Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 739

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 14/11/07, a customer from Towcester who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windermere  
Keswick Market  
Kirkstone Pass inn  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beech Hill Hotel Room Service  
 
 

Brief Encounter in the Lake District.

Stay Date: 11/01/08, a customer from Newton Stewart who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal wrote this review.

My wife and I live at opposite ends of the country - due to work. I rent a place and work in Hampshire whilst our home is in Scotland. We have occasional romantic weekends in the Lake District, See More  Read more information where we meet in the middle. This weekend we visited the Carnforth Exhibition at Carnforth railway station, made famous by the film Brief Encounter (1940's). This made for a romantic weekend for our veryown Brief Encounter and my wife and I our looking forwards to our next Brief Encounter in The Lake District. Brilliant weekend many thanks.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Carnforth Railway Exhibition  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Spanish in Kendal  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 02/02/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere  
Ambleside  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Villa Positano  
 
 

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 03/02/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Puzzle Museum  
 
 

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 09/02/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

The room we were allocated was in a poorly decorated and tired state. There was a nasty smell in the corridor to the room. The plumbing in the neighbouring rooms was very noisy.The stair carpet upto See More  Read more information the main hotel was ripped/worn out in several places. The bar was expensive.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in the Lakes

Stay Date: 17/02/08, a customer from Stirling who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

A wonderful 3 nights in a great location. We were extremely lucky with the weather - cold and frosty at night but brilliant clear sunshine during the days - ideal for walking and admiring the See More  Read more information stunning scenery.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lucy4@The Porthole, Bowness-on-Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The Beech Hill Hotel

Stay Date: 25/04/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

The Hotel room was very nice. We dined at the Restaurant Friday night and Saturday Night and the food was excellent. Was dissapointed on Sunday morning after breakfast when we went to reserve our See More  Read more information restaurant table for Sunday evening - only to be told that the restaurant was closed as it was being used for a private function - a wedding reception. As this was their only restaurant and no privatefunction suite available it was dissapointing that hotel guests were "locked out of the restaurant that evening"! Also the hotel entrance was on a busy curved main road with traffic whizzing by and nopavements either side - like a country road - therefore going out for walks was practically impossible without risk of being run over. We had the car but this break was planned to leave the car fromarrival to departure and do some walking around. With no way of going for walks and no resaurant available to dine that evening we decided to check out Sunday lunchtime as there was no point hangingabout just for Monday breakfast!!. Therefore we lost out on our prepaid half price sunday night saver.I would have to check more thoroughly in future the location of any hotel and ensure that diningfacilities were available for the period of our stay...or at least some local restaurants we could walk to.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Windermere

Stay Date: 13/06/08, a customer from Crewe who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

The hotel was situated on the banks of Windermere Lake, 3 miles from Bowness. It whad a glorious view from the balcony, which could also be seen from the room, the resturant and the bar. The hotel See More  Read more information itself was very nice, but the room was not up to much, and was smaller than our 2nd bedroom at home. However the breakfast was nice, and there was plenty of variety. Bowness is a lovely little townwith easy parking. Again this is on the edge of Windermere, and has many 'Tourist' traps to tempt you. From decent shops, nice pubs and out of the way resturants, it was a nice place to spend theevening.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
Furness  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Welcome Break

Stay Date: 25/06/08, a customer from Bilston who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

We love the lakes, and really enjoyed the wonderful scenery 7 waterfalls. one big problem RAIN! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside  
Coniston  
Derwent Water  
Lake Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Village Inn, Bowness on Winderemere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Great Place to Stay in Kendal

Stay Date: 03/07/08, a customer who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 
 

Showing 211 - 220 of 739 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001374 @ 19/10/2017 16:24:53

Last rendered @ 20/10/2017 17:00:47

Last rendered @ 20/10/2017 17:00:47

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.