Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North East England

North East England Holiday Reviews

Angel of the North, Gateshead

Perfect for a short break, our hotels in North-East England range from budget city accommodation to luxury country retreats. Up-and-coming cultural hubs, cities in the North-East are also famous for their unique nightlife and fab shopping – our Newcastle hotels and hotels near Middlesbrough are handy for it all. When you’re off on a longer break, be sure to check out the hotels near Newcastle Airport for the best way to get your holiday off on the right foot.

Whatever you’re looking for from a getaway, our hotels in the North-East have something to offer; relaxing, picturesque and ideal for walks, Northumberland hotels are just as appealing as those in region’s big cities – for entirely different reasons. Escape to the country for one of our relaxed dinner break, unwind at a spa, or enjoy the splendour of an afternoon tea package at one of our hotels in North-East England.

  • One of the country’s top city breaks, don’t miss our Newcastle hotels for the best of the North-East’s great shopping, top sport, infamous nightlife, events and art galleries such as the renowned BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art.
  • Our hotels near Durham are also a superb choice for a short break; be sure to soak up the city’s ambience and appreciate its fabulous historical attractions – the gothic Durham Cathedral and the Norman Durham Castle are both UNESCO World Heritage sites.
  • Perhaps the area’s most scenic spot, the Northumbria coast is a must-see, and our hotels near Berwick couldn’t be better placed for visits to Alnwick Castle, Holy Island at Lindisfarne, and Hadrian’s Wall.


An excellent choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-East in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 500

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Newcastle

Stay Date: 02/09/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park in Newcastle-upon-Tyne rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Metro Centre  
Newcastle City Centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Metro Centre  
 
 

Grey Street Hotel Newcastle

Stay Date: 01/12/06, a customer who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

We decided to stay at the Grey Street Hotel due to its central location. Noise from Newcastles revellers wasn't a problem at all, but the noise from the extractor fan of the kitchen unit of the See More  Read more information Hotel was (Room 14). After one early morning call at 06.00hrs we asked for a room change, which was obliged and after that we slept very well. Food is provided by The Living Rooms. We had Breakfast inour room twice, both times, incorrect and cold. We had breakfast in the Living Room once and they forgot the Muffins, hard when thats where the Salmon and Scambled eggs were supposed to lay upon! Wealso ate twice in the Living Rooms, the atmosphere was great, the service good but once again the wrong food delivered! Tuna instead of Lamb! We explored the Sage and Baltic, but were dissapointed bythe Baltic. They must have run out of money finishing the Baltic as all it needs now is some Art inside. Newcastle was great for pubbing and Christmas shopping. We went initially to see Richard Ashcroftand Morrissey and can highly recomend The Metro Radio Arena as a great place for gigs. We had a great time let down by a poor hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Sage  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Living Room  
The Baltic  
Treacle Moon  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Newcastle

Stay Date: 31/01/07, a customer from Glasgow who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre in Gateshead rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Wedding

Stay Date: 30/12/07, a customer from County Durham who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

Heating problem in hotel resulted in banging noise in our room unable to sleep and after reporting to a memeber of staff eventually saw assistant duty manager who contacted another member of staff See More  Read more information it finally was sorted due to lack of sleep and getting the problem sorted it spoilt out night and we were unable to enjoy the facilities the next day   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Darlington

Stay Date: 31/07/08, a customer from Sheffield who stayed at 3* Hall Garth Hotel, Golf & Country Club in Darlington rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham Cathedral  
 
 

Holiday In Alnwick

Stay Date: 22/09/08, a customer who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel, Alnwick in Alnwick wrote this review.

Arrived at Hotel to find that they had no note of our booking - fortunately they had rooms. Nice clean room but problem with plumbing resulted in terrible noise which kept us awake the first night. See More  Read more information Reported in the morning. Went out and nothing done when we go back. Reported again which resulted in a change of room. First change of room very small but shown another room which was a twin andbigger we chose this room. Generally not such good service at the Hotel. Last day they ran out of white bread at breakfast! Seemed just a bit under par although clean not quite to the standard and quitelax re customer service. However, the area is lovely, we enjoyed the castle and gardens and the days out to Berwick etc.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Berwick-upon-Tweed  
Alnwick Castle and Gardens  
Washington wetlands park  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: We work hard to ensure our booking procedures are very comprehensive and we are working with the hotel to ensure that their reservation procedures are reviewed

 

Short Break In Newcastle Area

Stay Date: 27/11/09, a customer from Southampton who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Washington in Washington rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Baltic Flour Mills  
 
 

Travelodge

Stay Date: 20/09/09, a customer who stayed at 3* Travelodge Durham in Durham rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham Cathedral  
Durham Castle  
York  
 
 

A Week End In The North East

Stay Date: 08/08/10, a customer who stayed at 3* Hall Garth Hotel, Golf & Country Club in Darlington wrote this review.

The hotel is a period building surrounded by a golf course which is very pleasant. The staff were very polite and the room was smart and clean. The break was spoiled by the positioning of the room See More  Read more information (43) directly over the function room. The party below lasted until 12:30am on both nights and the noise was such that I felt I was on the dance floor when I was in bed. Sleep was impossible.Unfortunately we were not warned about this and it spoiled our break. Its advised to check the position of your room when booking.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tall Ships At Hartlepool  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: We do request that all the hotels we work with inform us of any large events or conferences they may be holding so we can inform clients. Unfortunately on this occasion we were not made aware of this.

 

Short Break

Stay Date: 11/05/13, a customer who stayed at 3* Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport and 8 days parking in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Absolutely brilliant and we had the best weekend ever the hotel was first class and service, perfect setting for the proposal I received Many thanks See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 491 - 500 of 500 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001507 @ 06/12/2017 10:38:16

Last rendered @ 18/12/2017 18:29:03

Last rendered @ 18/12/2017 18:29:03

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.