Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Preston & Area

Preston & Area Holiday Reviews

School of Art, Preston

Preston provides some outstanding buildings including over 770 Grade I and II listed buildings. The Harris Museum and Art Gallery offers exhibitions to suit all tastes and the National Football museum features exciting interactive displays. Preston has a variety of open spaces from moorland at Beacon Fell, woodlands and ornamental gardens.

  • Pay a visit to Tubary Woods Owl and Bird of Prey Sanctuary and see more than 80 species of bird, take part in the demonstrations and learn all about the conservation efforts of the team who run the centre
  • A Lancashire gem, Hoghton Tower stands proudly overlooking the countryside from its wonderful Tudor walls – a guided tour can tell you all about its in-depth history
  • The perfect way to discover all there is to know about the region, the Museum of Lancashire lets you into the history of the county’s archaeology, industry, entertainers, wildlife, war and more
The countryside surrounding the area means staying in a Preston hotel give you the opportunity to explore some of the North West’s most picturesque countryside. Avenham and Miller Parks ar perfect for exploring on a sunny day with a picnic, or venture further out for a day walking the Beacon Fell Country Park. If a rural escape with a few city centre touches is what you’re after from a short break, make sure you check out our hotels in Preston.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 132

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break In Preston

Stay Date: 29/01/09, a customer who stayed at 3* Legacy Preston International Hotel in Preston rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Romantic Night Away

Stay Date: 27/03/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa in Blackburn wrote this review.

Very enjoyable, staff lovely, food excellent as always. Shame about the room abit shabby in need of a good clean and a lick of paint See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Family Visit

Stay Date: 10/04/09, a customer from West Midlands who stayed at 4* Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa in Blackburn wrote this review.

The break was to see my family, so we mainly stayed at the hotel or with my family. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Visits

Stay Date: 17/04/09, a customer from Christchurch who stayed at 3* Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel in Preston wrote this review.

We visited family and friends who live in the area and spent time with them See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cleveleys  
Lancaster Park  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Corporation Arms, nr Longridge  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

OK room but bad location

Stay Date: 17/04/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa in Blackburn wrote this review.

The room we had to stay in was nice although a bit tired looking. However, the temparature in the room was totally off! The radiator in the room wasn't even on and yet the room must have been about See More  Read more information 22C constantly. For a 4* hotel this issue is critical as they are meant to provide a good night sleep to their guests.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Dunkenhalgh Hotel

Stay Date: 24/04/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa in Blackburn wrote this review.

The reason for my 1 night stay at the Dunkenhalgh Hotel was a Dinner/Dance held at the hotel and organised by an Appreciation Society I am a member of. The Dinner was really good and served well by See More  Read more information the staff considering there must have been 300 or more people who attended. The staff were friendly and polite, the room very comfortable and would have slept better if it hadn't been for the full andexciting evening which I had experienced. Breakfast following morning was very good too.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Preston

Stay Date: 31/07/09, a customer who stayed at 3* Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel in Preston rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Better Than Initial Appearance

Stay Date: 19/09/09, a customer from Lancing who stayed at 4* Best Western Plus Samlesbury Hotel - Preston in Preston wrote this review.

An interesting, slightly quirky place. The decor was a bit "tired" and a lick of paint/new wallpaper is overdue in places but clean, tidy, everything in room worked. Excellent bar meal and whopping See More  Read more information buffet breakfast. Also pleasant swimming pool. Very good value for money and only 4 mins from M6.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

John's 40th

Stay Date: 28/08/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa in Blackburn wrote this review.

The view from the hotel room was poor and the grass was in need of a good cut, however, our room was away from the main building and considering there was 2 weddings on, we never heard a peep. Room See More  Read more information was very clean apart from round the bath area (needed a good scrub or steam clean). The boys enjoyed a great day out on the Saturday morning at Shaw Hill golf course (they would highly recommend it),whilst the girls walked into Accrington to do a bit of shopping, via the bypass (can be a bit tricky, but worth the walk). Then back to the leisure club for gym, swimming and a spot of lunch at theleisure club too. Might I just add the people in the leisure club both in the gym and the reception/food area were not only very friendly, but were a great asset, the food was good as well (and a lotcheaper than in the bar area). Drinks in the bar were quite expensive. We then went on to Northcote Manor by hummer limousine, what a treat! I can highly recommend the food, if you do go take advantageof the gourment menu. We then drove in the hummer to blackpool casino, champagne still flowing! We all won at the casino just to top off a great weekend!.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shaw Hill Golf Course  
Northcote Manor, Langho  
Stanley Casino, Blackpool  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Franco's, Oswaldtwistle  
Northcote Manor, Langho  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The Festival Of Quilts

Stay Date: 21/08/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa in Blackburn wrote this review.

Although our hotel is still nearly 2 hours away from the NEC we still enjoy staying there because of the excellent leisure facilties, superb food, comfortable rooms and excellent staff. Getting to See More  Read more information the NEC by car is straightforward well signposted as you approach Birmingham and convenient parking. This annual exhibition has entries from all over the world and the variety of quilts truly amazing.Even if you are not a quilter there is much to see and enjoy. We left the NEC at the close of the show in order to get back to our hotel for dinner. Breakfast is always good but dinner is fabulous.The hotel bake their own bread and at least three delicious varieties are served. Drinks are reasonably priced and booking in on a half-board basis will save you money on your food. I'd recommend itespecially booking with Superbreak.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Festival Of Quilts, Nec, Birmingham.  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 81 - 90 of 132 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001435 @ 08/11/2017 08:02:57

Last rendered @ 18/11/2017 00:56:45

Last rendered @ 18/11/2017 00:56:45

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.