Customer Reviews by Destination - Rome & Area

Rome & Area Holiday Reviews

Colosseum, Rome

By booking a hotel in Rome, you are opening yourself up to one of the most culturally intoxicating cities in the world. From ancient Rome to the thoroughly modern-day fashion stores, the Eternal City boasts an endless list of attractions and an abundance of Rome hotels. Rome’s renowned historic attractions include the Vatican with Saint Peter’s Basilica and the Sistine Chapel, the Colosseum, the Roman Forum, and the Pantheon. But don’t leave without throwing a coin in the Trevi Fountain and climbing the Spanish Steps. Rome is also home to two airports, making travel that little bit easier, you can book Rome flights alongside your hotel with SuperBreak. Make the most of your short break in Rome by pre-booking a sightseeing tour with us along with one of our many hotels in Rome.

Perfect for a cultural getaway our hotels in Rome are located throughout the city and range from budget 2* accommodation to 5* luxurious hotels. Most of the historic sites are within walking distance of one another, so by booking any of our Rome hotels you can set off on foot and see all that this ancient city has to offer.

Famous for its local delicacies, a range of cafés, bistros and restaurants can be found close to most hotels in Rome, with a great choice in the popular districts of Piazza Navona, Centro Storico, along Via Cavour and around Termini Station. The Borgo district near the Vatican offers the cheapest options and for more authentic cuisine head to Trastevere.

Some of the must see destinations in Rome include:

  • The Vatican, Saint Peter’s Basilica and the Sistine Chapel– A short metro ride takes you to the Vatican City. Containing Saint Peter’s Basilica and the Sistine Chapel, visiting the centre of the Catholic world is a must
  • Ancient Rome and the Colosseum – Sitting across from each other, the ruins of Ancient Rome are a sight to behold, especially the archways and the law courts which give you an idea of the grandeur of ancient Rome. Awe inspiring Colosseum sits just across the road to the ruins and helps you to understand just what it must have felt like to be a Roman!
  • The Trevi Fountain – The beautiful fountain sits in the centre of Rome and is at its best lit up at night. Take a trip here and get a picture with your loved one
There is so much more of Rome to see than we could ever write down, although our Rome travel guide does contain a little more information. So why not book your Rome hotel with us now and experience the magic of the Eternal City.

Italy is a popular tourist destination due to its rich history and beautiful surroundings. Take a look at some other hotels in Italy we have across other cities and towns.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 132

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

My first trip to Rome

Stay Date: 16/06/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Hotel Genio in Rome wrote this review.

This was our first trip to Rome, and must say it was fantastic from start to finish. We had a haste free journey from the moment we arrived at Gatwick airport until we left the airport in Rome. See More  Read more information There were plenty of taxis outside the airport all displaying fares on the side of their cabs. The hotel was really nice although could have done with a little refurbishment. The hotel staff were reallyhelpful and keen to please, room was very comfortable and very clean. The hotel was in the heart of the city of Rome and in walking distance of all the attractions we wanted to visit. Loads ofrestaurants to choose from and catered for all budgets. I would recommend this break to anyone wishing to do it. My only regret was not booking for longer than the 4 nights we had booked. The companySuperBreak are to be commended - could not fault them. I will most certainly be using them again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pantheon  
Vatican  
Spanish Steps  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Crosti Hotel was the right choice

Stay Date: 15/06/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Crosti Hotel in Rome wrote this review.

So glad we stayed at this hotel, spotlessly clean, towels changed daily. Breakfast had a huge choice and plenty of it, tea & coffee not limited to one cup. Room was adequate for our stay, no outside See More  Read more information noise was heard, only minor thing was you couldn't see out of the window due to shutter but that helped keep the room cool. Air con was fine, a fridge and safe both in the room with no extra charge -what a bonus! The tax at this hotel is 4 euro per person per night & on vacating our room they allowed us to leave our case, which showed that this is a family run hotel with a caring establishment.This hotel played an important part in our visit to Rome, to wake up refreshed, shower was great, eat, return and sleep in comfort, to do it all again the day after. To walk to the Colosseum tookaround 40 minutes, we walked everywhere and found it effortless. P.S. Catch an air shuttle bus to and from the Termini for 6 euros per person, no need for a taxi as it's direct.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Colleseum  
Trevi Fountain  
st peters church vatican  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
vincenzo  
goodfellas pub  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Our horrendous hotel stay

Stay Date: 16/05/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Hotels Center 1-2-3 in Rome wrote this review.

We were at Hotel 2 and the room was an absolute disgrace. On entering there was a damp musty smell and when inside the décor was atrocious with mould on most of the walls. The bathroom was also a See More  Read more information disgrace, makeshift shower curtain, mould on shower doors, crack in sink, no toilet roll holder, metal covered in verdigris and the wood was rotten on the door with black mould on the bottom. All unusedclothes had to be washed because of musty smell.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Vatican City  
Coliseum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Nice stay in Rome

Stay Date: 09/05/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Crosti Hotel in Rome wrote this review.

Stayed at Hotel Crosti. Room was clean and a nice size with a very nice bathroom with jacuzzi bath/shower. Staff very friendly and helpful. A continental breakfast was included and there was a See More  Read more information reasonable selection of food. About a 25 minute walk to the main "Tourist" area (Trevi Fountain/Spanish steps/Colosseum). Plenty of restaurants nearby - we ate at the Hostaria da Vincenzo which I believemay have some relationship with the hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Vatican  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hostaria da Vincenzo  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Church Palace Hotel

Stay Date: 17/04/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Doncaster who stayed at 4* The Church Palace in Rome wrote this review.

Pity you can't get into the church in the Church Palace Hotel! (The brochure implies you could as it is highlighted as a point of interest). It would have been nice to have information in the rooms, See More  Read more information and to have at least one English speaking TV channel or a means of getting English subtitles.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Vatican Museum  
Palatine Hill  
St Peter's Basilica  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Rome

Stay Date: 01/03/16, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Giglio Dell Opera Hotel in Rome wrote this review.

Excellent. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Colloseum  
Pompeii  
naples  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Rome the Eternal City

Stay Date: 28/09/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Pace Helvezia in Rome wrote this review.

Loved my stay, even the rain did not put me off. I took my break at the end of September beginning of October, it was still warm, although it did rain. Staying at Pace Helvezia, it was a short walk See More  Read more information to the Trevi Fountain and Colosseum. Hotel was centrally located, room was clean, although I did find bathroom small. Being a larger lady did have a problem getting in and out of the shower, butmanaged, and am sure if had mentioned this something would have been done. Staff very pleasant and accommodating.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Vatican  
Colosseum  
Trevi Fountain  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short break

Stay Date: 17/09/15, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Cambridge Hotel in Rome wrote this review.

Hotel room was on the small side but very clean. Location was excellent. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Vatican  
City Tour  
coleseum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Anniversary weekend in Rome

Stay Date: 14/08/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 5* La Griffe Mgallery Rome in Rome wrote this review.

The La Griffe Hotel is a boutique hotel in an excellent location. The staff were lovely & friendly throughout and made us very welcome. Our room was upgraded on arrival and it was very spacious and See More  Read more information comfortable. The meals were excellent and the rooftop restaurant was a delight. Most of the sights were within walking distance which was an absolute bonus. We took the Metro to the Vatican and it waseasy to use and affordable. We booked our excursions prior to departure & that proved to be advantageous as the queues at the Vatican Museums and the Coliseum were extremely long, and by pre-bookingwe jumped the queues. The half day trip to the Vatican Museums & the Roman Forum was absolutely amazing and our guide was very knowledgeable. Likewise with the Coliseum trip. The National Monument isan incredible sight - we could see it from the hotel rooftop and explored it ourselves. Don't miss the elevator which takes you up to the very top in close contact with the chariots! We thoroughlyenjoyed our weekend, needless to say it was not long enough and we will definitely be returning.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Colliseum  
Trevi Fountain  
Vatican Museums & Roman Forum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Da Trani Restaurant, Rome  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Rome by foot

Stay Date: 27/07/15, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Andreotti Hotel in Rome wrote this review.

Excellent location, ideally situated. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Colosseum  
Pinician Hill  
Villa borghese  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 132 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2016 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Hotel Details Page

Version=10602327651 @ 28/06/2016 16:21:56

Last rendered @ 29/06/2016 22:52:31

Last rendered @ 29/06/2016 22:52:31

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.