Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

The Principal York (2 Night Offer & 1 Night Dinner) Reviews (York)

Station Road, York, North Yorkshire, YO24 1AA, England
The Principal York (2 Night Offer & 1 Night Dinner)

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

Star Rating:

5 stars:
SuperBreak Customer Rating:
 
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating:
The Principal York (2 Night Offer & 1 Night Dinner) - Junior Suite

Average TripAdvisor Traveller Rating:

  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness

Average Customer Rating:

  • Sleep
  • Breakfast
  • Staff
  • Destination
 

Read reviews below or click here to view the hotel product page

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews
  • TripAdvisor Traveller Reviews

A Lovely Weekend Break In York

Stay Date: 17/10/10, a customer from Uk who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Their is loads to do in York - museums, shopping and if you stay in Royal York Hotel the leisure facilities are fab and not forgetting a visit to little betty's tea room as a special treat. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
La Tasca  
Evening Meal In Royal York Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Royal York Hotel

Stay Date: 17/10/10, a customer from Uk who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Have no real complaints about this hotel except for maybe the room was in need of a lift, bathroom area in particular was looking worn. Staff were pleasant and attentive, restaurant was exeptional See More  Read more information and leisure facility's were also good. I would stay there again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Royal York Hotel

Stay Date: 25/09/10, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Hotel and facilities were excellent, no issues at all. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Viking Centre  
National Railway Museum  
York Minster  
Local Market  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Great Break In York

Stay Date: 16/09/10, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

I would highly recommend a stay in the Royal York hotel through Superbreak. It was very easy to book with no complications. We traveled by train and when we got there we were very happy to see that See More  Read more information the hotel was seconds away from the train station. On arriving at the hotel we were very warmingly welcomed, the staff are lovely and the hotel was superb, very clean and nicely decorated, you hadeverything you could wish for in your room too. I def would stay there again, great location for to see and do everything 10 out of 10.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Dungeons  
Railway Museum  
York Minster  
River trip  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In York

Stay Date: 11/08/10, a customer from Uk who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

The Royal York hotel lived up to our expectations. We stayed there some 30 years ago and were delighted to find that it has been updated whilst still keeping the old character. Location is perfect. See More  Read more information We visited the Minster and attended choral evensong (a must). We also went to the railway museum which we thoroughly enjoyed.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Minster  
Railway Museum, York  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ask  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic Break In York

Stay Date: 30/07/10, a customer from Uk who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

We stayed for 2 nights in the Royal York Hotel and enjoyed every minute- pity we didn't have longer. The staff in the hotel were extremely good and very helpful, rooms large spacious and See More  Read more information exceptionally clean. York itself was lovely and we would love to come back soon.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Castle Howard  
Shambles  
Minster  
York Shopping  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pub Meal In Centre Of York  
Restaurant In Royal York Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

York Weekend

Stay Date: 18/07/10, a customer from Uk who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Greeted by pleasant staff at Royal Hotel. Asked if stairs were a problem as they had a nice room on the 5th floor but lift only went to 3rd. Worth the climb, very spacious with views over gardens to See More  Read more information York Minster. Shower rubbish. Dinner at hotel very good. Bar very pricey. Walked for miles taking in the sights with plenty of stops at coffee shops and 'old fashioned' pubs.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shambles & Shops  
York City Walls  
York Minster  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Living Room  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Loved It

Stay Date: 17/06/10, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

We stayed at the Royal York for a couple of nights but extended our stay else where because it was full. Hotel was lovely (lathough tv was too small to watch films on). York pass is worth getting See More  Read more information and we tried to do as much as possible. York has a great atmosphere about it, loved every second of it. Hotel was right next to station and only a five minute walk to town. Spa was great in hotel andstaff were a credit to the hotel. Would go back there.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Dungeon  
Haunted House  
York Minister  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Betty's Tea Room  
Meal At Hazelwood Castle  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The Excellent Royal York

Stay Date: 29/01/10, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Our stay was to celebrate my partners birthday, although no one knew this. The check in on arrival was professional and speedy. The room a delight, being large and airy with an amazing view of the See More  Read more information Minster and the hotel gardens. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night and I have to say the food was devine, top class food and service. Breakfast was fabulous, with attentive staff on handto help. The location of the Royal York helped us decide where to stay, but everything was perfect. We will stay again, very soon. A perfect birthday break, made perfect by an amazing hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Dungeon  
The Minster  
Clifford Tower  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal York Hotel Restaurant  
Ha Ha  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Superb Superbreak Weekend In York

Stay Date: 11/12/09, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

We had such a terrific time my reviews probably sound rather boring as everything was just perfect - hence my scoring excellent on all counts (and I am not too easily pleased!). We had a lovely room See More  Read more information - bed was very large and extremely comfortable - lots of lovely pillows and fluffy bath towels. However, it seems the fridge in our room was missing though we would not have been aware of this unlessour friends had not shown us the fridge in their room - our rooms were identical so I can only presume the one in our room had broken and been removed. This was certainly not a problem for us as weare partial to red wine rather than white and certainly all other amenities in the hotel were excellent. Lucia's is a busy, thriving restaurant/cocktail bar and on both our visits to York this year wehave returned - food is good and plentiful and staff are a pleasure - so friendly and helpful. Pity they don't have a Lucia's in Newcastle - we would certainly be one of their first customers. I canalso recommend Sunday lunch at the Hilton hotel in York - excellent location with a really pleasant dining room, fantastic value for money, excellent quality and again the staff are so welcoming andhelpful - a return visit is a must. Thank you Superbreak - once again we were impressed - your organisation has been really great - no problems checking in at the hotel or with the train tickets - andno I don't have shares in Superbreak - just impressed with the efficiency.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York City Walls  
Continental Market  
Festival Of Angels  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Royal York Hotel Restaurant  
Lucia's - Fab Food/Cocktails/Very Friendly Staff  
Sunday Lunch At The Hilton York Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Showing 41-50 of 79 reviews

Write a Review

The information on this website are the views and opinions of TripAdvisor members and not TripAdvisor LLC. It is provided 'as is' and we accept no responsibility for any loss, injury or inconvenience sustained by anyone resulting from this information. You should verify critical information (like visas, health and safety, customs, and transportation) with the relevant authorities before you travel.

©2007 TripAdvisor LLC. All rights reserved

Read reviews for The Principal York (2 Night Offer & 1 Night Dinner), York. We only accept reviews from customer who have booked The Principal York (2 Night Offer & 1 Night Dinner), York through us. This means better quality reviews which you can trust. View Hotel Details. These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100637 @ 17/08/2017 08:58:35

Last rendered @ 23/08/2017 12:47:22

Last rendered @ 23/08/2017 12:47:22

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForHotel

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForHotel.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.