own country.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lakeland Store  
Bowness boat hire  
fellfoot park  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
lindeth howe hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 381 - 390 of 749 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001573 @ 03/01/2018 08:52:01

Last rendered @ 23/01/2018 21:51:56

Last rendered @ 23/01/2018 21:51:56

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.