Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Scarborough & Area

Scarborough & Area Holiday Reviews

Harbour & Castle, Scarborough

Take a look through our fantastic mix of modern and traditional hotels in Scarborough for a break to remember. Britain’s first seaside resort is as fun as ever, and jam-packed with activities for people of all ages to enjoy. With two sandy beaches, a busy fishing harbour, dramatic cliffs, a castle, fantastic parks, and a town centre shopping mall, there’s much to see and do.

Enjoy an array of amusements, donkey rides, evening theatre shows and of course some ice cream and fish and chips! Most Scarborough hotels provide an ideal base for exploring this charming seaside town and we offer a great range of hotels to suit all budgets and needs. Close to our hotels in Scarborough, the North Yorkshire coastline offers picturesque vistas, magnificent cliff views, rolling moors and stunning countryside.

  • The town’s top attractions include the breath-taking views from Scarborough Castle and the always popular SEA LIFE Centre
  • Take the family to the ever-fun amusements or, on a nice day, find yourselves rowing around pretty, Oriental-themed Peasholm Park
  • Head to the famous Stephen Joseph Theatre – having premiered many of Alan Aykbourn’s plays, the theatre is one of the region’s best, and known for being a champion of new writing
  • Explore top attractions a short drive from Scarborough, including Bridlington’s promenade, the fishing village of Robin Hood’s Bay and Whitby's famous ruined Abbey.
Pre-book hotels in Scarborough and the surrounding area along with return rail travel to make your break to the seaside even more relaxing. Check out our fantastic range of Scarborough hotels and offers in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 232

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Hotel

Stay Date: 05/03/15, a customer aged 65+ from Warrington who stayed at 3* Grand Hotel Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

Good hotel in great location, good entertainment. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Scarborough stay

Stay Date: 13/02/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Royal Hotel & Spa Scarborough (Half Board Offer) in Scarborough wrote this review.

Regrettably this was the most disappointing of my Superbreaks. I had no concerns about the accommodation but the food was poorly prepared in some cases; particularly when I could not get my fork See More  Read more information into the black pudding. There were insufficient waiting staff to service the number of guests at the hotel. This meant that staff were trying to cover all of the tables rather than their own set whichled to delays in meals being served and wine being delivered to the table in good time. The lack of staff at the bar also meant delays in being served for a number of my fellow guests and I. Our sleepwas disturbed on the second night by a 'gentleman' guest shouting profanities at the top of his voice outside our room. Our weekend was not ruined as we would not allow it to be so but neverthelessthis was a disappointing first, and last, visit to a Britannia Hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Filey coastal  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Stay Date: 06/02/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Durham who stayed at 3* Grand Hotel Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

For the price we paid the hotel was adequate. The breakfast was o.k., the bedroom was clean and warm but the public areas of the hotel were cold. Good central location See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ask Italian  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The Grand

Stay Date: 29/11/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Grand Hotel Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

Really enjoyed our stay at the Grand, but the parking is bad, we had to use the nearest multi story car park which is only round the corner, besides that we loved it. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Overall

Stay Date: 14/11/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* The Royal Hotel & Spa Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

We had an excellent stay as ever at the royal. After a sticky patch it is coming right back again and showing it's pedigree! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great time in Scarborough

Stay Date: 03/11/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 2* Clifton Hotel in Scarborough wrote this review.

The Clifton is in need of decorating. We had a great stay, the staff were very nice. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lighthouse  
Peasholme Park  
The Spa  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
winking willy  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Week End in Scarborough & Whitby.

Stay Date: 31/10/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Clifton Hotel in Scarborough wrote this review.

Week End In Scarborough. Downstairs in the Hotel very good. Especially the Bar area and TV areas. Also would recommend the food from the Bar Menu. Upstairs in need of modernizing. But still clean See More  Read more information and tidy with a great view of the Seafront. For the price I paid I was well satisfied. Stayed in Scarborough to attend the Goth Festival at Whitby. Was very good with a couple of late nights. Thearea around Whitby and Scarborough is spectacular with loads of things to do. We will be back next year.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Scarborough Castle.  
Scarborough Sea Front.  
Whitby Goth Festival.  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Grand Hotel

Stay Date: 23/10/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Grand Hotel Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

I was a little reticent when I booked the Grand Hotel because it was so cheap. When I arrived and booked in at reception I was taken aback by the sheer size and scale of the building. The lobby is See More  Read more information spectacular with ornate decorations and an amazing staircase accessing the first floor gallery accommodation and ball room. The breakfast room also has some of the most amazing views over the NorthShore Bay. The upper floors of the hotel however are a different story. Long dowdy corridors and, sadly, plenty of cheap and cheerful 'wood chip' wall paper. My room was on the third floor at the end ofa very long corridor. It was clean and had everything I needed, including a toilet and very nice shower, a TV and tea and coffee making facilities. My only real criticism is the hotels policy to allowguests to keep dogs in their rooms. I've never stayed in any hotel before where this is permitted and to be honest its a little off putting. The thought that you may be sleeping in a bed that's beenused by a dog before you is awful. I'm also not keen on the thought that many dogs carry 'little friends' about them that can easily infest carpets etc. That aside, I'm really glad I stayed at TheGrand Hotel in Scarborough if only to tell my friends where not to stay when visiting what is otherwise a very nice seaside town. The local people are also very pleasant and welcoming.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The promenade  
Scarborough Castle  
Spa Centre  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Nice town

Stay Date: 19/09/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Grand Hotel Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

Couldn't visit any places due to losing your parking space. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Italian  
Tricolis  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in Scarborough

Stay Date: 12/09/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Grand Hotel Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

Hotel OK, weather dry but windy. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 31 - 40 of 232 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001507 @ 06/12/2017 10:38:16

Last rendered @ 18/12/2017 14:30:09

Last rendered @ 18/12/2017 14:30:09

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.