Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 733

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Great days in the lakes

Stay Date: 20/03/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa in Bowness-on-Windermere wrote this review.

The stay in the Lakes was enhanced by the fact that the hotel and staff were fantastic the hotel was very well placed and the staff were so attentive. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Anniversary Break

Stay Date: 24/03/14, a customer aged 25-44 from Sale who stayed at 4* Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Bowness-on-Windermere wrote this review.

A great surprise for my partner, he likes the lake district so it was a great place to stay. He liked the position of the hotel with great views. We ate in the restaurant on our first night the food See More  Read more information was excellent with lots to choose, staff friendly but not in your face - we had a three course meal wine and port. Lovely big room great shower comfortable bed. Its all about the breakfast in myman's world, he didn't know what to have so over the two days I think he tried most things. The cooked breakfast used local products which made it very tasty. I would like to say what a great time in alovely place.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good day at Windermere

Stay Date: 05/04/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

A relaxing time no phones good food nice hotel. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Damson dene experience

Stay Date: 15/04/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Damson Dene Hotel & Leisure Club in Crosthwaite (Nr. Bowness) wrote this review.

We stayed at the Damson Dene so we had a base near to the South Lakes Zoo (which is excellent and well worth visiting). The hotel is in desperate need of paint and a deep clean. Our room was dirty See More  Read more information although the beds were comfy. The swimming pool was 'broken' but had been this way for weeks - the boiler has broken so the water was freezing cold. Breakfast was ok but the evening meals wereextortionate and of poor quality (take a trip to the Masons Arms down the road for more reasonable prices and far superior food).   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cartmel  
Lake Windermere  
South lakes zoo  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Masons Arms  
Damson dene  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Quick trip to the Lakes

Stay Date: 26/04/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

We went for a quiet, relaxing 2 days away to celebrate our 29th wedding anniversary. The hotel was perfect for this set in a rural location. The room, which was clean and inviting, was large with See More  Read more information patio doors onto a garden terrace. The view of the lake was superb. We ate in the hotel the food was lovely, well cooked and presented. The staff were all helpful checking regularly if we neededanything. There was plenty of choice at breakfast. The lounge/bar area was furnished with comfortable chairs and sofas perfect for a "do nothing" break away. There was a pool however we did not make use ofit. We would be happy to stay at the hotel again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness on Windermer  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Wild Boar hotel

Stay Date: 17/05/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Morpeth who stayed at 4* The Wild Boar Inn (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Very nice comfortable room lots of stairs maybe difficult for older guests. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

On the lake

Stay Date: 06/07/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Great break fantastic food great room great cocktails great staff lovely view of lake. No moans just superbreak. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent weekend break

Stay Date: 11/07/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Bingley who stayed at 4* Waterhead Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ambleside wrote this review.

Spent a relaxing weekend in a lovely hotel in great location with friendly, efficient staff. Room was compact but perfectly adequate, clean and comfortable. Nice touches with robes and slippers See More  Read more information provided, good quality toiletries and turn down service. We had our evening meal on first night included in package and was really impressed at choice and quality. Excellent meal but make sure you haveplenty of room! Breakfasts were good with plenty of options to suit everyone. Excellent location and with the perfect weather the views from the hotel were fantastic. A very short walk to the ferry madea lake cruise and stop off in Bowness a good day out. If you don't fancy the slightly uphill walk into the centre of Ambleside, there is a regular shuttle bus during the day from the ferry to the topof the town. A good selection of shops, bars and restaurants and the walk back is very do able. Overall a good value break in a very comfortable hotel, in a very good location. Will definitelyreturn.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
Lake Cruise  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lake District Excursion

Stay Date: 18/07/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Hotel was fantastic, we were upgraded to the Ruskin suite, from a premier plus room, the trip was a romantic wknd for me and my girlfriend. There was plenty to do and see, being an older hotel some See More  Read more information things were tired and needed mending but the views were stunning from our room and overall experience was excellent, walk down to the jetty, picnic tables, sun terrace and do not forget the swimmingpool. Want a luxury feel, go here.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Keswick  
Wray Castle  
Bo'ness on Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Village bar Bo'ness  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Grasmere

Stay Date: 02/08/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Barrow-In-Furness who stayed at 4* The Daffodil Hotel & Spa in Grasmere wrote this review.

The Hotel was lovely loved pictures, food was really lovely. But the check in was not very good they gave us key to someone else's room. Bar area in restaurant to small. Not enough seating in See More  Read more information downstairs bar. The sitting room is is bizarre, not cosy at all, would maybe be better if had bar and some better seating.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 381 - 390 of 733 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100699 @ 24/08/2017 10:04:41

Last rendered @ 20/09/2017 17:37:01

Last rendered @ 20/09/2017 17:37:01

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.