Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North East England

North East England Holiday Reviews

Angel of the North, Gateshead

Perfect for a short break, our hotels in North-East England range from budget city accommodation to luxury country retreats. Up-and-coming cultural hubs, cities in the North-East are also famous for their unique nightlife and fab shopping – our Newcastle hotels and hotels near Middlesbrough are handy for it all. When you’re off on a longer break, be sure to check out the hotels near Newcastle Airport for the best way to get your holiday off on the right foot.

Whatever you’re looking for from a getaway, our hotels in the North-East have something to offer; relaxing, picturesque and ideal for walks, Northumberland hotels are just as appealing as those in region’s big cities – for entirely different reasons. Escape to the country for one of our relaxed dinner break, unwind at a spa, or enjoy the splendour of an afternoon tea package at one of our hotels in North-East England.

  • One of the country’s top city breaks, don’t miss our Newcastle hotels for the best of the North-East’s great shopping, top sport, infamous nightlife, events and art galleries such as the renowned BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art.
  • Our hotels near Durham are also a superb choice for a short break; be sure to soak up the city’s ambience and appreciate its fabulous historical attractions – the gothic Durham Cathedral and the Norman Durham Castle are both UNESCO World Heritage sites.
  • Perhaps the area’s most scenic spot, the Northumbria coast is a must-see, and our hotels near Berwick couldn’t be better placed for visits to Alnwick Castle, Holy Island at Lindisfarne, and Hadrian’s Wall.


An excellent choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-East in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 518

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Newcastle

Stay Date: 02/09/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park in Newcastle-upon-Tyne rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Metro Centre  
Newcastle City Centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Metro Centre  
 
 

Short Break in Matfen

Stay Date: 19/01/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Matfen Hall Hotel in Matfen (Nr Newcastle) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break In Newcastle

Stay Date: 07/06/09, a customer from York who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 
 

Travelodge Central Newcastle

Stay Date: 19/06/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 2* Travelodge Newcastle Central in Newcastle-upon-Tyne rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Staff  
 
 

Hotel Spoilt By Breakfast

Stay Date: 18/09/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel in Darlington wrote this review.

Hotel is a fantastic building. Room was great as was evening resturant. However, breakfast and breakfast staff were very poor. No fried eggs, no plates, no milk, no butter felt like a nag having to See More  Read more information keep asking for basic things that should have been there.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Tatty Bay

Stay Date: 19/09/15, a customer aged 65+ from Huntingdon who stayed at 3* Windsor Hotel in Whitley Bay wrote this review.

I booked a double room which was just as well as the singles must be tiny. The room overlooked the club across the road. A party combined with paper mache walls and ceilings and a toilet which See More  Read more information appeared to be the main drain so every flush came through my room, adds up to a sleepless night. The whole area is pretty well run down.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Falcon @ Prudhoe  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Bad hotel

Stay Date: 01/09/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Washington (2 Nt Offer/1st Nt Dinner + Beamish Tickets) in Washington wrote this review.

Having booked the trip to Beamish with a 2 night stay at the Holiday Inn with dinner first night we felt obliged to stay for the 2nd night, the lounge lunch was excellent but Beamish tickets took 4 See More  Read more information hours to appear even though on the way down 3 times, menu for inclusive is poor so we ate of the main menu and was told £20 allowance per person by duty manager, this should have been £18 so we had abattle after dinner to get this sorted. Breakfast the next day had a long wait as not enough staff and there had been a coach in, no eggs as the previous day and bacon and sausage terrible. Staff wererunning round like headless chickens, one in particular and instead of a nice breakfast it left you stressed before you started the day. Room adequate and bathroom small but clean. We will never stayin this hotel again and will stay away from Holiday Inns in the future.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant  
Toby Carvery  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break

Stay Date: 11/05/13, a customer who stayed at 3* Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport and 8 days parking in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Absolutely brilliant and we had the best weekend ever the hotel was first class and service, perfect setting for the proposal I received Many thanks See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 511 - 518 of 518 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100339 @ 19/07/2017 12:37:26

Last rendered @ 27/07/2017 01:31:17

Last rendered @ 27/07/2017 01:31:17

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.