Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North East England

North East England Holiday Reviews

Angel of the North, Gateshead

Perfect for a short break, our hotels in North-East England range from budget city accommodation to luxury country retreats. Up-and-coming cultural hubs, cities in the North-East are also famous for their unique nightlife and fab shopping – our Newcastle hotels and hotels near Middlesbrough are handy for it all. When you’re off on a longer break, be sure to check out the hotels near Newcastle Airport for the best way to get your holiday off on the right foot.

Whatever you’re looking for from a getaway, our hotels in the North-East have something to offer; relaxing, picturesque and ideal for walks, Northumberland hotels are just as appealing as those in region’s big cities – for entirely different reasons. Escape to the country for one of our relaxed dinner break, unwind at a spa, or enjoy the splendour of an afternoon tea package at one of our hotels in North-East England.

  • One of the country’s top city breaks, don’t miss our Newcastle hotels for the best of the North-East’s great shopping, top sport, infamous nightlife, events and art galleries such as the renowned BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art.
  • Our hotels near Durham are also a superb choice for a short break; be sure to soak up the city’s ambience and appreciate its fabulous historical attractions – the gothic Durham Cathedral and the Norman Durham Castle are both UNESCO World Heritage sites.
  • Perhaps the area’s most scenic spot, the Northumbria coast is a must-see, and our hotels near Berwick couldn’t be better placed for visits to Alnwick Castle, Holy Island at Lindisfarne, and Hadrian’s Wall.


An excellent choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-East in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 511

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Olly Murs Weekend

Stay Date: 18/04/15, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Vermont Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

The hotel was amazing, from staff to room but the breakfast was a major let down. We went down for breakfast at 10.00am to be told to sit in the lounge until they organised a table. After 15 minutes See More  Read more information wait we were called in and seated. Our order was taken as it is not a buffet breakfast then we had to wait 50 mins to receive our breakfast. Obviously with being late with breakfast we were late tocheck out. I spoke to the receptionist and she said it's not a problem but as we were packing the cleaner tried to enter the room and when we said we would be 5 mins the cleaner then quite rudelyshouted through the door 'you do know that checkout was 11.00am'. All in all amazing hotel but would really benefit from doing a buffet breakfast as it would be so much easier and quicker.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Blackwell Grange

Stay Date: 17/05/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

This hotel was good value for money. The gym and swimming pool are a bonus. A pity that the saunas are not mixed. Jacuzzi was excellent. South Park is very close by to burn off the full English See More  Read more information breakfast calories. Dinner was well presented and tasty. The best thing about this hotel is the friendly attitude of the staff, especially the lady in the dining room at breakfast.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamush museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Express  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Dearly days

Stay Date: 23/05/15, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

As this was for a family member recovering from an operation, the hotel was in a great spot with great parks. Hotel staff were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble. Lovely clean rooms. Great See More  Read more information value food. Overall great experience.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Darlington  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Trip to Cricket at Durham CC

Stay Date: 01/08/15, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* 3* Mystery Hotel in Darlington wrote this review.

Stayed at Blackwell Grange just out of Darlington - great to stop at a country hotel with great staff, comfy beds and a good breakfast. Probably could do with an update but a lovely hotel and only See More  Read more information 40 mins from Durham CC Riverside and 20 mins from Teeside Retail Park for cinema, food and shopping.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham CC Ground  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chiquitos Teeside  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Northumberland

Stay Date: 03/08/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel in Berwick-upon-Tweed wrote this review.

Excellent, will be returning. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Room with a view

Stay Date: 29/07/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Gisborough Hall in Guisborough wrote this review.

Was in the new wing with a skylight window which opened all of 2-3 inches --- no real view although location was stunning! But a surperb hotel in all other respects and the staff were very good. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Newcastle Stay

Stay Date: 23/08/15, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Staybridge Suites Newcastle in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

The Staybridge Suites was a great place to stay, the staff were so welcoming and helpful. The room was spotless and had everything we needed, the view was great too. We were a 5 minute walk from the See More  Read more information Quayside and 10 from the centre but the location was quiet. On week nights the hotel has a free Happy Hour where you can enjoy a beer, wine, soft drinks, cheese and other nibbles - it's a lovelytouch. Family friendly, too. Would go back and totally recommend it to anyone.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
St James Park  
Angel of the North  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel double booked

Stay Date: 29/08/15, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 2* Travelodge Newcastle Central in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

We booked 2 months ago and when we got to the hotel they had my reservation but had to wait 20 minutes for our rooms. Receptionist said she hates it when the system lets you double book and hotel See More  Read more information was over booked. Luckily we managed to get our rooms but they did have to turn people away.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beamish Hall Hotel

Stay Date: 26/08/15, a customer aged 45-64 from West Yorkshire who stayed at 4* Best Western Beamish Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Durham (Nr) wrote this review.

Excellent service, food and friendly staff - great break! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel

Stay Date: 11/09/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Poulton-Le-Fylde who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

Excellent time at the hotel and the attractions we visited. Great deal at the hotel through SuperBreak. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 71 - 80 of 511 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001374 @ 19/10/2017 16:34:03

Last rendered @ 23/10/2017 12:52:39

Last rendered @ 23/10/2017 12:52:39

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.