Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Scottish Borders

Scottish Borders Holiday Reviews

Brimming with fascinating heritage, picturesque landscapes and plenty of outdoor activities, our Scottish Borders hotels offer visitors the perfect short break experience.

Discover rolling mountains, historic castles and traditional museums, as well as taking the time to walk, cycle or hike your way round the sights.

  • Visit the magnificent Melrose Abbey and explore these famous Scottish ruins. Marvel at the extravagant beautiful masonry and discover the place where Robert the Bruce’s heart is thought to be buried.
  • For the active minded, hop on your bicycle and head to Glentress Forest. Described as mountain biking mecca, you’ll find this adventurous destination in the heart of the striking Tweed Valley.
  • Wildlife enthusiasts can admire and explore the wonderful array of woodland trails and hidden coastal reserves on offer in the Scottish Borders, from Cragbank Woods to St Abb’s Head.
For hotels in Scottish Borders surrounded by a whole host of outdoor activities, beautiful natural sights and amazing attractions, book your short break to Scotland with SuperBreak.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 28

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Peebles

Stay Date: 01/07/07, a customer from Lanarkshire who stayed at 4* Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf and Spa in Peebles rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Edinburgh Festival

Stay Date: 20/08/08, a customer from Kent who stayed at 3* Mercure Barony Castle & Spa in Peebles wrote this review.

We came up to see our daughter in a musical at the George. She was wonderful of course. And ( and I know I shouldn't start a sentence with and) the hotel staff were exceptionally welcoming and See More  Read more information helpful.I have stayed in hotels all over the world when I was gainfully employed and I have never been made to feel more like a valued customer. Well done and thank you all.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Barony Castle Hotel - Disappointing

Stay Date: 10/10/08, a customer who stayed at 3* Mercure Barony Castle & Spa in Peebles wrote this review.

The Hotel from the outside is fabulous as are the surrounding grounds, unfortunately the inside is a different story. The staff were not particularly friendly and the Restuarant staff new very See More  Read more information little English, and therefore customer service was very difficult. The evening meal was dissapointing, small portions and the steak was tough. I have never slept on such a HARD matress in my life, it waslike sleeping on a brick! The shower Panel on the bath was not fitted correctly so it would not stay shut. I will certainly not be staying at this hotel again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stobo Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stobo Castle  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Peebles

Stay Date: 25/01/09, a customer from Midlothian who stayed at 3* Mercure Barony Castle & Spa in Peebles rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Barony Castle Hotel

Stay Date: 26/02/12, a customer who stayed at 3* Mercure Barony Castle & Spa in Peebles wrote this review.

Staff very nice. Meal poor. Ordered rare to medium. Not tender and even staff agreed. Sent it back and was assured it would be done immediately. Member of staff returned with a question from the See More  Read more information chef "what did i mean when i asked for rare to medium". Was left perplexed. By the time my steak, chips and one cut carrot arrived it was barely any better and i ate whilst the 3 other table guests withme had finished. Shame but unfortunately that is the experience of the barony which is at the forefront of my stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Night in a Scottish Castle

Stay Date: 22/09/12, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Mercure Barony Castle & Spa in Peebles wrote this review.

A romantic night in barony castle with dinner , spa and drinks . Fantastic place . See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Barony castle  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Huge Portions

Stay Date: 13/04/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Newburgh who stayed at 3* Mercure Barony Castle & Spa in Peebles wrote this review.

Ate at The Green Tree in Peebles. The food was really good. Friendly staff. Only wished I could eat the amount on my plate. Highly reccommend the steak pie. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Roxburgh Golf Club  
Barony Castle  
The Green Tree, Peebles  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing spa Break

Stay Date: 21/04/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Stonehaven who stayed at 3* Mercure Barony Castle & Spa in Peebles wrote this review.

We decided on a relaxing couple of days break to a part of the country we hadn't yet visited. Beautiful countryside and a relaxing atmosphere at the hotel made the break most enjoyable. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rosslyn Chapel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Barony Castle

Stay Date: 14/09/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Washington who stayed at 3* Mercure Barony Castle & Spa in Peebles wrote this review.

Lovely hotel with a few minor problems (not enough coat hangers, door banged shut if you weren't careful, tissues not replaced) but we enjoyed our stay. One other point: the hotel hadn't got our See More  Read more information booking from SuperBreak when we checked in!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Traquair House  
John Buchan Story  
Polish map of Scotland  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Coltmans  
Caldwells Ice Cream Parlour  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Walking in Peebles

Stay Date: 04/11/16, a customer aged 65+ from Eyemouth who stayed at 3* Mercure Barony Castle & Spa in Peebles wrote this review.

Barony Castle hotel was a lovely hotel , all was excellent and they treated my husband who is coeliac with great respect anticipating his needs, we felt very welcomed. Lovely surrounding countryside See More  Read more information and a famous map of Scotland in the grounds which is amazing. We would go there again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 11 - 20 of 28 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100699 @ 24/08/2017 10:04:41

Last rendered @ 19/09/2017 18:16:20

Last rendered @ 19/09/2017 18:16:20

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.