Customer Reviews by Destination - North East England

North East England Holiday Reviews

Angel of the North, Gateshead

Perfect for a short break, our hotels in North-East England range from budget city accommodation to luxury country retreats. Up-and-coming cultural hubs, cities in the North-East are also famous for their unique nightlife and fab shopping – our Newcastle hotels and hotels near Middlesbrough are handy for it all. When you’re off on a longer break, be sure to check out the hotels near Newcastle Airport for the best way to get your holiday off on the right foot.

Whatever you’re looking for from a getaway, our hotels in the North-East have something to offer; relaxing, picturesque and ideal for walks, Northumberland hotels are just as appealing as those in region’s big cities – for entirely different reasons. Escape to the country for one of our relaxed dinner break, unwind at a spa, or enjoy the splendour of an afternoon tea package at one of our hotels in North-East England.

  • One of the country’s top city breaks, don’t miss our Newcastle hotels for the best of the North-East’s great shopping, top sport, infamous nightlife, events and art galleries such as the renowned BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art.
  • Our hotels near Durham are also a superb choice for a short break; be sure to soak up the city’s ambience and appreciate its fabulous historical attractions – the gothic Durham Cathedral and the Norman Durham Castle are both UNESCO World Heritage sites.
  • Perhaps the area’s most scenic spot, the Northumbria coast is a must-see, and our hotels near Berwick couldn’t be better placed for visits to Alnwick Castle, Holy Island at Lindisfarne, and Hadrian’s Wall.


An excellent choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-East in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 554

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Our Stay in Newcastle

Stay Date: 21/04/06, a customer from Gravesend who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Metro Arena for WWE Revenge Tour.Great atmosphere very poor crowd safety control.Beer very expensive St James Park. Newcastle3 wba0 great day.Especially when they announced my sons birthday at See More  Read more information halftime,made his day. sachini was a great indian restuarant as recomended by hotel staff.geordie hospitality was great all w/e   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
St James Park  
WWE Wrestling, Metro Radio Arena  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
TGI Fridays  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Alnwick

Stay Date: 30/04/06, a customer from Nelson who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel, Alnwick in Alnwick wrote this review.

We visited Alnwick Castle which is featured in the Harry Potter movies 1 and 2 they now have a lovely garden which the whole family can enjoy. We stayed at the White Swan Hotel in Alnwick which to See More  Read more information our amazement the dining room has been furbished with the original paneling from the sister ship to the Titanic, the olympic. lots of history would reccomend a short break. A great little village for apeacefull weekend break with friendly local folk and excellent food places .   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Alnwick Castle  
Alnwick Town  
Newton by the Sea  
Alnwick Castle and Gardens  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Masons Arms Rennington, NE66 3RX  
White Swan Hotel Restaurant  
Alnwick Castle Gardens Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Gateshead

Stay Date: 15/05/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre in Gateshead rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break in Alnwick

Stay Date: 23/05/06, a customer from Cumbria who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel, Alnwick in Alnwick rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wallington  
 
 

Short Break in Newcastle

Stay Date: 19/06/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

we used the bus to get around during the day which was very good,easy,clean and on time. and taxi in the eveing, of which there was lots to chose from everyone in Newcastle were very friendly. See More  Read more information Newcastle was a very nice place, nice buildings, clean,good shopping,lots of good bars and resturants the nightlife in Newcastle is good so many bars and clubs to chose from   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Baltic Gallery  
Blinking Eye  
Haymarket  
Quayside  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Holiday Inn Hotel Restaurant  
Sabatinis  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Newcastle

Stay Date: 24/06/06, a customer from Bramham who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park in Newcastle-upon-Tyne rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cresswell Beach  
 
 

Short Break in Darlington

Stay Date: 23/06/06, a customer from Tyne and Wear who stayed at 3* Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel in Darlington wrote this review.

Memorable for the presentation of the castle and grounds. I thought the setting was both immaculate and spectacular. Driving to the castle was simple, the instructions provided were excellent and See More  Read more information really simple to follow. The staff immediately made us feel at home and both the room we stayed in (which was medieval themed) was beautiful.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Metro Centre  
Cineworld Cinema, Boldon  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Franky and Bennies, Boldon  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Newcastle

Stay Date: 07/07/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

The short break was to visit my son who took part at the English schools athletics competition held in Gateshead. What made the trip menorable is the people who we met whilst away. Fantastic people See More  Read more information in the North East.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Gateshead Athletics Stadium  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Snowy Owl  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Day Out in Newcastle

Stay Date: 29/07/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa in Washington wrote this review.

Stayed at the George Washington Hotel in Washington. Excellent hotel and friendly staff. Decided to get a taxi into Newcastle city Centre as we were going to watch Newcastle football club. This was See More  Read more information definitely the best way to get into Newcastle on a busy Saturday morning. The fare was £12. It was very easy to get a return taxi as there are numerous taxi ranks. The football stadium is extremelywell organised in terms of organising large crowds. Excellent shops and museums in Newcastle itself. All staff in shops are polite and there is a very friendly feel to the place.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tyne Bridge  
BALTIC Art Museum  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely Time in the North

Stay Date: 29/07/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel in Darlington wrote this review.

Being members of the National Trust and English Heritage we always find lovely places to visit. On the weekend we were away we made use of both memberships and visited two of their properties we had See More  Read more information not been to before. These places are always good for a nice cup of tea and homemade cakes. We can always recommend them. Best of all we love to have a relaxing meal on an evening with a good bottleof wine, which we were able to do quite well. All in all a good break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rievaux Abbey  
Ormesby Hall  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 531 - 540 of 554 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2016 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170426

Version=10632530055 @ 26/04/2017 17:42:14

Last rendered @ 29/04/2017 22:27:03

Last rendered @ 29/04/2017 22:27:03

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.