Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North East England

North East England Holiday Reviews

Angel of the North, Gateshead

Perfect for a short break, our hotels in North-East England range from budget city accommodation to luxury country retreats. Up-and-coming cultural hubs, cities in the North-East are also famous for their unique nightlife and fab shopping – our Newcastle hotels and hotels near Middlesbrough are handy for it all. When you’re off on a longer break, be sure to check out the hotels near Newcastle Airport for the best way to get your holiday off on the right foot.

Whatever you’re looking for from a getaway, our hotels in the North-East have something to offer; relaxing, picturesque and ideal for walks, Northumberland hotels are just as appealing as those in region’s big cities – for entirely different reasons. Escape to the country for one of our relaxed dinner break, unwind at a spa, or enjoy the splendour of an afternoon tea package at one of our hotels in North-East England.

  • One of the country’s top city breaks, don’t miss our Newcastle hotels for the best of the North-East’s great shopping, top sport, infamous nightlife, events and art galleries such as the renowned BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art.
  • Our hotels near Durham are also a superb choice for a short break; be sure to soak up the city’s ambience and appreciate its fabulous historical attractions – the gothic Durham Cathedral and the Norman Durham Castle are both UNESCO World Heritage sites.
  • Perhaps the area’s most scenic spot, the Northumbria coast is a must-see, and our hotels near Berwick couldn’t be better placed for visits to Alnwick Castle, Holy Island at Lindisfarne, and Hadrian’s Wall.


An excellent choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-East in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 512

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Walworth Castle

Stay Date: 07/02/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Goole who stayed at 3* Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel (2 night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

Would have liked the option of upgrading the room at time of booking, good hotel, but room needed a little love and attention. Week-end deal great. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shildon  
Bowes museam  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing break in a lovely location

Stay Date: 14/03/14, a customer aged 25-44 from Peterlee who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here in the Blackwell Grange. The room was more than adequate for what we needed. The breakfast in the hotel was fabulous, my partner even went as far to say that it was See More  Read more information the best hotel breakfast he had ever had! The meal that we got on the deal we booked was also very good. Only issue I had was that initially we were given the wrong menu and had already made achoice on food before it had been changed. The facilities are great, although it was a little busy for the size of the pool and spa. It was a little dated and needed a little refurb maybe but wasfine for us. There was a wedding party in the hotel at the time which meant it was particularly noisy in the hotel on the second night of our stay. I would go back and book the same deal I hadbooked, overall great location and fab break!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Market Place  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Darlington

Stay Date: 21/03/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel (2 night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

Enjoyed my Superbreak! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Darlington  
Barnard Castle  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Stay at Redworth Hall Hotel

Stay Date: 10/04/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

Hotel surroundings were beautiful, staff very friendly and food excellent. Room booked via Super Break was inside the house itself and a quiet area of the hotel, but the furniture had not been See More  Read more information dusted, the bath jets were broken and dirt came out when you had a shower. The room felt as though it was for staff who had to stay over in the hotel, so not impressed at all. Four pillows were in the roomyou were better using a towel. Leisure facilities were good, pool and gym.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
High Force Waterfall  
Barnard Castle  
Preston Park Museum & Grounds  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
March Hare - Bishop Auckland  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Exhausting day in Beamish

Stay Date: 18/04/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

Would definitely recommend for a visit a lot to see in one day. Would recommend taking your own food don't bother with chippy had to queue more than. An hour and not as good as we were expecting See More  Read more information after all the hype.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish Museum  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Family break in Darlington

Stay Date: 03/05/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Worthing who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer) in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

From the moment we arrived we had a fantastic break at Redworth Hall Hotel. We found our double room was actually a suite! The staff were polite and friendly and couldn't have been more helpful, See More  Read more information from booking us a taxi to our party to the welcoming staff in the breakfast room. We can't wait to return!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

late break

Stay Date: 05/06/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

Booked for 2 nights with breakfast and dinner on first night for ?130 all in so hard to complain really. We were at the back of the hotel and quiet as requested but that would also depend on the See More  Read more information adjoining rooms and above if the hotel was busy (weddings ect) only a couple of rooms available according to the brochure, but hotel 90% empty and never saw more than 20 people all the time we were thereincluding the remains of a wedding party on sat at breakfast!! Place on a whole good value for what we got, evening meals are ok but anything worth having has got a supplement on it (why is this notmentioned when booking or in the menu supplied in the room !) after dinner coffee @?3.00 a cup is extortionate. Best bits were the bed (6x6 super king size) and that fire hose of a shower (brilliant). Oh! breakfast, excellent. Negatives................ The pork and ale sausage n mash for dinner, yuk !! The sausage tasted like they had come straight out of a 1940's ration book, pork blendedwith wood chippings. Just how do these people cook a white skinned sausage is beyond me, need to meet a Lincolnshire pork and apple or leek variety. Cumberland mmmmm for some serious taste. Dresscode, anything goes it seems even an early morning jogger in his black nylon shorts and sweaty vest. Staff need to impress on the families that the dining room is NOT a playground for their children Summary Cheap n cheerful, nice staff would use it again but only if deals were to be had. If you want to impress the lady in your life keep looking.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bettys Tea Rooms Harrogate  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing stay at Redworth Hall

Stay Date: 27/06/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Preston who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer) in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

Great Hotel with leisure facilities-the staff are all very friendly & prepared to go the extra mile to make your stay perfect. We ate in the restaurant each night-great value & quality. It was our See More  Read more information second visit in two months-cant wait for the third as we always seem to totally relax & chill out whilst we are there.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Redworth Hall

Stay Date: 27/06/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer) in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

We enjoy staying at the Redworth Hall so much we keep going back as often as we can looking forward to next time. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Breakfast  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic weekend in Durham

Stay Date: 11/07/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Halstead who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer) in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

The hotel was fantastic with great facilities. Our hotel room was large, clean and in very quiet location. The bed was very comfortable and the staff very polite and helpful. We would love to stay See More  Read more information here again. There was plenty of choice for breakfast.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 71 - 80 of 512 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100637 @ 17/08/2017 08:40:20

Last rendered @ 23/08/2017 01:55:23

Last rendered @ 23/08/2017 01:55:23

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.