Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

The Principal York (2 Night Offer & 1 Night Dinner) Reviews (York)

Station Road, York, North Yorkshire, YO24 1AA, England
The Principal York (2 Night Offer & 1 Night Dinner)

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

Star Rating:

5 stars:
SuperBreak Customer Rating:
 
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating:
The Principal York (2 Night Offer & 1 Night Dinner) - Junior Suite

Average TripAdvisor Traveller Rating:

  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness

Average Customer Rating:

  • Sleep
  • Breakfast
  • Staff
  • Destination
 

Read reviews below or click here to view the hotel product page

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews
  • TripAdvisor Traveller Reviews

Good stay in York

Stay Date: 01/09/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Lovely. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Park  
Open Top Bus Tour  
Museums york  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
Pasted  
Take way  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Break in York

Stay Date: 25/04/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

The hotel is fabulous - recently refurbished right next to the station. The room was a little disappointing as it was very small. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent See More  Read more information especially the breakfasts. Location brilliant about 10 min walk to the city centre.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rustique  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in York

Stay Date: 24/03/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

We arrived in York and our Hotel was less than a 2 minute walk away. An ideal location if you travel by train. York is a beautiful place to visit with lots to do for all the family. Our hotel was See More  Read more information perfect in every way. The staff could not be more helpful and nothing was too much trouble.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Minster  
York Chocolate Factory  
York baths  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Red Chilli  
Pizza Express  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

York break brilliant

Stay Date: 14/03/17, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

We stayed at the Principal in York right next to the station. Lovely hotel, wonderful staff and right next to the station and a lovely view of York Minster. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Roman Wall  
Yorkminster  
Train to Harrogate  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Botanist  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Superb Birthday Break

Stay Date: 26/02/17, a customer aged 65+ from Lincoln who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

A delightful hotel, ideally situated just a few minutes stroll across the river to the historic town centre. Beautifully decorated and having an old world charm. The staff were courteous and See More  Read more information exceptional throughout. Afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast were all of the highest standard and delicious. Parking was plentiful and good value. We were upgraded to a superior deluxe room, overlooking theMinster. All in all a fantastic stay in a quality hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Castle Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great 2 Days in York

Stay Date: 12/02/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

The hotel was really good, fantastic location next to train station and perfect for getting into city only 5 mins walk. The restaurant in the hotel was fantastic and all the staff very friendly both See More  Read more information at dinner and breakfast. Also the leisure facilities were good and again staff very friendly. Bedroom in hotel catered for everything also one of the best showers I have had in a hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Little Italy  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Birthday break in York

Stay Date: 13/01/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

The hotel decor and ambience were superb. The quality of the breakfast was excellent - loved the granola! The staff gave us some kind touches such as a drink for my partner on his birthday and an See More  Read more information extra late checkout. The hotel evening dinner main courses of fish and chips and lamb were very good, but the starters were so large we didn't get to the pudding! The location was excellent as wewere travelling by train and the entrance to the hotel is virtually on the platform! We did a treasure trail which started from the station and was good fun, a great way to see the Minster.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bettys  
Underground bunker  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Single travel travails

Stay Date: 27/12/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Gorgeous hotel, perfect location for me, huge and comfortable room, bathroom fitted for someone with disabilities which I don't have, but no matter. But is it just coincidence that the three times See More  Read more information this year I've stayed in hotels 3* (Southsea), 4* (austria) and 5* (this time) the location and aspect of my room has been a little disappointing? This time, a panoramic view of the basement area walland a fine range of piping and air-conditioning units, a slice of sky if I was close enough to the window. It just gets a bit wearing. I was offered an alternative overlooking the station, but as Ineeded to sleep I turned this down. The Refectory restaurant ambience is really lovely, the staff brilliant, the food a bit middling. But it was the week between Xmas and New Year. But I'd go back,forewarned and forearmed by this experience, as it is just such a really lovely, lovely hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Mini break

Stay Date: 18/12/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

We had a lovely time at The Principal York. Staff were excellent - were really helpful especially when we had a malfunction with our room lock. Excellent if you are travelling by train as so See More  Read more information near. Only criticism would be the size of the room very small but the furnishings were of high quality.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambiiente  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

2 night break in York

Stay Date: 14/12/16, a customer aged 65+ from South Yorkshire who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

2 nights at The Principal, Station Road and 3 days exploring York to celebrate my birthday. The hotel is a vast building of Victorian splendour and I would recommend it wholeheartedly. All the staff See More  Read more information were friendly and helpful, the meal we had there was very good and the bedroom was spacious and comfortable. An extra bonus is that it is next to the train station so very convenient (if you'retravelling by train that is). Also a 10 minute walk across the bridge to the town centre.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Association of Voluntary Guides walking tour  
Treasurer's House National Trust  
Guided tour of the Minster  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rustique  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Brilliant Short Break

Stay Date: 05/12/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

My wife and I spent two wonderful nights in The Principal York Hotel. Excellent well equipped room with king size bed, huge shower room, our room was at the rear of the hotel overlooking the station See More  Read more information but this in no way detracted from our stay. All of the staff are to be complimented they are first class. Dining is excellent and no way could anyone complain about the breakfast, ample choice tosuit all tastes. Didn't have a chance to use the leisure facilities but I shall be packing my swimming trunks when we return. One observation, not a complaint! My wife was disappointed that there wereno drawers in the room.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Christmas Market  
Castle Museum  
Railway Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Christmas break in York

Stay Date: 28/11/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

We had a lovely break staying at The Principal in York (formerly the Royal York.) the hotel was ideally located next to York rail station, with access to the hotel from one of the platforms, which See More  Read more information was perfect as we travelled to York by train. The hotel was amazing having been recently refurbished. The reception and surrounding area was beautifully decorated for Christmas and the views from thegarden room across to The Minster were fabulous. We had a room on the second floor which was very luxurious and had a fabulous en suite. The food in the dining room both for dinner and breakfastwas excellent. It was disappointing that the service in the dining room and garden room was a little slow e.g. Breakfast coffee/toast arriving part way through breakfast, and cookies arriving aftercoffee had been drunk in garden room. However this did not spoil our stay too much and we would return again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Christmas Market  
York Minster  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Browns  
Baileys tea room  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Weekend Break

Stay Date: 20/11/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

A marvellous break away from which we had a good deal of pampering and food. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Roman Baths  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambiente  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in York

Stay Date: 21/10/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

As expected for a 5 star hotel it was excellent. Very convenient for all the attractions as just outside the city walls. Wonderful food. Beautiful gardens all over the city. Very relaxing. Would go See More  Read more information back.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
City Walls  
York Minster  
Shambles  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Royal York Hotel break

Stay Date: 11/10/16, a customer aged 65+ from Church Road who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Grand hotel, newly refurbished, public spaces very stylish. Staff excellent. Refectory evening dinner excellent. Breakfast of good quality, hot food could be hotter. Standard double rooms very See More  Read more information small, bit cramped, no chair, a bit dark, but cosy and comfortable. Bathroom very good. Fantastic location - walked from station platform to entrance. Close to city centre. Lovely gardens. Parkingavailable and this can be a real trial in York, so a big bonus.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Art Gallery  
Betty's  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Betty's  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

York weekend

Stay Date: 24/09/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

The Royal York Hotel is beautiful. Decor is very classy. We stayed in a standard room, the room was very nice but if you were spending a long time in your room you may want to consider upgrading as See More  Read more information the room was very small with a tiny bathroom. Service was very slow especially at breakfast time. It looked as though there was not enough staff on duty. Overall I would not hesitate recommendingthis hotel as the location is perfect for a visit to York.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hop On Hop Off Bus  
York Minster  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bills  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Visit to York

Stay Date: 21/09/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Beautiful hotel and fantastic position. Rooms and bathroom excellent. Not happy about having to climb two flights of stairs to a room on the 4th Floor because the lift only goes to the third. Food See More  Read more information at dinner mediocre and hot food at breakfast not good either. Toast and coffee cold on arrival. Not pleased to be offered £4 back of the £60 put on my friends credit card on arrival. When queried wewere told that it was for drinks at the bar which we did not have so they deleted that. Then told us that the inclusive dinner was only partially included to the value of £22 each and we should havebeen told that on arrival which we were not. Luckily I had all the paper work and argued the point. Eventually they refunded £40 instead of £4. It was not a nice way to end the visit.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great weekend at The Royal York Hotel

Stay Date: 12/08/16, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Hotel was lovely. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Castle Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jamies Italian  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Not a five star

Stay Date: 12/07/16, a customer aged 65+ from Newton Aycliffe who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Stayed while refurbishment was being done and decided to return when complete...big mistake. The room was tiny - barely any room to sit on the one stool, never mind the fact that the wardrobe was See More  Read more information full with a fridge, safety box, hair dryer, iron and ironing board (which was necessary as had to live out of case for two nights) as there were no draws to put any clothes. The room was far too smallfor a double bed, may have been ok for one night stop over. What a disappointment the restaurant was, certainly not five star, tables far too small, too close together and the food was only what can bedescribed as Pub Grub! Service was moderate. I can only think that the only reason this hotel has received a Five Star rating is for the leisure facilities, staff wearing uniforms and the suitescertainly not for the basic rooms (classic).   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Poccolino  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel facilities

Stay Date: 24/06/16, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Hotel facilities made full use of pool which was very warm. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
City Tour Bus  
Train Museum  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Great York Break

Stay Date: 15/03/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

The Royal York Hotel was grand, stylish, but very traditional. It had Edwardian style furniture and fittings, but pristine, thanks to a recent refit. The room was smallish but really well decorated See More  Read more information and had every feature you would need including flat screen TV and walk in shower. Our deal included afternoon tea, which was served in the grandeur of the Garden Room and which is included excellentwarm savouries prior to the standard but delicious, sandwiches and cakes. My only disappointment was with the dinner part of the deal which included free dinner on one night. This turned out torefer to the very unappetising and limited Early Bird menu or a set amount from the A La Carte menu. We decided to order from the latter, but the allocated amount did not go far and did not even cover themost expensive main course. We enjoyed the food but a free meal cost rather a lot. An improved set menu would probably help with this. Breakfast was very good with a wide choice of food and all wellprepared. Tea, coffee and toast were served at the table so no queuing at drinks dispensers or toasters! The hotel is next to the main railway station, but we never heard any trains go past. It isclose to the National Rail Museum and only a short walk to the Minster and city centre. Overall, we really liked this hotel and the city of York and would definitely return.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
City Walls  
York Minster  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Weekend In York

Stay Date: 14/12/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Stockton-On-Tees who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

The hotel has a fantastic location, we could see the minster from our room. Lovely breakfast and great staff. Good value as we had 1st night dinner included. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Minster  
Bettys  
Xmas Markets  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lucia  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great mini break in York

Stay Date: 14/12/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Stockport who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

The Royal York Hotel was an excellent choice for our stay in York. Great location, friendly staff and value for money. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zizzi  
Cafe Rouge  
Wildes  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in York

Stay Date: 17/03/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

The hotel was very good. We thought the food and service was excellent. We were only there for a few days but found there was plenty to do - The York Wheel, York Minster, Castle Museum, The Shambles See More  Read more information and shopping all just a short walk away.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Minster  
Castle Museum  
The Shambles  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

plenty to do in york for any age

Stay Date: 25/07/12, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

went on river ouse trip. good value also city tour which when purchased together gave discount also went to viking museum which was also good value walked the wall which surrounds the city which See More  Read more information good views is free which is an ad ded bonusif you have children   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Viking Museum  
york minster  
city @ river boat trip  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Just snack various places  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

City Break To York

Stay Date: 04/04/12, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Everything ran smoothly with the rail travel and hotel accomadation and I thought the break great value. Staff in the Royal York could not have been nicer and more helpful. Tons to do and see in See More  Read more information York, a city that I would return to time & time again. All told a most refreshing break, just a shame about the weather.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Rail Museum  
The Story Of Chocolate  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cafe Rouge  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In York

Stay Date: 09/03/12, a customer from Uk who stayed at this hotel rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Museum  
Viking Centre  
York Minster  
Rivercruise  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal Hotel  
Baltimore Grill  
La Pancha  
 
 

Old York, Old York

Stay Date: 15/11/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

The royal york is in a great location, step off the train and inside (but only 5 mins into town over the bridge). It is an architectually beautiful purpose built building with good public areas but See More  Read more information could do with a little sprucing up in the corridors/rooms. Nice high ceilings but can still see the cob webs! On the plus good room sizes. Real problem is noise! If you stay here be sure to ask for aroom off the road otherwise you can forget any sleep at all, restaurant food was really nice but waitresses stood around and did not top our wine once which was disappointing. Spa facilities aren'tgreat, clean and everyting you need very basic and very 'local gym' kind of stuff.. In hindsight i would have paid alittle more and gone 5 star as i did expect more.. But had a lovely time in Yorkanyway. Wouldn't stay here again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bettys Tea Rooms  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Super Break In York.

Stay Date: 10/08/11, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

The whole Superbreak experience was very good. The train journey was fast and interersting being able to look at the passing scenery. The hotel and gardens was very pleasant. Only staying two nights See More  Read more information we enjoyed the railway museum, the city walk, the sight seeing bus and all the history that surrounds york.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Sightseeing Bus  
Little Bettys  
Railway Museum  
City Wall Walk  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hole In The Wall Pub  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

A Great Day Out In York

Stay Date: 05/06/11, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Excellent weekend, hotel excellent, location lovely, pubs on the river nicer old pubs in the centre very good, day at the national railway museum. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Railway Museum  
City Wall  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Place To Stay!

Stay Date: 03/06/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Stayed for our 10 year wedding anniversary. Hotel was great, york was fantastic. Lots of lovely places to eat, drink and shop. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Worth A Second Visit.

Stay Date: 02/06/11, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Hotel great, relaxing, close to the station and quite. Easy to get to. York has many interesting places to visit. This was not our first time, because we enjoyed it so much the first time. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ghost Walk  
Wall Walk  
Shopping Town  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal York Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In York

Stay Date: 14/04/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at this hotel rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Open Top Bus Tour  
Ghost Walk  
York Minster  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bella Italia  
 
 

3 Day Visit

Stay Date: 31/03/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

View from hotel room was of the railway station portico and part of the york city wall, the royal york hotel is situated right next to the railway station, wonderful for train travellers. Visited See More  Read more information harrogate and had coffee in bettys tea rooms very nice. A visit to york would not be complete if it did not include some time at the national railway museum. Break complete.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harrogate  
York City Centre  
National Railway Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal York Hotel  
Punch Bowl York City Centre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In York

Stay Date: 30/01/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at this hotel rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
City Walls  
York Boat Trip  
Revisited University Campus  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
La Vecchia Scuola - Italian  
 
 

Short Break In York

Stay Date: 23/01/11, a customer who stayed at this hotel rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ask  
 
 

Short Break In York

Stay Date: 09/01/11, a customer who stayed at this hotel rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break In York

Stay Date: 09/01/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at this hotel rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal York Hotel  
Biltmore Bar And Grill  
 
 

Short Break In York

Stay Date: 09/01/11, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

The hotel was very nice but the room size was very small. When we asked they said we had been upgraded aleady for what we payed for. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Very Pleasing Break

Stay Date: 30/12/10, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Visited York for a few days inbetween christmas and the new year staying at the royal spa hotel. Arrived by train, out of the station straight into the hotel, excellent location. Our room was not See More  Read more information ready as we had arrived early. This was no problem, we left our luggage and went to explore York. On returning to the hotel our room was ready, we settled in and ventured to the pool, steam, sauna roomfor some r and r, it was lovely well worth a visit. That evening our package included a meal within the hotel, which was a real treat, the food was lovely. After a good nights sleep, in our mostcomfortable room we spent the day in York. Another lovely meal was had at a french restaurant (sorry can't remember its name but was near the Jorvik centre). All in all a lovely break, would recommendhotel, location and York any time.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Went On The Ghost Walk Meeting At The Shambles  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel Room Tiny

Stay Date: 14/11/10, a customer from Uk who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

I have stayed at this hotel many times, however on this occasion was very disappointed by the room we were given. It was tiny I would say it was suitable as a single, it was also right next to where See More  Read more information the deliveries came into the hotel so we were woken every morning at 6am, so it was not a restful break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Lovely Weekend Break In York

Stay Date: 17/10/10, a customer from Uk who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Their is loads to do in York - museums, shopping and if you stay in Royal York Hotel the leisure facilities are fab and not forgetting a visit to little betty's tea room as a special treat. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
La Tasca  
Evening Meal In Royal York Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Royal York Hotel

Stay Date: 17/10/10, a customer from Uk who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Have no real complaints about this hotel except for maybe the room was in need of a lift, bathroom area in particular was looking worn. Staff were pleasant and attentive, restaurant was exeptional See More  Read more information and leisure facility's were also good. I would stay there again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Royal York Hotel

Stay Date: 25/09/10, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Hotel and facilities were excellent, no issues at all. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Viking Centre  
National Railway Museum  
York Minster  
Local Market  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Great Break In York

Stay Date: 16/09/10, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

I would highly recommend a stay in the Royal York hotel through Superbreak. It was very easy to book with no complications. We traveled by train and when we got there we were very happy to see that See More  Read more information the hotel was seconds away from the train station. On arriving at the hotel we were very warmingly welcomed, the staff are lovely and the hotel was superb, very clean and nicely decorated, you hadeverything you could wish for in your room too. I def would stay there again, great location for to see and do everything 10 out of 10.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Dungeons  
Railway Museum  
York Minster  
River trip  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In York

Stay Date: 11/08/10, a customer from Uk who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

The Royal York hotel lived up to our expectations. We stayed there some 30 years ago and were delighted to find that it has been updated whilst still keeping the old character. Location is perfect. See More  Read more information We visited the Minster and attended choral evensong (a must). We also went to the railway museum which we thoroughly enjoyed.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Minster  
Railway Museum, York  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ask  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic Break In York

Stay Date: 30/07/10, a customer from Uk who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

We stayed for 2 nights in the Royal York Hotel and enjoyed every minute- pity we didn't have longer. The staff in the hotel were extremely good and very helpful, rooms large spacious and See More  Read more information exceptionally clean. York itself was lovely and we would love to come back soon.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Castle Howard  
Shambles  
Minster  
York Shopping  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pub Meal In Centre Of York  
Restaurant In Royal York Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

York Weekend

Stay Date: 18/07/10, a customer from Uk who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Greeted by pleasant staff at Royal Hotel. Asked if stairs were a problem as they had a nice room on the 5th floor but lift only went to 3rd. Worth the climb, very spacious with views over gardens to See More  Read more information York Minster. Shower rubbish. Dinner at hotel very good. Bar very pricey. Walked for miles taking in the sights with plenty of stops at coffee shops and 'old fashioned' pubs.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shambles & Shops  
York City Walls  
York Minster  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Living Room  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Loved It

Stay Date: 17/06/10, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

We stayed at the Royal York for a couple of nights but extended our stay else where because it was full. Hotel was lovely (lathough tv was too small to watch films on). York pass is worth getting See More  Read more information and we tried to do as much as possible. York has a great atmosphere about it, loved every second of it. Hotel was right next to station and only a five minute walk to town. Spa was great in hotel andstaff were a credit to the hotel. Would go back there.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Dungeon  
Haunted House  
York Minister  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Betty's Tea Room  
Meal At Hazelwood Castle  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The Excellent Royal York

Stay Date: 29/01/10, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Our stay was to celebrate my partners birthday, although no one knew this. The check in on arrival was professional and speedy. The room a delight, being large and airy with an amazing view of the See More  Read more information Minster and the hotel gardens. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night and I have to say the food was devine, top class food and service. Breakfast was fabulous, with attentive staff on handto help. The location of the Royal York helped us decide where to stay, but everything was perfect. We will stay again, very soon. A perfect birthday break, made perfect by an amazing hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Dungeon  
The Minster  
Clifford Tower  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal York Hotel Restaurant  
Ha Ha  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Superb Superbreak Weekend In York

Stay Date: 11/12/09, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

We had such a terrific time my reviews probably sound rather boring as everything was just perfect - hence my scoring excellent on all counts (and I am not too easily pleased!). We had a lovely room See More  Read more information - bed was very large and extremely comfortable - lots of lovely pillows and fluffy bath towels. However, it seems the fridge in our room was missing though we would not have been aware of this unlessour friends had not shown us the fridge in their room - our rooms were identical so I can only presume the one in our room had broken and been removed. This was certainly not a problem for us as weare partial to red wine rather than white and certainly all other amenities in the hotel were excellent. Lucia's is a busy, thriving restaurant/cocktail bar and on both our visits to York this year wehave returned - food is good and plentiful and staff are a pleasure - so friendly and helpful. Pity they don't have a Lucia's in Newcastle - we would certainly be one of their first customers. I canalso recommend Sunday lunch at the Hilton hotel in York - excellent location with a really pleasant dining room, fantastic value for money, excellent quality and again the staff are so welcoming andhelpful - a return visit is a must. Thank you Superbreak - once again we were impressed - your organisation has been really great - no problems checking in at the hotel or with the train tickets - andno I don't have shares in Superbreak - just impressed with the efficiency.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York City Walls  
Continental Market  
Festival Of Angels  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Royal York Hotel Restaurant  
Lucia's - Fab Food/Cocktails/Very Friendly Staff  
Sunday Lunch At The Hilton York Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Another Great Weekend In York

Stay Date: 11/12/09, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

We have come to York many times but the last 2 years we have stayed at The Royal York and we will stay there again. Excellent value, great position, lovely hotel, good food. We are returning to York See More  Read more information for New Years Eve 09 but could not get in The Royal York so we are staying at the Ibis and eating at Delrio's italian restaurant.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Castle Museum  
York Shops  
York Minster  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
O'Neills Irish Pub  
Yates Bar  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fab Weekend Break

Stay Date: 05/12/09, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

There isn't really much that i need to say about this break and particularly our stay at the Royal York Hotel - just three words -fabulous, fabulous, fabulous. But to qualify those three words. Our See More  Read more information room (with a view of the Minster) was fabulous - the food in the restaurant fabulous - the hotel, the staff, the whole weekend fabulous. Please if you are thinking about booking a break here - don'thesitate, do have dinner, and I hope you have as good a time here as we did.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jumbo Chinese Buffet  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In York

Stay Date: 04/12/09, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Weekend Christmas shopping break with the 'girls'. Hotel right next door to railway station and staff could not have been more friendly. We ate in the hotel the first night and meal was excellent. See More  Read more information The second night we headed for the Shambles and one or two pubs. Apart from shopping we went to the castle museum, but walking around York by the river was lovely. An excellent weekend was had by all.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Castle Museum  
Christmas Market  
York Minster  
Shops And Cafes  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Royal York Hotel Restaurant  
Bari restaurant, The Shambles  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely Break In York

Stay Date: 04/12/09, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Had a weekend with girlfriend at the Royal York for the second time this year; good hotel, helpful and friendly staff. Ate at Meltons on the saturday night, fantastic restaurant with lovely staff - See More  Read more information would recommend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Shopping  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Meltons  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In York

Stay Date: 20/11/09, a customer who stayed at this hotel rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Christmas Shopping  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zizzi Italian Restaurant  
 
 

65th Birthday Celebration

Stay Date: 29/10/09, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Wonderful few days spent in York with our friends. Weather was very kind to us albeit October. Hotel was fab. And in an excellent position. No need to take car out. Facilities were good and room was See More  Read more information good and spotlessly clean although a little small and rather hot. Would use this hotel again and would certainly recommend to others.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shambles  
Whitby  
Railway Musuem  
City Tour  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bella Pasta  
Bettys  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend In York

Stay Date: 16/10/09, a customer from Cannock from Staffordshirewho stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

On our arrival our first impressions and location of the hotel were wow. Unfortunately once allocated our room it was a dissappointment.The room was extremely tiny and hot. We had an electric fan on See More  Read more information all night turned up high to cool the room down but all it did was keep us awake due to the noise and still did not cool down the room. The hotel building, staff and food were wonderful. Overall wehad a wonderful time wandering around York city. Alongside the many things to see and do, there are many bars, coffee shops and restaurants to visit, catering for all ages and tastes.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Minster  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Oscars  
Haha Bar And Grill  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend Shopping In York

Stay Date: 16/10/09, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

The hotel was very good after we got our room sorted. We were offered 2 bedrooms before we got our room we were in which was very nice. The location is great and the staff were very helpful and See More  Read more information happy. Enjoyed and would stay at hotel again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Shopping  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Piccolinos  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In York

Stay Date: 16/10/09, a customer who stayed at this hotel rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

A Lovely Weekend

Stay Date: 02/10/09, a customer from Darlington from County Durhamwho stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 2 nights and the service was excellent. Our bedroom was comfortable and clean as also was the bathroom. If I had a minor comment it was that the heating in the See More  Read more information room was either too hot or too cold as the air condtioning was poor. The staff were very pleasant and it was good value for money.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Rail Museum  
Settle to Carlisle Railway  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

York Short Break

Stay Date: 28/08/09, a customer from Billingham from Clevelandwho stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Hotel was perfect location as it is very central, and although we arrived by car, we considered travelling by train, as the train station is next to the hotel. We saw a show at the 'railway' theatre See More  Read more information 'the railway children' which was excellent.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Railway Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Anniversary Weekend In York

Stay Date: 14/08/09, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

The hotel was situated right next door to the railway station which was perfect for us and we heard no noise at all from the railway. The view from the room was great we overlooked the gardens and See More  Read more information over the park on to the minster. We spent the weekend relaxing, walking around York, eating, drinking and doing a bit of shopping. The hotel was clean and the leisure facilities were great we used thepool, jacuzzi and steam room. The cooked breakfast was great but the fresh fruit wasn't great and there were no continental meats. The room was a good size and the bathroom was big - it could haveaccommodated a seperate shower which would have been better. The bed seemed small we would have liked a king size as that is what we have at home. There was no air con.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Haha Bar And Grill  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In York

Stay Date: 19/07/09, a customer who stayed at this hotel rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Castle Museum  
York Shops  
National Railway Museum  
 
 

Short Break In York

Stay Date: 26/06/09, a customer who stayed at this hotel rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jorvik Viking Centre  
York Minster  
Open Top Bus  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal York Hotel Restaurant  
 
 

Weekend Break In York

Stay Date: 05/06/09, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

York very beautiful plenty to see and visit. Hotel in prime spot within walking distance for shops, train restaurants museums etc. For price paid hotel room was awful very small very hot and See More  Read more information uncomfortable. First impressions on walking into the hotel which looked spacious and glamourous, very big disappointment when eventually found room, especially as this was a birthday suprise for myhusband.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break For The Not So Young

Stay Date: 22/05/09, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Great hotel the ROYAL YORK, on Station rd which as its name implies is near to, well, next to the railway station! However our room on an upper floor didn't receive any appreciable noise at all from See More  Read more information the rail operation and the Hotel was very welcoming .The room was good with all the usual additions you would wish for Staff mostly European as seems to be the case these days,were excellent and veryattentive. Food particularly breakfast was great. Only gripe we had really related to the evening meal arrangemnets whereby if you strayed of the table D'hote on to the A la carte a surcharge of £10was imposed [each] which seemed somewhat mean and an attempt to claw back some of the concession allowed on the weekend break of 'first nights dinner included' Generally tho hotel was good value. Ifyou buy a 24 hr ticket on the sightseeing bus allowing you to hop on and off anywhere around the guided area it stops right outside the Hotel, which if you're a bit on the elderly side saves a tidywalk into town!!! York itself is brilliantly lively and we will certainly go again soon. Missed the river boat trip this time but ..next time will definately go on it. The narrow pedestrianised streetsare superb with hosts of small interesting shops and loads of eating places.The sightseeing bus tour [£7each for the elderly] is pretty good value given my earlier comment and is very informative. Getthe bus with the live commentary however as this is much more fun. All in all the best weekend break we've had so far in this country.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Minster  
Bus Tour  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ha Ha grill  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend In York

Stay Date: 25/04/09, a customer from Worksop from Nottinghamshirewho stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

We used to visit York on a Fri/Sat/Sun but now prefer Sat/Sun/Mon. This way you see some of the weekend hustle and bustle but get a bit of peace and quiet on a Monday to wander around. If you have See More  Read more information a bad trip to York, you have done something very wrong!! Graet shops, great bars and restaurants and a great atmosphere!! From shopping for clothes, food, antiques, gifts, ghost and sightseeingtours, and general relaxation, York has it all. There is almost always a market on to have a look around and we recommend the artist that will do your caricature in the square at the top of theShambles. Although plenty to do during the day for families, you may struggle a little at night for the children, however there are countless Italian and other restaurants that welcome families with openarms. Once you've been to York, unfortunately you will want to keep going back!!!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
City Centre for shopping  
Clifford's tower  
City centre for Food & Drink  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Indian Lounge  
Stonegate Yard  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing Break in York

Stay Date: 10/04/09, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Great hotel where the staff were fiendly and made us feel very special.A lovely large modern room in the garden wing of the hotel ovelooking the main hotel and gardens and the train station.Only See More  Read more information heard noise from the station around seven in the morning.Lovely bar and great restaurant both serving lovely food. Ideal hotel location for our short relaxing break as we left the car parked at thehotel and walked around York shopping,eating and sight seeing.Might even leave car at home next time and use the train.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
River Ouse Cruise  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chilli Pepper Chinese Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in York

Stay Date: 10/04/09, a customer who stayed at this hotel rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Minster  
Shambles  
 
 

York

Stay Date: 03/04/09, a customer who stayed at this hotel rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
River Walk  
York City  
York Wall  
 
 

Travelling Through

Stay Date: 28/03/09, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Beautiful hotel we have been before.The table d'ote was very dull - no fresh veg except salad See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend Away

Stay Date: 27/03/09, a customer from Lincoln who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

The hotel was in an excellent location, the room was nice and clean , the bathroom could do with a refresh, and draft proofing. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harkers  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Certainly Not A 'Shambles'!

Stay Date: 21/03/09, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Relaxed in hotel spa followed by an exellent meal in restuarant. Room was first class as was the staff. Location was very central yet easy to access by car. York was very interesting and easy to See More  Read more information get around. The 'Shambles' was a step back in time and a visit to York Minster is a must. Great weekend away   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Minster  
City Tours  
Bettys  
City centre shopping  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bettys  
Happy Valley Chinese  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

York

Stay Date: 20/03/09, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Fabulous place, lots to do and see, wide range of hotels, resturants and bars.Steeped in history and shopping is great. Had to wait 45 minutes in Akbars, it was so busy.. but fabulous food and so See More  Read more information reasonable and well worth the wait! Italian a bit more expensive - but gorgeous food!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Minster  
York Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Akbars Indian restaurant  
Bertorelli's italian restaurant  
Gert and Henrys  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in York

Stay Date: 13/03/09, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Hotel wasn't great - should have been 4* but the room we stayed in had views of the Royal Mail sorting office. Very noisy, next to road with a rattling radiator in room! Very clean and comfortable See More  Read more information room though York was fantastic so the bad nights sleep did not ruin our break   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York River Cruise  
York sightseeing tour  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

York City Break

Stay Date: 07/03/09, a customer from Gateshead from Tyne And Wearwho stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Excellent room at Royal York Hotel,next to the railway station.very nice room overlooking gardens and York Minster. Staff very good and helpfull. First night dinner at the hotel very nice and See More  Read more information dining room staff very attentive and efficient.wine a little too pricey they may sell more if price reduced.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Yorkshire Museum  
Walking Tour  
York City Walls  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Strada  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in York

Stay Date: 06/03/09, a customer from Lewes from East Sussexwho stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

This was booked as a short 'get away' break. Most of our time was spent walking around York (the city wall is a very pleasant way to spend an hour or so) but we also visited some of the local See More  Read more information attractions, most memorable of which was the Railway museum which is an excellent free facility if you are interested in these things. Royal York Hotel was excellent value for the price we paid - room washuge and well equipped, bed comfortable, and, most importantly, it was quiet (especially considering the wedding reception on the Saturday night). Only slight downside is the walk from the mainentrance to the annexe we were in but this is not a major problem. Breakfast was excellent on the whole, but the tables are a little bit close together which, with people going back and forth from the helpyourself buffet, didn't make for a very relaxed experience. Also checking out took longer than I would have liked. These are, however, minor niggles and on the whole I would rate this hotel veryhighly, especially for the price we paid. Having left York, we spent a couple of nights in a B&B outside Cambridge and considering that we paid nearly as much for a room you could barely swing a cat in, anda much reduced breakfast selection (and size) I would say that the hotel was by far the better deal.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Minster  
Railway Museum  
Quilt Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Express  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in York

Stay Date: 27/02/09, a customer from Sunderland from Tyne And Wearwho stayed at this hotel rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Minster  
York Theatre Royal  
 
 

Birthday Break In York

Stay Date: 27/02/09, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Royal York Hotel was excellent, helpful and polite staff throughout, room was excellent, bar was slightly pricey but quality service. resttaurant food quality was good and staff very attentive. we See More  Read more information would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal York Hotel Reastaurant  
Zizzis  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Showing 1-80 of 80 reviews

Write a Review

The information on this website are the views and opinions of TripAdvisor members and not TripAdvisor LLC. It is provided 'as is' and we accept no responsibility for any loss, injury or inconvenience sustained by anyone resulting from this information. You should verify critical information (like visas, health and safety, customs, and transportation) with the relevant authorities before you travel.

©2007 TripAdvisor LLC. All rights reserved

Read reviews for The Principal York (2 Night Offer & 1 Night Dinner), York. We only accept reviews from customer who have booked The Principal York (2 Night Offer & 1 Night Dinner), York through us. This means better quality reviews which you can trust. View Hotel Details. These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100699 @ 24/08/2017 14:04:18

Last rendered @ 19/09/2017 18:14:57

Last rendered @ 19/09/2017 18:14:57

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForHotel

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForHotel.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.