Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Snowdonia & Area

Snowdonia & Area Holiday Reviews

Prestatyn Beach, Clwyd

The first designated National Park in Wales, Snowdonia has long been a great choice for a short break or getaway. From well-located budget accommodation to luxury country retreats, our Snowdonia hotels provide the perfect base for exploring this distinctly beautiful part of the world.

Whether you choose a break in Llanberis, popular Porthmadog or another of the top short break destinations in and around the National Park, use your hotel in Snowdonia to see the best of the area. The ideal place to reconnect with the great outdoors, there’s much to see and do here.

  • Challenge yourself to conquer the highest mountain in Wales – Mount Snowdon – the starting point for many attempting the Three Peak Challenge
  • A family-friendly mountain, the peak of Snowdon is also accessible via the Snowdon Mountain Railway – great when you’re traveling with little ones
  • Covering 823 square miles, with almost 1,500 miles of public footpaths, Snowdonia is a walker’s paradise – be sure to get outdoors and explore on foot
  • Other top outdoor pursuits well worth trying in Snowdonia include rock-climbing, wakeboarding, archery, quad biking and fishing.
A fantastic choice for your next short break, check out our range of Snowdonia hotels in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 64

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

North Wales Short Visit

Stay Date: 04/08/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Royal Victoria Hotel, Llanberis in Llanberis wrote this review.

Toured the area by car and visited tha national as well as the local attractions, the star attraction was the mountain railway to the top of Snowdon. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Snowdonia  
Portmerrion  
North Wales  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harbour Restaurant, Port Madog  
Central Restaurant, Llandudno  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Anniversary Dinner at Ruthin Castle

Stay Date: 13/09/08, a customer from Crewe who stayed at 4* Ruthin Castle Hotel in Ruthin wrote this review.

We booked Ruthin castle hotel for a one night stay for our wedding anniversary - the restaurant had to be good as we didn't want to drive any distance. It was a fabulous meal eith lovely restaurant See More  Read more information staff. The only problem was that the room wasn't ready till 3pm as they had a wedding there on the same day and seemed unable to carry on with ordinary bookings at the same time.View was lovely fromthe room and the gardens great to walk in.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ruthin Town  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ruthin Castle Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Llanberis

Stay Date: 24/06/09, a customer from Bedford who stayed at 3* Royal Victoria Hotel, Llanberis in Llanberis wrote this review.

When we arrived at the hotel on 23rd June - despite the booking having been made, prepaid, and confirmed on 5th June - there was no record of our reservation. Thankfully they had rooms available ... See More  Read more information Breakfast on the first day was a disaster. We had to wait nearly 45 minutes before being served, the sole waiter was rushed off his feet by a large party of climbers whose coach was leaving shortly.The tea and coffee arrived after we had finished eating. The restaurant was huge and characterless, the bar was gaudy, noisy, and unwelcoming, and the staff were willing but disorganised.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Porthmadog  
Snowdon Moutain Railway  
Portmeirion village  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Spice of Llanberis  
The Peak  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: We work hard to ensure our booking procedures are very comprehensive and we are working with the hotel to ensure that their reservation procedures are reviewed.

 

North Wales Break

Stay Date: 15/08/10, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Royal Victoria Hotel, Llanberis in Llanberis wrote this review.

The area was beautiful with lots of places to visit and things to do. We will go again. The hotel was ok`ish we probably had the worst located room in the place an extensive walk to get there. It See More  Read more information had far more rooms than we expected. We dined at the hotel each night, all three nights our first choice desert was unavailable, otherwise the food was good. The staff were very pleasant but obviouslynot trained very well. Time and again serving staff walked back to the kitchens empty handed while tables were waiting to be cleared, this was particularly noticeable at breakfast time.The location ishowever excellent. As were the reception staff.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Caernarfon Castle  
Conwy Castle  
Bodnant Gardens  
Plas Mawr  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Snowdonia & Area

Stay Date: 31/10/10, a customer from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Royal Victoria Hotel, Llanberis in Llanberis rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short break In Llanberis

Stay Date: 27/01/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Royal Victoria Hotel, Llanberis in Llanberis wrote this review.

Was just a nice night away for my fiance and me. Was a case of getting away from home and being in different surroundings. Staff were polite and welcoming, hotel not as nice as pictures on your site See More  Read more information represent, but we only went up to stay for the night so was not of much concern.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Location To Discover Snowdonia On Foot.

Stay Date: 27/02/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Royal Victoria Hotel, Llanberis in Llanberis wrote this review.

Llanberis is a lovely small welsh town, where the people speak to each other in welsh, so we felt we were almost abroad! mount snowdon is obviously the main attraction to climb, but there are lots See More  Read more information of other interesting wallks in the are too which you can do from the hotel royal victoria in llanberis.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Electric Mountain  
Copper Mine  
Welsh Castles  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Peaks Restaurant In Llanberis  
Swan Hotel ? In Llanberis  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Snowdonia

Stay Date: 29/10/12, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Royal Victoria Hotel, Llanberis in Llanberis wrote this review.

lovely place to visit See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Snowdon mountain railway  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Llanberis: Something For Everyone

Stay Date: 15/02/12, a customer who stayed at 3* Royal Victoria Hotel, Llanberis in Llanberis wrote this review.

Llanberis is a lovely little place with plenty of things to do and see and plenty of places to eat, all within a nice walking distance. Near snowdon, you can at busier times of the year get a train See More  Read more information to the top or you can walk around the lake in llanberis itself, which we did and found to be quite a good hike. We ate at the heights both nights of our mid-week stay because the food there was soenjoyable; the quality was fantastic and at very reasonable prices. Our two mains each night came up to less than £20 between us. The atmosphere was so relaxed and comfortable as well. Highlyrecommended. Electric mountain was a lot of fun, though a little scary. It was really interesting and the staff that took us on the tour were brilliant. I would recommend going there to anyone. The slate museumI think would also be great to visit, but more in the summer time when they have demonstrations available and when it's a bit warmer. We went in the middle of our hike around the lake and were a bitwet and cold so didn't really make the most of it, however it was free entry and i would definitely go again. The hotel that we stayed in was nice enough for us. We were in an economy room and werenext to the kitchen so it was pretty noisy, if you can afford to pay more for the nicer rooms then i'm sure it's a very nice place to stay. However even in our economy room I wouldn't have expected it tobe as filthy as it was with hairs in the bath tub, layers of dust caked in the radiators and peeling wallpaper. The television must have been bought in the 80s too. The breakfast was lovely, thoughyou have to pay extra for a cooked breakfast, and the staff were really lovely too. The location of the hotel is great for walking to the main town for meals and to go to the local attractions. Thereis free wifi available but only in the restaurants and apparently in the bars but we didn't go in there, so with the signal in the area being useless for internet browsing we took our ipad down with usfor breakfast to plan our day whilst we could. Overall, i think we would probably stay there again but only if we were paying a higher rate for a nicer room; then i think i'd be more willing tocomplain about any noise that causes sleepless nights.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Electric Mountain  
National Slate Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Heights  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

New Year at LLanberis

Stay Date: 30/12/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Ludlow who stayed at 3* Royal Victoria Hotel, Llanberis New Year Break in Llanberis wrote this review.

Entertainment was poor new years eve was a small disco and for new year they turned the TV on could have done that at home. Food was good though waiter was unable to explain what the dishes were. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Electric Mountain  
National Slate Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 51 - 60 of 64 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100699 @ 24/08/2017 14:04:17

Last rendered @ 19/09/2017 23:30:14

Last rendered @ 19/09/2017 23:30:14

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.