Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North East England

North East England Holiday Reviews

Angel of the North, Gateshead

Perfect for a short break, our hotels in North-East England range from budget city accommodation to luxury country retreats. Up-and-coming cultural hubs, cities in the North-East are also famous for their unique nightlife and fab shopping – our Newcastle hotels and hotels near Middlesbrough are handy for it all. When you’re off on a longer break, be sure to check out the hotels near Newcastle Airport for the best way to get your holiday off on the right foot.

Whatever you’re looking for from a getaway, our hotels in the North-East have something to offer; relaxing, picturesque and ideal for walks, Northumberland hotels are just as appealing as those in region’s big cities – for entirely different reasons. Escape to the country for one of our relaxed dinner break, unwind at a spa, or enjoy the splendour of an afternoon tea package at one of our hotels in North-East England.

  • One of the country’s top city breaks, don’t miss our Newcastle hotels for the best of the North-East’s great shopping, top sport, infamous nightlife, events and art galleries such as the renowned BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art.
  • Our hotels near Durham are also a superb choice for a short break; be sure to soak up the city’s ambience and appreciate its fabulous historical attractions – the gothic Durham Cathedral and the Norman Durham Castle are both UNESCO World Heritage sites.
  • Perhaps the area’s most scenic spot, the Northumbria coast is a must-see, and our hotels near Berwick couldn’t be better placed for visits to Alnwick Castle, Holy Island at Lindisfarne, and Hadrian’s Wall.


An excellent choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-East in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 519

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Family break in Darlington

Stay Date: 03/05/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Worthing who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer) in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

From the moment we arrived we had a fantastic break at Redworth Hall Hotel. We found our double room was actually a suite! The staff were polite and friendly and couldn't have been more helpful, See More  Read more information from booking us a taxi to our party to the welcoming staff in the breakfast room. We can't wait to return!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Durham

Stay Date: 03/05/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Travelodge Durham in Durham wrote this review.

Walking around the city, especially by the river. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Botanical Garden  
city/heritage area  
Tanfield railway  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wetherspoons  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Redworth Hall

Stay Date: 27/06/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer) in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

We enjoy staying at the Redworth Hall so much we keep going back as often as we can looking forward to next time. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Breakfast  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Walking in Teesdale

Stay Date: 11/07/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Worksop who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer) in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

This was our fifth visit to Redworth Hall. Lovely place but don't eat there unless it is part of the deal. Food very expensive and not much of it as is the Wine, cheapest Bottle £20plus standard See More  Read more information quality. The staff and facilities are great. Always friendly welcoming service with nothing too much trouble. The deal from Superbreak was very good and would recommend this hotel to anyone. We go tothe village of Heighington for food. 2 Pubs both serving good food and sensible prices. This was a walking break around Barnard Castle and area. Beautiful unspoilt countryside. DiscoveredCotherstone this time around worth a visit .   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Barnard Castle  
Cotherstone  
Reeth  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Bay Horse  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic weekend in Durham

Stay Date: 11/07/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Halstead who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer) in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

The hotel was fantastic with great facilities. Our hotel room was large, clean and in very quiet location. The bed was very comfortable and the staff very polite and helpful. We would love to stay See More  Read more information here again. There was plenty of choice for breakfast.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fabulous day in Durham City centre

Stay Date: 12/07/14, a customer aged 25-44 from Crook who stayed at 3* Travelodge Durham in Durham wrote this review.

Brilliant atmosphere loved the day. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Country in County Durham

Stay Date: 10/08/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer) in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

Redworth Hall was a lovely hotel in its own grounds but very hard to find. You must have a car to access. All the staff very polite and local which is a bonus in this day and age. Lovely dining area See More  Read more information and breakfast. The beds were very comfortable and the leisure facilities exceptional, even having a soft play area. The rooms however were tired looking, windows had gale blowing through them and Ihad to complain about the standard of cleanliness in the bathroom with hair in bath on arrival and mould growing around taps and across entire ceiling.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shildon Rail Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Castle Break

Stay Date: 19/08/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel (2 night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

A lovely hotel in a tranquil setting 5 miles fom Darlington. A 12th Century castle now a Best Western Hotel. The staff were excellant and quickly sorted an initial problem with our room. We ate in See More  Read more information the hotel restaurant the first evening where the service and quality of the meal could not be faulted. Breakfast each morning was freshly prepared, well presented and delicious. On the second day wehad a cream tea with more jam and cream than we could manage. We plan to return and would recommend this hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great 3 days in Northumberland

Stay Date: 01/09/14, a customer aged 65+ from Uk who stayed at 4* Macdonald Linden Hall, Golf & Country Club (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Morpeth (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Enjoyed 3 beautiful autumnal days in this lovely hotel and magnificent local area. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Alnwick Castle  
Cragside  
Amble  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great stay at Linden Park

Stay Date: 22/09/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Macdonald Linden Hall, Golf & Country Club (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Morpeth (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Arrived monday late afternoon after visiting Alnwick, check in was easy and quick, staff informed us of the need to reserve a table for dinner, which she did for us. The room was excellent, cosy and See More  Read more information warm, just what we wanted. The restaurant and the pub were smart and clean, food was excellent as was the service. Stayed two nights, well worth the visit.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Alnwick  
Coast  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 61 - 70 of 519 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100699 @ 24/08/2017 14:04:18

Last rendered @ 22/09/2017 00:13:26

Last rendered @ 22/09/2017 00:13:26

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.