Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Scarborough & Area

Scarborough & Area Holiday Reviews

Harbour & Castle, Scarborough

Take a look through our fantastic mix of modern and traditional hotels in Scarborough for a break to remember. Britain’s first seaside resort is as fun as ever, and jam-packed with activities for people of all ages to enjoy. With two sandy beaches, a busy fishing harbour, dramatic cliffs, a castle, fantastic parks, and a town centre shopping mall, there’s much to see and do.

Enjoy an array of amusements, donkey rides, evening theatre shows and of course some ice cream and fish and chips! Most Scarborough hotels provide an ideal base for exploring this charming seaside town and we offer a great range of hotels to suit all budgets and needs. Close to our hotels in Scarborough, the North Yorkshire coastline offers picturesque vistas, magnificent cliff views, rolling moors and stunning countryside.

  • The town’s top attractions include the breath-taking views from Scarborough Castle and the always popular SEA LIFE Centre
  • Take the family to the ever-fun amusements or, on a nice day, find yourselves rowing around pretty, Oriental-themed Peasholm Park
  • Head to the famous Stephen Joseph Theatre – having premiered many of Alan Aykbourn’s plays, the theatre is one of the region’s best, and known for being a champion of new writing
  • Explore top attractions a short drive from Scarborough, including Bridlington’s promenade, the fishing village of Robin Hood’s Bay and Whitby's famous ruined Abbey.
Pre-book hotels in Scarborough and the surrounding area along with return rail travel to make your break to the seaside even more relaxing. Check out our fantastic range of Scarborough hotels and offers in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 235

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Scarborough

Stay Date: 28/04/06, a customer from Seahouses who stayed at 3* Grand Hotel Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

Break was for Father`s 82 nd birthday. Did not "do" much,just a family get together as my brother was able to join us. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in Scarborough

Stay Date: 03/05/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Clifton Hotel in Scarborough wrote this review.

Arrived to Clifton hotel to be told no car park so had to pay them for 2 day pass tom park on road. Hotel manageress checked us in, rude unwelcoming no friendly greeting. Room grotty, on 3rd floor See More  Read more information old lift which was nor available due to the fact that it was the only one,unkempt with torn carpet layer of dust under bed, no valance (which could have hidden this) bathroom mould on side of showerand shower head full of lime scale. Went straight to reception to ask if there was another room. They were full but only twin bedded room offered and as this was our wedding anniversary and was not whatwe asked for our only alternative was to keep the room. Room maids were sent in to re-service the room. We would not go back.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Peasholm Park  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Time for a real makeover!

Stay Date: 01/01/90, a customer who stayed at 3* The Royal Hotel & Spa Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

Gift vouchers from SuperBreak used in part for a birthday weekend in Scarborough. Royal Hotel is in a central location yet with Sea views- what more could we want ! Well if you like a rabbit warren See More  Read more information museum from the 70's this is for you! The hotel entrance is grand and does not indicate what your room may be like. The room was found on the 5th floor- not easy to locate as one lift only goes tothe 4th!. A large room and spacious bathroom with a good view of the South Bay, spoilt by the windows which had broken sash in parts and had not been cleaned in a long time. Add that there was onlyone towel and the bulb in the light above the bathroom mirror was not working and it became clear this is a hotel in need of major refurbishment - NOTE this was identified as an executive room! Onchecking out we were told we were one hour late as check out time was clearly stipulated on the welcome letter as 10 am - it is not, whilst the booklet in the room stipulates very clearly it is 11am.On stating this with the individual he said he would give us the benefit of the doubt! Breakfast was pretty good and everyone works hard to keep the food coming. Breakfast Buffet had reasonablechoice although I did draw the line at Chips!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Week End in Scarborough & Whitby.

Stay Date: 31/10/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Clifton Hotel in Scarborough wrote this review.

Week End In Scarborough. Downstairs in the Hotel very good. Especially the Bar area and TV areas. Also would recommend the food from the Bar Menu. Upstairs in need of modernizing. But still clean See More  Read more information and tidy with a great view of the Seafront. For the price I paid I was well satisfied. Stayed in Scarborough to attend the Goth Festival at Whitby. Was very good with a couple of late nights. Thearea around Whitby and Scarborough is spectacular with loads of things to do. We will be back next year.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Scarborough Castle.  
Scarborough Sea Front.  
Whitby Goth Festival.  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Scarborough stay

Stay Date: 13/02/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Royal Hotel & Spa Scarborough (Half Board Offer) in Scarborough wrote this review.

Regrettably this was the most disappointing of my Superbreaks. I had no concerns about the accommodation but the food was poorly prepared in some cases; particularly when I could not get my fork See More  Read more information into the black pudding. There were insufficient waiting staff to service the number of guests at the hotel. This meant that staff were trying to cover all of the tables rather than their own set whichled to delays in meals being served and wine being delivered to the table in good time. The lack of staff at the bar also meant delays in being served for a number of my fellow guests and I. Our sleepwas disturbed on the second night by a 'gentleman' guest shouting profanities at the top of his voice outside our room. Our weekend was not ruined as we would not allow it to be so but neverthelessthis was a disappointing first, and last, visit to a Britannia Hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Filey coastal  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Grand Hotel

Stay Date: 09/04/15, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Grand Hotel Scarborough - Internal Rooms in Scarborough wrote this review.

The 'Old Lady' is in desperate need for a refurbishment. Back in her days she would have been magnificent but now she is showing her years. The staff have no customer service ability and have See More  Read more information absolutely no personality. It's a shame! Would not recommend or return.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Sea cruise  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Overall

Stay Date: 12/06/15, a customer aged 65+ from Warrington who stayed at 3* Grand Hotel Scarborough - Internal Rooms in Scarborough wrote this review.

Hotel location was good, food at hotel was poor and the open air concert was super. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Open Air Concert  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wackers  
Scabby manor  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lot of money to stay in a run down hotel

Stay Date: 28/08/15, a customer aged 25-44 from Richmond who stayed at 3* The Royal Hotel & Spa Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

Hotel is very run down in need of some updating. Staff were nice but not enough of them. There was only one poor bar man on duty in the hotel bar when there were a lot of people waiting to be See More  Read more information served, but he still managed to keep a smile on his face. Our room was small but clean, but paper peeling off the walls and also the light fitting looked very unsafe! Overall I would not stay here againuntil changes have been made, and would have expected more as it was an expensive stay!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Scarborough Birthday Stay

Stay Date: 15/09/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Spalding who stayed at 3* Grand Hotel Scarborough in Scarborough wrote this review.

Hotel room was very tired and in need of decoration. Windows (because of being on 4th floor) were very dirty. No WiFi reception in room, so had to go out and stand on the balcony of 'the See More  Read more information circle'. Corridors, lifts and breakfast room also very tired, and corridor outside our room constantly smelt of cigarette smoke. The hotel is in a good location, though, and very useful being next to thefunicular. Lovely views over the same from the breakfast room.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wetherspoons  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Scarborough Break

Stay Date: 05/07/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 2* Clifton Hotel (3 or 4 night Half Board Offer) in Scarborough wrote this review.

Housekeeping standard in room below expectations. Wi-Fi available in public areas only with poor reception. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Peasholme Park  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 191 - 200 of 235 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100637 @ 17/08/2017 08:58:34

Last rendered @ 19/08/2017 21:48:55

Last rendered @ 19/08/2017 21:48:55

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.