Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Scarborough & Area

Scarborough & Area Holiday Reviews

Harbour & Castle, Scarborough

Take a look through our fantastic mix of modern and traditional hotels in Scarborough for a break to remember. Britain’s first seaside resort is as fun as ever, and jam-packed with activities for people of all ages to enjoy. With two sandy beaches, a busy fishing harbour, dramatic cliffs, a castle, fantastic parks, and a town centre shopping mall, there’s much to see and do.

Enjoy an array of amusements, donkey rides, evening theatre shows and of course some ice cream and fish and chips! Most Scarborough hotels provide an ideal base for exploring this charming seaside town and we offer a great range of hotels to suit all budgets and needs. Close to our hotels in Scarborough, the North Yorkshire coastline offers picturesque vistas, magnificent cliff views, rolling moors and stunning countryside.

  • The town’s top attractions include the breath-taking views from Scarborough Castle and the always popular SEA LIFE Centre
  • Take the family to the ever-fun amusements or, on a nice day, find yourselves rowing around pretty, Oriental-themed Peasholm Park
  • Head to the famous Stephen Joseph Theatre – having premiered many of Alan Aykbourn’s plays, the theatre is one of the region’s best, and known for being a champion of new writing
  • Explore top attractions a short drive from Scarborough, including Bridlington’s promenade, the fishing village of Robin Hood’s Bay and Whitby's famous ruined Abbey.
Pre-book hotels in Scarborough and the surrounding area along with return rail travel to make your break to the seaside even more relaxing. Check out our fantastic range of Scarborough hotels and offers in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 232

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Eden Camp

Stay Date: 30/07/07, a customer from Larbert who stayed at 2* Clifton Hotel in Scarborough wrote this review.

A must see exhibition! Well worth spending a whole day there. 2nd world war p.o.w camp with all the huts now housing various stages of the war. Thought the kids might get a bit bored but my 8year See More  Read more information old son loved it!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Flamingo Land  
National Railway Museum  
Eden Camp  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bradleys Fish & Chips, South Bay  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Scarborough

Stay Date: 22/10/07, a customer from Cramlington who stayed at 2* Clifton Hotel in Scarborough rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Scarborough SEA LIFE & Marine Sanctuary  
Peasholm Park  
South Bay  
Scalby Mills Pub  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Scalby Mills PH  
 
 

Clifton

Stay Date: 16/11/07, a customer from Coventry who stayed at 2* Clifton Hotel in Scarborough wrote this review.

Enjoyed our stay so much last year (NT Connections weekend) we booked again this year. Ah well. No heating on the first night (free standing heater provided Saturday) Slightly grumpy staff - a lot See More  Read more information of back turning as advice was about to be sought. Bit disappointing - not going there next year.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stephen Joseph Theatre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Fish Cafe  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Windy and Miserable Weekend in Scarborough

Stay Date: 07/03/08, a customer from Chelmsford who stayed at 2* Clifton Hotel in Scarborough wrote this review.

The Hotel needs complete refurbishment in the bedrooms. All but one of the windows were sealed with paint, including the bathroom window, which meant that bad smells filled the bedroom. The room was See More  Read more information far too hot as the only window opened just 5-6". The furniture was tatty. Wallpaper was falling off the walls and the bath/shower was old and looked as though it held germs of all sorts. We camehome a day as I found it too uncomfortable to sleep. Scarborough was bleak. We had to walk into the the town otherwise we'd have lost our parking spot in the small car park. Wouldn't recommend toanyone. Was very disappointed.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Scarborough

Stay Date: 28/03/08, a customer from Wigan who stayed at 2* Clifton Hotel in Scarborough wrote this review.

Amongst the many attractions that York has to offer, I can thoroughly recommend a visit to the rail museum especially for rail lovers. information, demonstrations and you can buy a snack. Also the See More  Read more information York wheel is not to be missed, which is adjacent the museum. The weather in Scarborough at Easter was not too great, but I had fun taking photos of the young watching the waves of the North seacascade onto the promenade, and getting wet. York Minster is another great attraction, and finally a sail on the river Ooze. appropriately named, it does flood in heavy rain.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Scarborough  
York  
National Railway Museum, York  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Scarborough

Stay Date: 25/07/08, a customer who stayed at 2* Clifton Hotel in Scarborough rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Clifton Hotel Restaurant  
 
 

A Wet Weekend

Stay Date: 03/08/08, a customer from York who stayed at 2* Clifton Hotel in Scarborough wrote this review.

The hotel was right on the front and the room overlooked the sea. The real bonus was a blue plaque saying that Wilfred Owen stayed there. The staff were lovely and extremely helpful at all times. See More  Read more information Meals were good, but I wouldn't have wanted to pay the full price for them. Our room was at the top of the stairs and therefore a bit noisey as people kept having conversations outside our room. Themorning was hot and the room boiling as you could only open a small window (would choose a different room in the future), but would use the hotel again. Scarborough is interesting with lots to do on afirst visit. (castle, fun park, theme park, Sealife Centre, beach and several places on the way in) This was my tenth so I'd already tried most things. The weather ranged from balmy to torrential inthe same day. There was a Seafest going on which offered some folk music, comedy and crafts for the adults and more for the children.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Scarborough Boat Trip  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Scarborough in summer

Stay Date: 17/08/08, a customer from Brough who stayed at 2* Clifton Hotel in Scarborough wrote this review.

Although very rainy while we were there, we enjoyed the sea air, especially the walk between North & South bays. We look forward to going again when the building work in North bay is finished. We See More  Read more information hope that there will be more facilities there. Lazytown - Very good show for children. Lots of audience participation. Robbie Rotton was really good in the stage show.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Scarborough Castle  
Sea Life Centre  
Naval Display Peasholme Park  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic Weekend in Yorkshire

Stay Date: 16/08/08, a customer from Market Rasen who stayed at 2* Clifton Hotel in Scarborough wrote this review.

This break was booked as a surprise for my partners birthday - and its fair to say we both loved it!!We visited Whitby on the first day then booked in to our hotel - the staff were friendly and the See More  Read more information hotel was lovely!!We found an amazing restauraunt in Scarborough called Tricollos and we would highly recommend it to anyone visiting - the staff, atmosphere and food was excellent!!The hotel wasright on the seafront and our room overlooked the sea - we couldn't have asked for a nicer location - we'll be going back again!!!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Sealife Centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tricollos  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Scarborough

Stay Date: 17/11/08, a customer from Huddersfield who stayed at 2* Clifton Hotel in Scarborough rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 
 

Showing 131 - 140 of 232 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001475 @ 22/11/2017 09:43:17

Last rendered @ 24/11/2017 15:06:43

Last rendered @ 24/11/2017 15:06:43

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.