Customer Reviews by Destination - Rome & Area

Rome & Area Holiday Reviews

Colosseum, Rome

By booking a hotel in Rome, you are opening yourself up to one of the most culturally intoxicating cities in the world. From ancient Rome to the thoroughly modern-day fashion stores, the Eternal City boasts an endless list of attractions and an abundance of Rome hotels. Rome’s renowned historic attractions include the Vatican with Saint Peter’s Basilica and the Sistine Chapel, the Colosseum, the Roman Forum, and the Pantheon. But don’t leave without throwing a coin in the Trevi Fountain and climbing the Spanish Steps. Make the most of your short break in Rome by pre-booking a sightseeing tour with us along with one of our many hotels in Rome.

Perfect for a cultural getaway our hotels in Rome are located throughout the city and range from budget 2* accommodation to 5* luxurious hotels. Most of the historic sites are within walking distance of one another, so by booking any of our Rome hotels you can set off on foot and see all that this ancient city has to offer.

Famous for its local delicacies, a range of cafés, bistros and restaurants can be found close to most hotels in Rome, with a great choice in the popular districts of Piazza Navona, Centro Storico, along Via Cavour and around Termini Station. The Borgo district near the Vatican offers the cheapest options and for more authentic cuisine head to Trastevere.

Some of the must see destinations in Rome include:

  • The Vatican, Saint Peter’s Basilica and the Sistine Chapel– A short metro ride takes you to the Vatican City. Containing Saint Peter’s Basilica and the Sistine Chapel, visiting the centre of the Catholic world is a must
  • Ancient Rome and the Colosseum – Sitting across from each other, the ruins of Ancient Rome are a sight to behold, especially the archways and the law courts which give you an idea of the grandeur of ancient Rome. Awe inspiring Colosseum sits just across the road to the ruins and helps you to understand just what it must have felt like to be a Roman!
  • The Trevi Fountain – The beautiful fountain sits in the centre of Rome and is at its best lit up at night. Take a trip here and get a picture with your loved one
There is so much more of Rome to see than we could ever write down, although our Rome travel guide does contain a little more information. So why not book your Rome hotel with us now and experience the magic of the Eternal City.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 117

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Long Weekend in Rome

Stay Date: 24/10/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Church Village in Rome wrote this review.

The Hotel was fine for what we needed. Room was a bit sparse - but i've always had a good nights sleep, shower was great and the breakfast was perfect. Lots of choice. Hotel was a bit far out See More  Read more information from the town centre - but we enjoyed walking everywhere, so no issue. Because of that we found a great local restaurant, which we ate in every night.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Vatican City  
Colliseum  
Tevi Fountain  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Maman  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

3 days in Rome

Stay Date: 26/10/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Cambridge Hotel in Rome wrote this review.

Hotel Cambridge was ok, a bit basic but only used for sleeping, excellent position for walking to the monuments, great location for food had the best Carbonara in Rome in a little local restaurant See More  Read more information just round the corner after recommendation from reception. Half hour walk to Coliseum, Trevi, Spanish Steps.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bus Tour  
Collesium  
Vatican Museums & Sisten Chaple  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ice Cream shop by Trevi  
Trattatoria down steps round corner from Hotel Cambridge - Local no English spoken  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Amichevole Roma

Stay Date: 27/10/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Church Village in Rome wrote this review.

Roma is possibly the most interesting and beautiful city break so far for us. From the start we felt comfortable and at home at the Grand Hotel Del Gianicolo close to the Garibaldi area. The area See More  Read more information has fantastic views from the park spanning across the city and is a leisurely 20-25 minutes from the Vatican. The hotel was perfect and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There are bus stops closeby, one just outside the hotel gate, the 870. We took the 870 and then the 280 direct to the Stadio Olimpico to see AS Roma play. What an experience that must be recommended to any visitors who likefootball. We bought an Omnia card which we perhaps underused but we added a guided tour of the Vatican which was amazing. Our guide, Rita, took us past the mile plus long queues straight into themuseums. She guided us through all of the important bits and we finished up in the Sistine Chapel and then the Basilica. When you leave the Basilica you see the Swiss Guards. If you approach the one onthe right and ask nicely, he will give you an invitation to sit in the square for Wednesdays address by the Pope. You must get there very early on the Wednesday morning, maybe 7:30 to be sure of a seat,so it could be a long wait. We didn't do this but found out by asking someone who had been given a ticket. We took the No.75 bus from near the hotel to the Colosseum. Again, we skipped the queueswith a Roma Card that came with our Omnia Card pack. The Roma Card is essential as it gave us complete travel on the bus, metro and tram for our three days. Just scan it the first time you use it andkeep it on you at all times. The Colosseum, Palatine Hill and Roman Forum is perhaps the most important thing to see outside of the Vatican. There's a lot of work going on there in restoring certainparts of it. The floor is up in the centre and you can see the corridors and cells underneath where slaves and gladiators would be held. Other important sights are of course the Trevi fountain whichappears to be taken apart for complete restoration and cleaning. It's behind glass and there is a walkway through so you can at least get close to see what you can. The Spanish Steps are nearby and you canrelax a bit in the square at the bottom. Another 'must see' is The Pantheon, one of the most beautiful and best preserved buildings that has been in use since the 7th century. Take time to let eyesawaken to the colour and beauty in this round church/temple. We love an top bus tour and our Omnia card allowed us to hop on and off the Roma Cristiana bus. We sat on top in the sunshine and got offoccasionally to see something. Be sure to get off at the Piazza Venezia to climb the steps to see the two guards at the Monumento Nazionale a Vittorio Emanuele II, the first king of Rome. They areguarding the tomb of the unknown soldier. You can the go inside to the right and out again to take a lift to the top to see perhaps the best aerial view of the city. This is perhaps the best 7 Euros youwill spend while you're here. What else can I say other than we walked and walked. We felt safe and comfortable all of the time. The locals are very friendly and helpful. They will step in and help whenyou look like your struggling with the bus signs and always seem to be approachable. We saw no pickpockets and didn't find it expensive to eat and drink. People say a coffee will cost 10 Euros ormore in Rome. I really don't know where that happens. Starbucks in the UK is a big rip off in comparison. We took so many photographs, more than any other place we have visited and we will be back inRome soon to see a few places we missed and to relax and enjoy it for what it is, a big busy working city full of friendly people and interesting places to see. All of the time we were there which wasthe last week in October, the sun was shining which obviously had a positive effect. Grazie Roma per averci dato una fantastica pochi giorni nella vostra bellissima citte!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pantheon  
Collosseum  
Vatican & Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal Art Cafe by the Colosseum  
Carpe Diem, Gianicolo  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel location

Stay Date: 22/09/14, a customer aged 65+ from Horsham who stayed at 3* The Church Village (Special Rate) in Rome wrote this review.

Out of the centre of Rome but served by a frequent and inexpensive bus to St Peters Square. Not many restaurants in the area but a shuttle bus took us to a nearby excellent family run restaurant. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rome  
Hop On Hop Off Bus  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shiavi  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good Weekend in Rome

Stay Date: 15/08/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Pace Helvezia in Rome wrote this review.

Hotel had lovely big rooms and was in a great area, very close to Rome`s sights. Able to get to and from hotel using buses, booked while on the plane. No cars in main central area so safe with See More  Read more information family members to walk leisurely. Enjoyed walking round Rome, really relaxing atmosphere despite being in a capital. Food is lovely, everywhere you go-cheap or pricey places both good! Night life reallynice - music playing as you meander around side streets and along Tiber river. Incredible place to visit.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pantheon  
Trastevere  
Colosseum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ginos  
Piazza Navona  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

How to get around the city

Stay Date: 19/05/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Retford who stayed at 4* Donna Camilla Savelli in Rome wrote this review.

On arrival get a taxi from airport to hotel.We didn't and it took us several hours to find our hotel. Return taxi cost 30 euros and worth it! Hotel location ideal to access the sites. Map and See More  Read more information comfortable shoes important!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pantheon  
Vatican  
Colosseum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good,decent hotel

Stay Date: 16/05/14, a customer aged 18-24 who stayed at 3* Hotels Center 1-2-3 in Rome wrote this review.

Friendly staff, clean spacious room. Close to the metro station so its easy to get everywhere. Would recommend. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Vatican  
Colloseum  
tuscany tour  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

City Break - Rome

Stay Date: 12/05/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Pace Helvezia in Rome wrote this review.

Overall quite good, even though we didn't get the hotel that we booked. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Vatican  
Colloseum  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Rome superbreak

Stay Date: 21/04/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Hotel delle Province in Rome wrote this review.

The city was the star... except for the pickpockets. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Vatican  
Pompeii  
Rome history  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Opposite Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel Andreotti

Stay Date: 13/04/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Penarth who stayed at 3* Andreotti Hotel in Rome wrote this review.

Location was good with some good trattorias nearby. Facilities and attitude of staff was variable, e.g. the shower cubicles in both our room and our friends were pretty awful, with cracked bowls, See More  Read more information leaks and a broken shower head in ours. The kettle we were provided with would not fit any of the sockets - except in the bathroom so we had to hold the kettle while it boiled! We reported this but thereceptionist said he could do nothing about it! Our friends room had no kettle. We found the day receptionist very good, i.e. she arranged for the shower head to be replaced as soon as we reported it,but the guy who took over for the late afternoon and evening was useless and was not prepared to do anything for us. Unfortunately it was him we reported the kettle to and he offered nothing, justtake it or leave it. Breakfast was good with a decent selection. Mattress was hard so uncomfortable. We wondered if we'd been given the worst rooms because we'd used Superbreak whose price was verygood.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pantheon  
Vatican  
Colosseum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 117 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Tour Operator 2013 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Version=10546426922 @ 17/12/2014 14:57:37

Last rendered @ 20/12/2014 21:26:21

Last rendered @ 20/12/2014 21:26:21

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.