Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Southampton

Southampton Holiday Reviews

Ocean Village Marina, Southampton

Museums, parks, art galleries, theatres, an historic waterfront and plenty of Southampton hotels, there is something for everyone in this vibrant city.

  • Learn all about Southampton’s Titanic story and the city’s maritime heritage at the Maritime Museum.
  • Enjoy some great shopping opportunities at three major shopping venues or for the more energetic, partake in some water splashing fun at The Quays or ride the Ringo’s on the slopes at the Alpine Centre.
  • Take in some of the city’s rich and varied heritage in the Old Town district, visit the museums and art galleries in the city’s Above Bar Cultural Quarter, or see some outstanding performances at The Mayflower Theatre or The Guildhall.
  • Then visit Southampton’s colourful waterfront for alfresco dining, or enjoy lunch at one of the cafés, pubs and restaurants in the Old Town and Below Bar.
With so much to see and do, our hotels in Southampton offer a great base for a fun-filled short break. This great destination has a fantastic mixture of modern and traditional Southampton hotels for you to choose from. Close to many of our hotels in Southampton you can find a thriving cultural scene. Our Southampton hotels also provide a great base for exploring the nearby New Forest National Park or even the Isle of Wight which is just a short ferry journey away. With our wide choice of hotels in Southampton to suit a variety of budgets and needs, you are sure to find an ideal hotel close to all the fun things to see and do.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 239

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Birthday Celebration in Southampton

Stay Date: 04/06/16, a customer aged 65+ from Gb who stayed at 4* Grand Harbour (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Southampton wrote this review.

A most superb setting and hotel. Excellent "Standard" double room at front of hotel with fantastic balcony overlooking the cruise ship terminals. A selection of the world's largest cruise ships were See More  Read more information passing and docking literally just across the road. Hotel arranged taxi transport to theatre and Red Funnel ferry terminal for our return journey home. Theatre trip to see a very professionalproduction of "Mary Poppins" was a highlight of the weekend. Both of the hotel restaurants were excellent. Altogether a great value for money experience.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mayflower Theatre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
John Lewis  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Not so new New Place

Stay Date: 10/09/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* New Place in Southampton wrote this review.

We were disappointed with our chalet style room in the grounds of this hotel. The main building looks lovely but the chalet style rooms were in need of some TLC and maintenance. The curtains were See More  Read more information tatty with the hem hanging down onto the table below, net curtains dirty, the shower was poor with water squirting out from the hose connection, water didn't drain away well, the door chain didn't fitin the bracket so useless. Also much noisier than inside a main building, can hear every word of neighbours and people walking by. We stay away quite often and this was a disappointment.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great stay in Southampton

Stay Date: 21/10/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Grand Harbour (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Southampton wrote this review.

Stayed in the Grand Harbour Hotel in Southampton, great hotel, excellent and very polite service staff from check in to check out. Food excellent. Room very good and quiet. Great view of the Cruise See More  Read more information liners from our room. Hotel is only 2 minutes walk from the West Quay centre. No negative comments to report.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
West Quay Shopping  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ghandi winchester  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Good weekend in Southampton

Stay Date: 04/11/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Grand Harbour (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Southampton wrote this review.

A very good value weekend break. Hotel good location for shops. Spa facilities available at hotel-best back massage I had for a long time. An enjoyable weekend. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Surprise birthday weekend

Stay Date: 18/11/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Chiseldon who stayed at 4* Grand Harbour (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Southampton wrote this review.

A great weekend away as a surprise for my girlfriend's birthday - she loved it . Let down by the weather it was pouring down so had to get taxis around but their service was good. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
West Quay  
Turtle Bay  
Barcelona tapas  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Spa break Grand Harbour

Stay Date: 17/12/16, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Grand Harbour Hotel & Spa - City and Spa Break in Southampton wrote this review.

Arrived in Southampton, easy place to get around, hotel easy to get to. Hotel looked great from the outside, close to the water, inside very nice and room was comfortable. Spa treatments were See More  Read more information fantastic and staff very friendly! Restaurant food was very tasty and staff very professional. Very happy with the hotel overall, and the SuperBreak site! Would be willing to use both again in thefuture!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Town Centre  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Overnight stay prior to cruise

Stay Date: 21/03/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Woodbridge who stayed at 4* Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton (Pre Cruise Package & 15 days parking) in Southampton wrote this review.

Great comfortable stay. Staff very helpful in advising me with luggage and parking. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Dissappointing

Stay Date: 26/10/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton in Southampton wrote this review.

The hotel told us we had only booked one room despite producing the booking reference and evidence that two had been booked and claimed they were full. Eventually they found another but with no See More  Read more information apology. I have stayed in the hotel many times before but a few years ago and was shocked at how it had changed. It was scruffy, all the nice furnishings were gone and cheap looking stuff replaced it.Feature parts of the hotel had been removed... very sad. The bar staff had poor English, the glasses were filthy and the atmosphere dreadful. On our return from the theatre we asked for a bite to eat tobe told there was only sandwiches from room service. As we had just bought our drinks we asked if the sandwiches could be served in the bar rather than our rooms but were told NO! No attempt to helpus. Breakfast was okay, a bit soulless and nothing was replenished. My friend waited 10 mins for eggs by which time the rest of her breakfast was cold. The swimming pool was cold (27 deg), the Jacuzziworks on a strange system of 10 mins on 10 mins off and was very hot so you can be sitting in tepid water with no real benefits at all. Whilst there we heard a few people complaining about their spatreatment experiences at the desk. Very sadly what was once a fantastic hotel is now poor, scruffy and unhelpful and I would not recommend it to anyone any more.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
West Quay Shopping  
Theatre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Easy process

Stay Date: 25/11/17, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton in Southampton wrote this review.

Was so easy and lovely. Thank you very much. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
West Quay  
City Centre  
St mary staduim  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
West quay food centre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great location/poor service

Stay Date: 09/12/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton in Southampton wrote this review.

The hotel rooms were a bit dated, my first room was smelly. They did move me. The beds felt like they had been around a while. Found the reception staff quite unfriendly and unhelpful. Spa was See More  Read more information great, location was good and the bar and lounge area was very nice. Wasn't given any information on facilities and times. Had to seek out information. Just feel disappointed as it was supposed to be atreat, and I felt that I wasn't welcomed. Not really experienced that at a hotel desk before.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shops  
resaturants  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wagamammas  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 239 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001507 @ 06/12/2017 08:14:45

Last rendered @ 14/12/2017 16:59:21

Last rendered @ 14/12/2017 16:59:21

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.