Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - South Kensington

South Kensington Holiday Reviews

Natural History Museum, South Kensington

A great choice for when you're visiting London, our South Kensington hotels offer a retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city's tourist hotspots. Hotels in Kensington do however enjoy excellent transport links into the centre, and you could be strolling through Hyde Park, catching a West End show or shopping on Oxford Street in no time at all.

You simply don't have to travel far to see some of London's top attractions however, and our hotels in Kensington are handily located for visiting a number of internationally-renowned institutions. The Royal Albert Hall has a fantastic programme of performances year-round and Arts Museums don't come finer than the ever-popular V and A Museum. For a fun and educational day with the whole family, check out both the Science Museum and the Natural History Museum.

  • For the area's famously good shopping, head north to High Street Kensington for a wealth of chic boutiques and high street favourites, or head east into sophisticated Knightsbridge for the like of Harrods and Harvey Nichols.
  • Kensington hotels also benefit from being close by to a number of world-famous sporting venues; be sure to see what's on during your stay, whether it's at Stamford Bridge, Queen's Club or Olympia.
  • No trip to Kensington is complete without a visit to the utterly breath-taking Kensington Palace; the grandeur of the architecture and pretty gardens are a must-see, and the fascinating exhibitions at the former residence of Princess Diana are well worth looking round as well.


A superb destination for your next short break in London, take a look at our selection of South Kensington hotels in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 95

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Three Nights in London

Stay Date: 23/05/07, a customer who stayed at 5* Royal Garden Hotel in Kensington wrote this review.

Enjoyable overall, despite the city being so busy. Thought the temporarily turfed part of Trafalgar Square novel/fun. Great weather (25 C and +). Hotel a disappointment tho' - esp considering the See More  Read more information cost. Hardly 'luxurious' - obviously paying for Location Location Location. Despite asking for a QUIET room, booking well in advance, put into a dingy, grubby room on 4th floor, overlooking the HighSteet - traffic noise for the duration. Did attempt to have room changed first night but too late. Got the impression we shouldn't have been given said room in the first instance - were moved thefollowing day, then it was OK. But definitely still over-priced!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chelsea Flower Show  
National Portrait Museum  
Haymarket Theatre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hamburger Union  
The Magic Wok  
Tokyo Diner  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Avoid this hotel

Stay Date: 14/08/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Crook who stayed at 3* Ambassadors Hotel Kensington in Kensington wrote this review.

The rail journey down was excellent. Had not been on a train in years. The hotel left a lot to be desired. Arrived at the hotel to a room that had not been serviced correctly. Bins still full of the See More  Read more information previous occupants rubbish. We did book a deluxe double room. What we got was a very small sub standard twin room, just big enough for the two beds and a plastic chair, with the 2 beds pushedtogether. Woke up the next day in pain and discomfort. Told reception about the problem and was advised that the beds would be changed for a double bed. This did not happen! We lost reception on the veryvery small TV. Told reception about the problem, was advised that there was nothing they could do except change our room. Could not do this due to pain and discomfort we were in from sub standard beds.On check out we complained about the problems again and were given a complaint form to complete. This we did and then asked to see the manager, several times. We were told he was in "a meeting" and wasnot available. We have travelled all over the world and we spend a lot of time in the USA. We have stayed in hotels all over the world and this is, without doubt, the worst hotel we have ever stayedin   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

London Theatre & Festival Break

Stay Date: 09/09/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Ambassadors Hotel Kensington in Kensington wrote this review.

Fantastic weekend break. Stayed at The Ambassadors Hotel, Kensington. Lobby & dining area clean & modern but rest of hotel tired & dated. Not worth a 3 star rating. Room small but functional. See More  Read more information Bathroom in need of updating. Poorly finished. Hotel OK for out intended use. Had requested adjoining rooms but hotel unable to provide. On the plus side a good & plentiful breakfast. A five minute walk tonearest tube with easy access into central London attractions.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wyndhams Theatre  
St Pauls Cathedral  
Hyde Park - Radio 2 Festival in a Day  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
White Swan Covent Garden  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Not a pleasurable hotel stay

Stay Date: 19/12/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Islip who stayed at 4* Radisson Blu Edwardian, Vanderbilt in Kensington wrote this review.

Sorry to say that this hotel did not live up to its reputation. On arrival my daughter and I were put into a twin room which was so tiny it had 2 single beds against each wall and a cabinet between, See More  Read more information that was it, and the window had opaque glass in it so you could not see out that was our room! Asked to be moved which they did, into a room with a double bed! Asked again for a twin room which wefinally got and was a better size but unfortunately the bathroom was so tiny that I had to come out of it to get dry...I am only 5' tall. The shower door did not fit and so water ran all over the floorwhich did not get fixed as requested. We were told that we would not be able to dine in the restaurant that evening which we had planned to do before going to the theatre! All in all a reallydisapointing stay and there is no way that it warrants the price charged for the room and to be honest I would not return. I got the impression when passing some rooms with open doors that most rooms werereally small. Not good enough I'm afraid. I am happy for you to contact me regarding this experience reflects on your business.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Olympia Horse Show  
Theatre Royal  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Super Superbreak

Stay Date: 16/12/06, a customer who stayed at 5* Royal Garden Hotel in Kensington wrote this review.

This was our Christmas Present to each other. A wonderful Christmas Classical Carol Concert at the Royal Albert Hall - I think one of the best venues in the World. To be able to stay overnight in a See More  Read more information luxury five star hotel - no late journey home by train is one of the nicest parts of the weekend. Everything about the superbreak was excellent. This was our second superbeak - we have alreadybooked a third for May 2007   Collapse  Hide

Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harrods - Christmas Shopping  
Christmas Classical Concert, Royal Albert Hall  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal Garden Hotel Restaurant  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 91 - 95 of 95 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001435 @ 08/11/2017 09:41:29

Last rendered @ 20/11/2017 09:56:32

Last rendered @ 20/11/2017 09:56:32

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.