Customer Reviews by Destination - North East England

North East England Holiday Reviews

Angel of the North, Gateshead

Perfect for a short break, our hotels in North-East England range from budget city accommodation to luxury country retreats. Up-and-coming cultural hubs, cities in the North-East are also famous for their unique nightlife and fab shopping – our Newcastle hotels and hotels near Middlesbrough are handy for it all. When you’re off on a longer break, be sure to check out the hotels near Newcastle Airport for the best way to get your holiday off on the right foot.

Whatever you’re looking for from a getaway, our hotels in the North-East have something to offer; relaxing, picturesque and ideal for walks, Northumberland hotels are just as appealing as those in region’s big cities – for entirely different reasons. Escape to the country for one of our relaxed dinner break, unwind at a spa, or enjoy the splendour of an afternoon tea package at one of our hotels in North-East England.

  • One of the country’s top city breaks, don’t miss our Newcastle hotels for the best of the North-East’s great shopping, top sport, infamous nightlife, events and art galleries such as the renowned BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art.
  • Our hotels near Durham are also a superb choice for a short break; be sure to soak up the city’s ambience and appreciate its fabulous historical attractions – the gothic Durham Cathedral and the Norman Durham Castle are both UNESCO World Heritage sites.
  • Perhaps the area’s most scenic spot, the Northumbria coast is a must-see, and our hotels near Berwick couldn’t be better placed for visits to Alnwick Castle, Holy Island at Lindisfarne, and Hadrian’s Wall.


An excellent choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-East in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 569

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Overnight in Darlington

Stay Date: 09/12/06, a customer from Angus who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel in Darlington wrote this review.

After a hard four hour drive down the A68, in not very nice conditions, we were delighted to reach Blackwell Grange Hotel. After checking in we were able to go and visit with family and spend a See More  Read more information couple of hours in the centre of town at the Christmas Market....it really helped to get us 'in the mood'. A lovely meal at the local Thai restaurant where the staff were outstanding helped to make ourevening quite memorable.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Darlington Christmas Market  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Darlington Local Thai Restaurant  
 

User Review Ratings: 4 out of 4 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Trip Back to Geordieland

Stay Date: 01/01/07, a customer from Bolton who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

En route from Hogmanay with friends in Scotland, my partner and I broke our journey at the Holiday Inn. Drove to Gosforth and had a curry. Checked out and went to visit my mother in my home town of See More  Read more information Whitley Bay. Had a nice visit and then left. Drove back to Lancashire where I have been "exiled" for many years. This has not stopped me being a loyal follower of The Toon (40 years now - it's a lifesentence!)   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Newcastle Rocks.

Stay Date: 12/01/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Just spent a weekend in Newcastle. Lovely time, people are so friendly up there. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pitcher & Piano  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Newcastle

Stay Date: 31/01/07, a customer from Glasgow who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre in Gateshead rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break in Alnwick

Stay Date: 27/01/07, a customer from Richmond who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel, Alnwick in Alnwick rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Airport Sleepover

Stay Date: 16/02/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport and 8 days parking in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the airport and was really convenient for parking the car. The hotel was far nicer inside than the exterior picture suggests. I didn't particularly See More  Read more information sleep well but this was more due to worrying about oversleeping and missing my plane than the hotel itself! An early morning call was requested but in the end I was up an and awake by the time I receivedit. The walls were quite thin and you could here a little bit of noise from the rooms either side but this didn't disturb my stay as all guests were very quiet. We ate in the bar which had a goodsnack menu including jacket potatoes. We enjoyed the food and actually called in again for some tea on our return to pick up the car. I would definately consider using the hotel again for staying overwhen travelling abroad from the airport again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Britannia Hotel Bar  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Newcastle

Stay Date: 17/02/07, a customer from Weston who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

We were just visiting our daughter and only went into Newcastle on the Metro which is a really handy service to save parking, looked around shops which are excellent they went to dinner which was See More  Read more information disappointing. Taxi service from hotel was good and friendly.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Slug and Lettuce  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Newcastle-upon-Tyne

Stay Date: 26/02/07, a customer from Saltnurn-By-The-Sea who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre in Newcastle-upon-Tyne rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break in Newcastle

Stay Date: 25/03/07, a customer from Helensburgh who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park in Newcastle-upon-Tyne rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Lovely Birthday Weekend in Northumberland

Stay Date: 23/03/07, a customer who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel, Alnwick in Alnwick wrote this review.

The White Swan Hotel in Alnwick was very good value for money. Our room had recently been refurbished, & was very nice. The staff were helpful, & breakfast in the impressive dining room was very See More  Read more information good too. I'd recommend the hotel to anyone, & would happily stay again. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant in the Treehouse in Alnwick Gardens. The food, wine & atmosphere were excellent!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bamburgh Castle  
Holy Island  
Alnwick Gardens  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Alnwick Gardens Treehouse Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 531 - 540 of 569 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2016 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170322

Version=10628929517 @ 21/03/2017 16:24:19

Last rendered @ 25/03/2017 23:41:17

Last rendered @ 25/03/2017 23:41:17

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.