Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Wakefield

Wakefield Holiday Reviews

The historic city of Wakefield is renowned for the tallest cathedral spire in Yorkshire and is home to and astounding array of parks and museums. Our range of hotels in Wakefield give you the chance to explore the nearby National Coal Mining Museum, spend a day at Newmillerdam, discover the beautiful parklands of Pugneys Country Park, Anglers Country Park and Haw Park Wood or enjoy the incredible Hepworth Wakefield -Yorkshires landmark gallery for the visual arts.

  • Make your short break a cultural one with a visit to the highly impressive Yorkshire Sculpture Park. As one of the finest collections of sculptures in the world, both indoor and outdoor, you’ll be blown away by many exhibits
  • Nostell Priory continues to be one of Yorkshire’s most popular stately homes and gardens for the public to visit. Perfect for a sunny day, you can explore the stunning outdoors and discover everything about the estate’s past
  • Get your adrenaline fix with a visit to Xscape, where you can ski or snowboard on the indoor slopes, head to the cinema for the latest releases or take on the family at the bowling alley
There’s an abundance of things to do just a short distance away from Wakefield too, including the beautiful Pontefract Castle, Pontefract Races, and everything that’s available in Leeds which is just a short drive away. So if you’re looking for hotels in Wakefield, look no further!

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 69

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Disappointed

Stay Date: 11/08/17, a customer aged 45-64 from West Yorkshire who stayed at 4* Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Wakefield wrote this review.

The dining room staff told us we had a two course meal booked instead of the three course that was stated at booking. We eventually convinced them it was three courses. Waited a long time to be See More  Read more information served the drinks we ordered didn't arrive had to ask for them four times. We had finished our starters before the waiter brought our bottle of wine with no wine glasses, wine cooler or the jug of waterthat I had requested. Not good enough when paying £18 a bottle. We then went to desk to pay for wine & £2.50 for upgrade to scallops where they had put two desserts on the bill, when I questioned thisthey were removed from the bill with no explanation or apology.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Trinity walk  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Swan and signet  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Poor Dining Experience in the Hotel

Stay Date: 22/04/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Wakefield wrote this review.

Good location. Hotel rooms and facilities were good, but the restaurant reminded me of a school canteen, and the standard of food for a 4* hotel was poor. Having sent back a bottle of white wine as See More  Read more information it was not sufficiently chilled the corn beef starter was then almost inedible, and part of our chicken for the main course was not cooked thoroughly enough. The wine was then returned to ussufficiently chilled, but sadly after we had finished our meal.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Brodsworth Hall  
Nostell  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
British Oak  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short break heaven.

Stay Date: 09/04/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Wakefield wrote this review.

The hotel was very easy to get to from the M1 so easy that we missed it first and had to turn round. It is very close to the exit. Be prepared! The room was spacious and had all the facilities we See More  Read more information could want. The bed was comfortable. We didn't use the spa simply because of time but it looked very nice. On the first night we had three course meal in the restaurant which was very nice - lots ofchoice an the menu was very clear about supplements - good when you're on a budget. The second night we ate from the bar menu which was also very good. The fish and chips looked especially nice.Breakfast was laid out buffet style and had loads of choices. My only quibble was that the menu stated that there were scrambled and fried eggs on the buffet but when we were there scrambled eggs had to beordered. The bar area was lovely to sit in. Lots of comfortable sofas - just the place for people watching and reading or just chatting. The staff were great and I felt they couldn't do enough. Isaw an extra heater being taken somewhere. We had a light bulb missing and it was replaced within the hour. It was lovely to hear Yorkshire accents again! Wakefield hasn't got a great many attractionsin the area but we filled a complete day with the Coal Mining Museum and the Sculpture Park. Had we stayed longer we might have gone further afield but for us looking for a quick break it wasperfect.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wakefield Cathedral  
National Coal Mining Museum  
Yorkshire Sculpture Park  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Let down by 'guests'

Stay Date: 07/04/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Stirling who stayed at 4* Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Wakefield wrote this review.

Handy for visiting family and a bonus to have a dinner in the deal. Good bedroom and comfy bed but very noisy neighbours the second night so skipped part of the family weekend to get a rest. Not See More  Read more information much sound insulation between bedrooms - their noise was all in their room not the corridor unless you count banging doors.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

2 day break

Stay Date: 06/04/17, a customer aged 65+ from Norwich who stayed at 4* Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Wakefield wrote this review.

Well appointed and comfortable but food not 4 star e.g. quality and quantity (mashed potatoes seemed to be from packet, steak and ale pie had more vegetables than meat and wasn't served with any See More  Read more information separate veg).   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Birthday treat

Stay Date: 20/03/17, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Wakefield wrote this review.

We have been here before, excellent service from the staff, leisure centre very nice, staff good there also nice and clean. Bus stop right outside of the hotel, which we took to Wakefield, no See More  Read more information problems whatsoever. I would recommend this hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wakefield Trinity Walk  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
traders  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Cedar Court

Stay Date: 17/02/17, a customer aged 45-64 from South Milford who stayed at 4* Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Wakefield wrote this review.

The hotel was poor we requested a quiet room away from the lift, and got the room next to the lift. The receptionist said that was the only room available. The restaurant food and staff were chaotic See More  Read more information many people complained about the length of time taken to be served. Very poor overall.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wakefield  
Rhubarb festival  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Red Kite  
Waterton Hall  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely weekend break

Stay Date: 17/02/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Wakefield wrote this review.

Had a lovely break at Cedar Court hotel in Wakefield. The staff at the reception and in the restaurant, both in the evening and at breakfast, were really hardworking and friendly despite being very See More  Read more information busy. We had issues... the room was cold, the heater didn't seem to be working but a replacement heater was brought in, the TV reception was poor but that was also attended to. We had trouble with theWi-Fi but could live without that and the bath tap was next to useless. These are just niggles that in no way spoiled our overall stay at the hotel. The room was clean, modern and comfortable. Thebreakfast was wonderful (including lots of fresh fruit) though we felt the evening meal choices were a little limited and we enjoyed use of the leisure facilities. We had a very pleasant and relaxingweekend at a very reasonable price.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Wakefield

Stay Date: 15/02/17, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Wakefield wrote this review.

The main reason for staying in this area was to see The Barbara Hepworth Museum. We recommend visitors visit The Sculpture Park. We had previously been to this excellent attraction. The hotel was See More  Read more information adequate. The bath room needed repairs. The shower was almost useless - ran like a tap not a shower. The heated towel rail was continually cold. The hairdryer was non functional and a light bulbneeded replacing. I did find a hair drier in a drawer. Please note we only reported these faults as we left as we couldn't be bothered with any hassle. However, I did enjoy our stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wakefield Cathedral  
Selby Abbey  
Barbra Hepworth Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Visit to Wakefield

Stay Date: 03/02/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Wakefield wrote this review.

The hotel is very close to the M1 so this makes a great place to break a journey! Leisure Suite was clean and relaxing. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Sculpture park  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 69 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100637 @ 17/08/2017 08:58:34

Last rendered @ 22/08/2017 14:18:29

Last rendered @ 22/08/2017 14:18:29

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.