Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 733

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Walking break

Stay Date: 11/11/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Sawrey House Hotel in Ambleside wrote this review.

Short trip to Lakes for walking, the hotel is superb from the great welcome at reception , the room with home made biscuits on the welcome tray and the wonderful breakfast. The staff are excellent See More  Read more information and I couldn't recommend Sawrey House enough. We had a lake view with the sun shining on the lake and autumn tints. The hotel is well sited for a walk along Windermere shore and up to Wray Castle andback along Claife Heights (9.5 miles). We didn't have the evening meal, due to my fussy eating, but other guests said it was excellent.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tower Bank Arms  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Kendal

Stay Date: 22/04/12, a customer who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Last Minute Getaway

Stay Date: 17/06/12, a customer who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal wrote this review.

This was a last minute decision to get away for a couple of nights. The hotel was very pleasant, very clean and friendly staff. Fantastic view over the river from the spacious room. Highly See More  Read more information recommended, we will be returning.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness On Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wetherspoons  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Stay in Kendal

Stay Date: 26/07/13, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal wrote this review.

Good location right next to the river, good for eexploring kendal and only a short drive to Windermere. The hotel itself was good, room nice with a comfortable bed. Facilities very good, swimming See More  Read more information pool, bar. Breakfast a little basic but ok. I'd read before I went other reviews that mentioned the cobwebs in the staircase which aren't great if you don't like spiders! And could do with beingcleaned.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windermere  
Kendal  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ok but Overpriced

Stay Date: 28/09/13, a customer aged 25-44 from Wrexham who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal wrote this review.

The hotel is ok, slightly faulty towers as the same person seems to work reception, the bar, breakfast etc! The room was very small and there were some strange looking stains on the walls! Could See More  Read more information have benefited from a good clean. I wouldn't stay here again as in my opionion the rooms/food are overpriced.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Giavannis  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing Weekend Away

Stay Date: 12/10/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Manchester who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal wrote this review.

The view from our hotel bedroom overlooked the river which was gorgeous with the ducks & swans. The hotel was clean & the staff very friendly especially the restaurant staff. The food was basic but See More  Read more information very enjoyable. The breakfast was buffet style so you could eat as much or as little as you wanted. Highly recommended.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kendal shopping centre  
Lake District  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely stay in Kendal

Stay Date: 13/12/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Uk who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal wrote this review.

Arrived in Kendal, there was a light covering of snow, checked in at 15.00 hrs after looking round the shops. Hotel staff very friendly and efficient and welcoming. Had a table reserved in See More  Read more information restaurant, food was just average and not much choice, however very reasonably priced for what we received. We could have eaten out in Kendal as plenty of pubs and restaurants within waking distance. Dinnerwas part of our Superbreak deal though... if I were to stay at the Riverside again I would probably choose room only or bed and breakfast.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kendal Town Centre  
Westmorland Serrvices  
Orton Chocolate Factory and tearoom  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Emmas Yard in Kendal its a tearoom  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend break

Stay Date: 24/07/15, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal wrote this review.

We arrived early and our room was ready so we were allowed in. The staff were all very helpful and polite. The room was spacious and clean . The bed was very comfy. There wasn't any toilet rolls in See More  Read more information the room when we arrived but luckily the cleaners were in the corridor and the problem was solved immediately. Our only niggle was the rooms were far too warm - we had the fan on most of the weekend-the hotel would benefit by installing air conditioning going on a lot of TripAdvisor comments. Also a lot of banging doors. Breakfast had a good selection to choose from - wasn't very good the firstday but much better on the Sunday. You had to get your own tea and coffee, personally I prefer it brought to the table. Nevertheless we had a wonderful weekend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
sawadee thai  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great, Convenient, Cozy !

Stay Date: 25/03/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal wrote this review.

Excellent location and perfectly placed, we really had a great time @Riverside. The staff were quite helpful and you have very nice rooms. If you are okay to be a bit away from the actual lakes, See More  Read more information then this hotel comes highly recommended for overall stay and hospitality. Thanks Riverside :-)   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Keswick  
Kendal  
Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Riva  
Riverside  
Farrer's  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Kendal Riverside Hotel

Stay Date: 19/02/17, a customer aged 25-44 from Lancashire who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal wrote this review.

The location is excellent, not far from the castle ruins or the town centre for shopping. Our room looked out onto the river, which was relaxing and peaceful. The staff at the Riverside Hotel are See More  Read more information very helpful. The restaurant staff are friendly and helpful, giving very good service. The rooms were rather hot making sleeping a bit uncomfortable. But it is a lovely hotel, bright, clean andwelcoming. The family room we stayed in was quite large and modern. I would stay there again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kendal Castle  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 111 - 120 of 733 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100699 @ 24/08/2017 14:04:17

Last rendered @ 22/09/2017 12:44:35

Last rendered @ 22/09/2017 12:44:35

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.