Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 745

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Ambleside

Stay Date: 15/10/07, a customer from Nantwich who stayed at 4* Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa in Ambleside rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere  
Ullswater  
Hill Top Cottage  
Hawkshead  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lucy's of Ambleside  
Stampers  
 
 

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 02/11/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

We just took in the local scenery See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windermere Local Scenery  
Grisewood Forest  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Postilion Restaurant, Bowness-on-Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Warm Welcome

Stay Date: 07/11/07, a customer from Huddersfield who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

The hotel was wonderful! All the staff were very friendly and they made our stay enjoyable. Our 1yr daughter was made to feel welcome too. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windermere  
Keswick  
Ambleside  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The Lakes

Stay Date: 05/11/07, a customer from Filey who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

The Beech hill hotel with stunning views of lake Windermere from our room and set in a peacefull, relaxing enviorment is the ideal place to unwind. The scenery around the Lake District is breath See More  Read more information taking from any angel no matter where you seem to be, even the drive to the lakes is a pleasant experience. The small towns of Ambleside, keswick and Windermere are brilliant places to walk around, dineout and see historic features. If your looking for somewhere to forget about your troubles and relax then the Lake District is the perfect place to stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness-on-Windermere/Ambleside Boat Trip  
Keswick & Kendal  
Holker Hall Motor Museum  
Barrow-in-Furness  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hole in the Wall  
Swan Inn  
Poppys  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Newby Bridge

Stay Date: 17/11/07, a customer from Whitehaven who stayed at 3* Newby Bridge Hotel & Leisure Centre in Newby Bridge rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 02/02/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere  
Ambleside  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Villa Positano  
 
 

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 03/02/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Puzzle Museum  
 
 

A Lovely 3 Night Break

Stay Date: 10/02/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Lancaster House Hotel in Lancaster wrote this review.

We recently enjoyed a wonderful break at the Lancaster House hotel, the spa and health facilities were excellent, managed to take a dip on 4 occasions throughtout our 4 day break, the outdoor hot See More  Read more information tub definately a bonus and steam room. The hotel staff were very helpful, we even managed to have a look into a suite for our next stay, there will definately be a return visit to this hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Butterfly House  
Morecambe  
Lancaster Castle Tour  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wetherspoons, Eric Bartholomew  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Christmas in Ambleside

Stay Date: 24/12/06, a customer who stayed at 4* Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa in Ambleside wrote this review.

For the first time in 35 years of marriage my husband and I decided to spend Christmas away from the family opting for a break at the Salutation. We were welcomed with afternoon tea on Christmas Eve See More  Read more information and this was the start of three wonderful days. Food was superb as were the friendly staff. The entertainment, trip on Windermere, leisure facilities, all made this a most enjoyable way to spendChristmas - and no washing up!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Perfect Long Weekend

Stay Date: 24/01/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Lakeside Hotel in Windermere (Newby Bridge) wrote this review.

We needed a break and it was my husband's birthday so we spoiled ourselves! He has always loved the lakes and we wanted to ride Clydesdale horses (amazing horses, willing, responsive and speedy). See More  Read more information The hotel spoiled us from the moment we arrived, the pool and spa area are spacious, immaculate and robes are available in the room for the walk down. It looks when you arrive as if parking may be aproblem, but the hotel have that all in hand, and boats and aquarium are on the doorstep. The bistro was closed for work when we were there (well January and it has to be done sometime) but the food wasremarkable, and bistro menu was available. We had the restaurant meal on the Saturday night and it rated with some of the best restaurants we have visited. Sandwiches at lunch may seem a bit pricey,but the standards are high, and lots of little extras seem to be included. Definitely feel we got what we paid for...go there if you want to be spoiled in 1st class comfort.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cumbrian Heavy Horses  
Lake Windermere Boat Trip  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pub, Newby Bridge  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 351 - 360 of 745 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001475 @ 22/11/2017 09:43:16

Last rendered @ 23/11/2017 23:54:26

Last rendered @ 23/11/2017 23:54:26

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.