Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Wakefield

Wakefield Holiday Reviews

The historic city of Wakefield is renowned for the tallest cathedral spire in Yorkshire and is home to and astounding array of parks and museums. Our range of hotels in Wakefield give you the chance to explore the nearby National Coal Mining Museum, spend a day at Newmillerdam, discover the beautiful parklands of Pugneys Country Park, Anglers Country Park and Haw Park Wood or enjoy the incredible Hepworth Wakefield -Yorkshires landmark gallery for the visual arts.

  • Make your short break a cultural one with a visit to the highly impressive Yorkshire Sculpture Park. As one of the finest collections of sculptures in the world, both indoor and outdoor, you’ll be blown away by many exhibits
  • Nostell Priory continues to be one of Yorkshire’s most popular stately homes and gardens for the public to visit. Perfect for a sunny day, you can explore the stunning outdoors and discover everything about the estate’s past
  • Get your adrenaline fix with a visit to Xscape, where you can ski or snowboard on the indoor slopes, head to the cinema for the latest releases or take on the family at the bowling alley
There’s an abundance of things to do just a short distance away from Wakefield too, including the beautiful Pontefract Castle, Pontefract Races, and everything that’s available in Leeds which is just a short drive away. So if you’re looking for hotels in Wakefield, look no further!

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 77

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Birthday Break

Stay Date: 06/12/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Wakefield wrote this review.

This is the 2nd time we have booked this deal with Super Break. It's an amazing lovely hotel with pool, gym, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. Gorgeous 3 course evening meal on the 1st night and a good See More  Read more information choice breakfast. Staff are so nice and friendly. Highly recommended.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Leeds  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cedar Court Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Disappointing weekend Break

Stay Date: 11/11/17, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Wakefield wrote this review.

I booked this hotel as we had stayed in its sister hotel in Harrogate which was really lovely. So I thought I was on safe ground as this was for my husband’s birthday. How wrong I was! I had booked See More  Read more information a superior room thinking it would be a bit special but to be honest, every Premier Inn we have stayed in had a far better room. It was very basic to say the least and cold. Several things didn’t workproperly and when we went to dinner in the hotel that night, we couldn’t sit in the bar to have a drink first as it was so cold. Even the staff agreed how cold it was. It wasn’t much better in thedining room and neither was the food. It was absolutely second rate. Breakfast the next morning was like a comedy farce. With food and hot drinks (all self service) completely spread around all 4 cornersof the room so people were wandering around all over the place. To say I was disappointed doesn’t even begin to describe how I felt. Not a place to stay for a special occasion.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Toby Carvery  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good day out in Holmfirth and Wakefield

Stay Date: 13/10/17, a customer aged 65+ from North Ants who stayed at 4* Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Wakefield wrote this review.

The hotel was very clean with good food, comfortable beds, friendly, helpful staff and good leisure facilities. I would recommend this hotel to my family and friends. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Holmfirth  
Cathedral  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fab night out in Wakefield

Stay Date: 29/09/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Wakefield wrote this review.

A group of 22 went for a double birthday celebration, all had a lovely stay and great night out in Wakefield. Hotel was around 3 miles from City Centre, but taxi ride cheap and convenient. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wakefield nightlige  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Pleasant visit

Stay Date: 17/09/17, a customer aged 65+ from Staffordshire who stayed at 4* Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Wakefield wrote this review.

Very helpful and friendly Reception staff at all times. Enjoyable food both for breakfast and dinner. I made good use of the pool while I was there. Ground floor room was spacious and comfortable. See More  Read more information In Wakefield I liked the free bus that I was able to use to take me around. I especially liked the Cathedral and its surrounding area, had a lively but relaxing feel about it. I would definitely liketo visit the hotel and Wakefield again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wakefield Cathedral  
Wakefield shopping  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Swan& cygnet  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Pleasant but not perfect

Stay Date: 15/09/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Wakefield wrote this review.

Had a pleasant stay. I booked 2 rooms, one for my husband and me the other for my parents. Our room was fine however my parents had no hot water or TV all weekend. They mentioned it more than once See More  Read more information but the problem was never sorted. They were offered an alternative room but that was to a twin room rather than a double so they declined. To be honest this was not really an acceptablesituation. there was confusion over the billing of our "free meals" on the first night and we ended up with quite a larger than expected bill. However the receptionist on duty on our departure was veryunderstanding with all our issues and very kindly gave us a complimentary afternoon tea which was very enjoyable and left us with a more positive memory of our stay. The staff were all so friendly, there was agood selection of food at breakfast and we enjoyed using the pool and sauna/steam room. Overall,we had an enjoyable stay but the issue of no hot water was especially inconvenient and we hope theproblem is sorted for the next guests who stay in that room.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York National Railway Museum  
The Shambles  
Holmfirth last of the Summer Wine exhibition  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Toby Carvery  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Wonderful Wakefield

Stay Date: 01/09/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Lancashire who stayed at 4* Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Wakefield wrote this review.

Hotel facilities, staff, room and food all great. No negatives. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Sculpture park  
NCM mining  
Lakeside outlet  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
Navigation  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely weekend in Wakefield

Stay Date: 27/08/17, a customer aged 65+ from Warrington who stayed at 4* Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield- Lazy Sunday in Wakefield wrote this review.

Hotel location very good, cant hear the M1! However had to wait over an hour for room to be ready after arriving at 2.20 pm, no apologies. Room was supposed to be superior, not really! Needed a See More  Read more information refurb especially bathroom, however clean bed, clean towels. Promised wine on arrived had to be asked for at 7 pm and took quite a while to come. First course lovely, tasty, second bland mashed potatoeswith hard cod and no veg! Service ok but restaurant definitely not 4 star! Apparently some rooms have been refurbished. Breakfast very poor with all glasses dirty, all cups dirty, no tea pots, standingundrinkable coffee and everything looking ravaged, just yolk in the egg container, that was only 9 o'clock. Plain sliced bread and certainly nothing to have a lazy Sunday with! So disappointing,worst hotel, with Super Break glad it was only one night!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Yorkshire Sculpture Park  
The Hepworth  
Nostel Priory  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Nostell Priory  
YSPark  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Disappointed

Stay Date: 11/08/17, a customer aged 45-64 from West Yorkshire who stayed at 4* Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Wakefield wrote this review.

The dining room staff told us we had a two course meal booked instead of the three course that was stated at booking. We eventually convinced them it was three courses. Waited a long time to be See More  Read more information served the drinks we ordered didn't arrive had to ask for them four times. We had finished our starters before the waiter brought our bottle of wine with no wine glasses, wine cooler or the jug of waterthat I had requested. Not good enough when paying £18 a bottle. We then went to desk to pay for wine & £2.50 for upgrade to scallops where they had put two desserts on the bill, when I questioned thisthey were removed from the bill with no explanation or apology.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Trinity walk  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Swan and signet  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Poor Dining Experience in the Hotel

Stay Date: 22/04/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Wakefield wrote this review.

Good location. Hotel rooms and facilities were good, but the restaurant reminded me of a school canteen, and the standard of food for a 4* hotel was poor. Having sent back a bottle of white wine as See More  Read more information it was not sufficiently chilled the corn beef starter was then almost inedible, and part of our chicken for the main course was not cooked thoroughly enough. The wine was then returned to ussufficiently chilled, but sadly after we had finished our meal.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Brodsworth Hall  
Nostell  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
British Oak  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 77 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001507 @ 06/12/2017 08:14:45

Last rendered @ 13/12/2017 22:43:53

Last rendered @ 13/12/2017 22:43:53

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.