Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Reading & Area

Reading & Area Holiday Reviews

Mapledurham House, near Reading

Reading is at the heart of the attractive Thames Valley area 40 miles west of London, with a wide range of Reading hotels providing easy access to the town’s attractions.

  • Reading is well known as a destination for festivals, with an annual beer festival which is one of the largest in the UK, and the Reading Festival which attracts thousands of music fans every year. If you don’t fancy getting muddy in a tent, staying in one of our hotels in Reading is a great alternative to camping.
  • Reading town centre is a popular shopping destination, with a mix of well-known department stores and The Oracle indoor shopping mall which is easily accessed from many of our Reading hotels.
  • For a great day out, our hotels in Reading are an excellent base for visiting nearby Henley-on-Thames, where the annual Royal Regatta is held.
  • Sports fans can pay a visit to the Madejski Stadium, home to Reading Football Club and London Irish rugby team. Watch a game and enjoy the lively atmosphere, indulge in an evening visiting the town’s pubs and bars and return to the comfort of our Reading hotels.
Whatever activities you choose to enjoy in this vibrant town, our hotels in Reading are ideal for your short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 137

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Surprise that this was a De Vere!

Stay Date: 07/04/07, a customer who stayed at 3* De Vere Wokefield Estate in Reading wrote this review.

Although at the time of booking we thought we got a good deal we now realise why the cost of staying at this hotel was so cheap. The temperature in the room was almost unbearable with no seemingly See More  Read more information obvious way to reduce the heat. The evening meal was a disaster. We asked what the main came with (ie potatoes/veg) and the waiter had no idea or inclination to check with the chef until asked. We hadto pay the bar seperately for our drinks whilst we were in the middle of our meal. The main meal was cold. We hoped breakfast would be better however the selection of the breakfast buffet was poor andstocks had not been replenished and we had to ask three times to get a cup of tea with our breakfast which finally arrived after we had finished. To add insult to injury a week after the mini-breakwe received our credit card bill and it came to our attention that we had charged for the room twice. Once via Superbreak when we booked and then again when checking out. We are still liaising withthe hotel for a refund. It is certainly clear that the staff at the hotel seriously lacked any training which we found very dissapointing and not up to the usual De Vere standard which we have come toexpect.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: We work hard to ensure our booking procedures are very comprehensive and we are working with the hotel to ensure that their reservation procedures are reviewed.

 

Short Break in Reading

Stay Date: 07/07/07, a customer from West Sussex who stayed at 4* Reading Lake Hotel in Reading wrote this review.

We visited the hotel between two chess tournaments. Having driven for over three hours to Wales in the morning and then over two hours back to Berkshire, on an extremely hot day, we arrived to find See More  Read more information that the pool was closed and we had to get back in the car and use the pool at a sister hotel. We got lost looking for the second hotel and we were very fed up. Having a pool had been the decidingfactor for choosing this hotel. It was very disappointing. There was no one to direct us to breakfast and so we ended up eating with a coach party, without realising that there were different breakfastsin different places in the hotel. The breakfast was okay but very basic and again disappointing. All in all, whilst the view from our room was nice, this was all you could say about the visit.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Hut  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Old & out of town

Stay Date: 17/09/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Reading Lake Hotel in Reading wrote this review.

Not as convenient as I thought for Reading - Had a nightmare trying to find the place, sat nav took me to a security barrier which I coudn't get through,ended up having to cross the M4 travel west, See More  Read more information recross the M4 then down some winding lanes before getting to the hotel. Can't fault the food, but the hotel itself was dated and souless.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Reading

Stay Date: 27/03/09, a customer who stayed at 3* De Vere Wokefield Estate in Reading rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break in Reading

Stay Date: 28/03/09, a customer from Swindon who stayed at 3* De Vere Wokefield Estate in Reading rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Reading in Bistro  
 
 

Visit to Reading Lake Hotel

Stay Date: 20/07/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Reading Lake Hotel in Reading wrote this review.

The Reading Lake Hotel was a complete disappointment and is more like a two star hotel than a four star hotel. The rooms require complete refurbishment as does the lounge and dining area. The See More  Read more information furnishings were worn and torn and the cleanliness of the hotel was way below the standard I would have expected. All in all I would definitely not recommend this hotel and will in fact be raising acomplaint.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windsor Castle  
Warner Brothers Studio Tour  
Legoland Windsor  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great day in Henley on Thames

Stay Date: 05/10/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Reading Lake Hotel in Reading wrote this review.

Hotel in a disgusting state should be shut down. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 131 - 137 of 137 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001435 @ 08/11/2017 09:41:29

Last rendered @ 19/11/2017 16:01:17

Last rendered @ 19/11/2017 16:01:17

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.