Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 749

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 04/03/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Coniston Water and surrounding area  
 
 

Chill Out Lake break

Stay Date: 10/03/09, a customer from Lichfield who stayed at 4* Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa in Bowness-on-Windermere wrote this review.

On the spur of the moment we decided to take a short break in the Lake district.Having used superbreak on numerous occasions we knew that the hotel would be clean comfortable and well situated, We See More  Read more information stayed at the Old England hotel Bowness which sat at the edge of Windermere. Breakfast was taken overlooking the lake watching the ducks and swans Our time was spent touring around and eating , fromthe lovely home made cakes at the cafe nearby to a wholesome cooked dinner with excellent friendly service at the resteraunt around the corner   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Thai resteraunt Bowness  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Overall Review of MacDonald Old England

Stay Date: 06/03/09, a customer from Bolton who stayed at 4* Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa in Bowness-on-Windermere wrote this review.

The front of house staff were keen to greet us and the check-in was very efficient. Hotel lounge area was lovely and it is obvious that a lot of money has been invested into the hotel. Overall, the See More  Read more information hotel is in a great location for wandering around Bowness and the staff are really welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed it and would stay there again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Newby Bridge Hotel, Windermere

Stay Date: 16/03/09, a customer who stayed at 3* Newby Bridge Hotel & Leisure Centre in Newby Bridge wrote this review.

The hotel we stayed in was dated but was clean and had a cosy atmosphere. The pool, jacuzzi and steam room were nice but the gym was very small. The restaurant foofd was great and the staff were See More  Read more information very friendly and professional. The area was very quiet which we liked and was only a 15 min drive into Bowness which was full of lovely restaurants and bars. We thoroughly enjoyed our week there.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Thai Restaurant - Jindhana, Bowness Windermere  
Bodega Tapas Restaurant, Bowness Windermere  
The Hylton Restaurant, Bowness Windermere  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 16/03/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe in Windermere rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 20/03/09, a customer from Ballymena who stayed at 4* The Wild Boar Inn in Windermere rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break in Windemere

Stay Date: 23/03/09, a customer from Midlothian who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe in Windermere rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hilltop  
Coniston water  
Cinema in Bowness  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal Oak  
Thai in Bowness  
 
 

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 23/03/09, a customer from Brighton who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe in Windermere rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Wonderful Relaxing Ambleside

Stay Date: 25/03/09, a customer from Newton Aycliffe who stayed at 4* Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa in Ambleside wrote this review.

Hotel was brilliant the pool and sauna the best i have seen in this country.The room was spacious and a nice flat screen tv was provided if you had nothing else to do.The breakfast was very good all See More  Read more information the best cumberland ingredients very nice.This hotel is ideally located in the centre of ambleside with the pubs within 2 minutes walk but not a noisy location .The town has a good selection ofeateries from pubs to top class resteraunts we opted for an indain however as i have an addiction to currys all in all top class.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Sagore Indian Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Day Travelling Around the Lakes

Stay Date: 01/04/09, a customer who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

We stayed at Craig Manor Hotel in Bowness. The Hotel was listed on the net as a 3* but my husband and I felt it deserved a far better rating. The location was lovely set back of the main road with See More  Read more information gardens to the rear of the hotel for which we were fortunate to have a view of from our window and able to watch the birds making their nests in early April. The breakfast was very good and staff werevery attentive and polite. The room was warm and inviting and decorated nice with a very clean modern bathroom. Our only complaint was the bed was too hard for us to enjoy a good sleep.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Keswick  
Honister Pass  
Buttermere  
Grassmere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windermere Marine Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 291 - 300 of 749 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001573 @ 03/01/2018 08:52:01

Last rendered @ 21/01/2018 12:42:06

Last rendered @ 21/01/2018 12:42:06

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.