Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 737

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Christmas Break 2012

Stay Date: 24/12/12, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Damson Dene Hotel & Leisure Club 3 Night Christmas Break in Crosthwaite (Nr. Bowness) wrote this review.

Stayed at The Damson Dene hotel, the Hotel is a bit tired in places but the food, drink and service were outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. It was brilliant See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Newby Bridge Hotel, The Lake District

Stay Date: 24/12/12, a customer aged 65+ from Stockton-On-Tees who stayed at 3* Newby Bridge Hotel & Leisure Centre 3 Night Christmas Break in Newby Bridge wrote this review.

The intention was to relax and enjoy a few quiet days of Christmas in nice surroundings with good food and no washing up! Our room was comfortable and clean and the shower exceptional, the bed was See More  Read more information the best I have slept on for a long time and every meal was superb. Apart from a short walk on Christmas Day we stayed mostly in the hotel as the staff were so personable, friendly and happy tohelp. The hotel is a little dated but it added to the charm, the lovely lounge and bar areas allowed the ability to be private or join others and there were games, cards and puzzles etc set out to beused, the result was a comfortable family atmosphere with no need to escape. Although we did not use them other guests enthused over the swimming pool, gym, sauna facilities. On Boxing Day we travelledout and about sightseeing, visiting the harbour at Whitehaven and travelled back to the hotel passing as many lakes as possible. A day after our return I still enjoying the relaxed feeling, awonderful break and special Christmas indeed.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 4 out of 4 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break to York

Stay Date: 27/12/12, a customer aged 45-64 from York who stayed at 4* Lancaster House Hotel in Lancaster wrote this review.

The spa facilities at he hotel are good, and staff helpful, rooms clean. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Morcombe  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A wonderful Time in my Favourite Place

Stay Date: 28/12/12, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Imagine a large sitting room with comfy mismatched settees, surrounded by coffee tables, real fires, chandeliers, books and games. Then add a huge wall of glass along one wall with panoramic views See More  Read more information of Windermere. That's the Beech Hill Hotel! Although it's good, it's not the best hotel, but it could well be the best value. We will definitely be back. Thank you.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Walking  
Shopping  
Queens Head Troutbeck - pub  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Queens Head Troutbeck  
Masons Arms Cartmel Fell  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Last Minute Break

Stay Date: 04/01/13, a customer aged 25-44 from Newcastle Upon Tyne who stayed at 3* Macdonald Swan Hotel in Grasmere wrote this review.

Decided to book a night in Grasmere with 2 sons (15 & 11) for some walking and fresh air after the festive season. Booked a triple room at the Macdonald Swan Hotel. Hotel staff were very welcoming. See More  Read more information Room was good size, clean and well appointed. Food in hotel restaurant was excellent with service to match. Cosy fires in the lounge areas encouraged us to relax before we retired for the evening.Breakfast was good with usual selection available. On checkout given gingerbread for our journey home. Overall thoroughly enjoyed our trip and managed to complete walk up High Street from Haweswater too.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 18/01/13, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

This was a very brief break merely to 'get away from it all' and the weather was not conducive to exploration - much of which we have seen before in the Lake District. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Ambleside

Stay Date: 15/02/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Richmond who stayed at 4* Waterhead Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ambleside wrote this review.

Great area to relax and chill out See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Lake District

Stay Date: 20/02/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Regent Hotel (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ambleside wrote this review.

We have stayed in the Lake District before but not the same hotel, because we like that to be a new experience. We spent part of the day looking round the shops there are some lovely gallery shops See More  Read more information and a beautifull garden centre with lots to see. After a nice cup of coffee we set of on a walk from Ambleside to Grasmere which enabled us to take in all the wonderful scenery, part of it wasfollowing the road and the rest was following the walk around Rydale lake to Grassmere Lake. When we got to Grasmere we had a little time looking round and a return walk back to the hotel with a lovelylog fire to great us.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 3 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Walks and Great Nights

Stay Date: 01/03/13, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Waterhead Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ambleside wrote this review.

Love the Lake District, you really feel as though your away from it all and great walks. Ambleside is great for a night out lots of bars have live music! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere Lake  
Rydal Water  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zeffrellis  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Night Away in Windermere

Stay Date: 04/03/13, a customer aged 25-44 from Paisley who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Lovely drive to hotel on Windermere. Hotel looked very inviting from outside, big car park, lovely warm hotel inside and warm welcome from reception staff. Pleasant check in, hotel room specifically See More  Read more information booked requesting lake view, large windows with gorgeous views over lake. Room tastefully decorated and clean. Visited Windermere, had lovely dinner at the Sutherland Hotel (2 courses for ?10 each)compared to Beech hill hotel cost of ?40 per person. Very comfy bed and slept well. Breakfast was delicious and staff were efficient and friendly. Overall a very enjoyable stay and wished we had stayedon longer!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Sutherland  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 121 - 130 of 737 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001363 @ 18/10/2017 08:13:42

Last rendered @ 18/10/2017 12:10:13

Last rendered @ 18/10/2017 12:10:13

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.