Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 739

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Couple Of Days Around Windermere

Stay Date: 02/09/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* The Wild Boar Inn (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Excellent hotel with plenty of parking spaces in a nice secluded part of the lake district. Lots of delightful, narrow single carriageway roads to explore. Parking charges everywhere in district See More  Read more information gives a feeling of extortion.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Southern Lakes  
Adjoining Woodland To Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Break

Stay Date: 11/09/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Newby Bridge Hotel & Leisure Centre in Newby Bridge wrote this review.

Lovely setting for hotel although not much to do at night as outside paths of surrounding area were pitch black. Good for visiting kendal on bus with our bus passes. Food in hotel was superb thanks See More  Read more information to chef on well cooked and varied menu.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Grasmere

Stay Date: 14/09/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Macdonald Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Grasmere rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Holiday Inn Lancasaster D/B/B Offer-Great Value

Stay Date: 12/09/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Lancaster (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Lancaster wrote this review.

Excelent value and great staff. Stopped over (2nights) my wife and I on our way back from scotland. Left my telephone number for the manageress and requested a call from her to say how good our stay See More  Read more information was. Still waiting for her to call. Why can't management be as keen as their staff.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Kendal

Stay Date: 12/09/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Long Weekend Break

Stay Date: 26/09/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Newby Bridge Hotel & Leisure Centre in Newby Bridge wrote this review.

Newby bridge hotel is a lovely hotel full of character. Great staff, excellent meals & well situated to get around the south lakes area. Well worth z visit. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
South Lakes Wild Animal Park  
Lake Windermere Cruises  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

An Alternative Hotel!

Stay Date: 29/09/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa in Bowness-on-Windermere wrote this review.

Although we booked the macdonald leeming hotel, it was at very late notice and online, so when we arrived the staff at the hotel were a little surprised to see us. Unfortunately there wasn't room at See More  Read more information the inn for the two night stay, but the staff were excellent and made arrangements for us to stay at an alternative macdonald hotel. We weren't just provided with a room, but upgraded to a gorgeoussuite directly overlooking lake windermere. The old england hotel in bowness on winderemere was just perfect - a better location would be hard to find; the food was wonderful, the facilities excellentand the staff top notch. And we hit on the fantastic indian summer. We just couldn't have asked for more.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Autumn Break In The Lake District

Stay Date: 27/10/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Macdonald Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Grasmere wrote this review.

Birthday treat and hassle-free half term break for primary school headteacher. At least "good" in all respects. Very good value for money. We would definitely go again. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Langdale Pikes - Fell Walking  
Keswick - Shopping  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zefirellis In Ambleside For Coffee.  
Lakeland Pedlar (Keswick)  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relax In Ambleside

Stay Date: 05/11/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Waterhead Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ambleside wrote this review.

We had a relaxing break at the waterhead hotel. The room was excellent and the food was superb. We walked up to high sweden bridge - a steady walk with great views. There are plenty of eating places See More  Read more information in ambleside. We had dinner at the waterside inn which was very good value.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Walk To High Sweden Bridge  
Drive Around Lake Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Waterside Inn  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing Bithday Treat

Stay Date: 13/11/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Bowness-on-Windermere wrote this review.

Luckily we live not far from the beatuiful lake district so have been on many occasions for a day out. This time however we stayed in a lovely hotel and enjoyed the lakes in luxury. The view at See More  Read more information breakfast down the lake was spectacular and each morning the staff were at pains to seat us in order to get the best view. The staff were very helpful and friendly both in the restaurant and at reception.We swam in the beautiful pool (also with views of the lake) before breakfast and used the sauna and steam room. Parking was restricted close to the hotel but we managed to find a space and didn'trequire the valet parking offered by the hotel. In order not to use the car we visited ambleside by boat instead and had a thoughrouly relaxing sail approx 40 min with wonderful scenery much better thantravelling by road. It was a 10min walk into ambleside passing hayes garden centre on the way. Wonderful christmas display and well worth a look. Visited the art gallery on church street nr salutationhotel. The handblown glass is beautiful. Another day we revisited a walk around tarn hows still beautiful and an easy walk taking about an hour on the flat (you can make it more difficult by headingup on to the tops). My only complaint was the cost of the car park, £4 for two hours. It used to be free 20 yrs ago!! we then dropped down into hawkshead looked around the shops and galleries. Apicture book spot. Had some mulled wine in the pub there, just the thing on a winters night and then returned to bowness for a meal in hyltons restaurant. The crab starter was excellent. Called at kendalfor a bit more shopping on the way home. All in all a wonderful break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hawkshead  
Boat From Windermere To Ambleside Return  
Walk Around Tarn Hows  
Hayes Garden Centre Ambleside  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hyltons Restaurant, Ash Street  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 191 - 200 of 739 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001374 @ 19/10/2017 16:34:01

Last rendered @ 22/10/2017 18:19:24

Last rendered @ 22/10/2017 18:19:24

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.