Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North East England

North East England Holiday Reviews

Angel of the North, Gateshead

Perfect for a short break, our hotels in North-East England range from budget city accommodation to luxury country retreats. Up-and-coming cultural hubs, cities in the North-East are also famous for their unique nightlife and fab shopping – our Newcastle hotels and hotels near Middlesbrough are handy for it all. When you’re off on a longer break, be sure to check out the hotels near Newcastle Airport for the best way to get your holiday off on the right foot.

Whatever you’re looking for from a getaway, our hotels in the North-East have something to offer; relaxing, picturesque and ideal for walks, Northumberland hotels are just as appealing as those in region’s big cities – for entirely different reasons. Escape to the country for one of our relaxed dinner break, unwind at a spa, or enjoy the splendour of an afternoon tea package at one of our hotels in North-East England.

  • One of the country’s top city breaks, don’t miss our Newcastle hotels for the best of the North-East’s great shopping, top sport, infamous nightlife, events and art galleries such as the renowned BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art.
  • Our hotels near Durham are also a superb choice for a short break; be sure to soak up the city’s ambience and appreciate its fabulous historical attractions – the gothic Durham Cathedral and the Norman Durham Castle are both UNESCO World Heritage sites.
  • Perhaps the area’s most scenic spot, the Northumbria coast is a must-see, and our hotels near Berwick couldn’t be better placed for visits to Alnwick Castle, Holy Island at Lindisfarne, and Hadrian’s Wall.


An excellent choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-East in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 499

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break

Stay Date: 11/05/13, a customer who stayed at 3* Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport and 8 days parking in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Absolutely brilliant and we had the best weekend ever the hotel was first class and service, perfect setting for the proposal I received Many thanks See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Durham

Stay Date: 17/08/13, a customer aged 25-44 from Catterick Garrison who stayed at 3* Travelodge Durham in Durham wrote this review.

Great city, bars, restaurants and shops all excellent. Plus great sightseeing, cathedral and river cruises. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pubs  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bella Italia  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Trip to Durham

Stay Date: 23/09/13, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Travelodge Durham in Durham wrote this review.

Restful & interesting East Coast train journey to Durham. Stayed in Travelodge - comfortable if basic accommodation but easy walking distance to city centre. Staff very cheery & helpful. Visit was See More  Read more information to exhibit of the Lindisfarne Gospels but also to Crook Hall & Gardens which had been recommended by a friend. Gardens & House were exceptional & the highlight of the trip. Dined at The Cellar Door inSaddler Street - great atmosphere & food - would recommend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cathedral  
Crook Hall & Gardens  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Cellar Door  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Two lovely days in Durham

Stay Date: 29/10/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Balderstone who stayed at 3* Travelodge Durham in Durham wrote this review.

We enjoyed the two days in Durham and the evening meal at sambuca's restaurant which is situated next to the Travelodge. The hotel is only a five minute walk out of Durham centre with all of the See More  Read more information university sites, cathedral and lovely shops and cafes. A lovely short break   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham  
University  
cathredral  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
sambuca  
cathedral court cafe  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Overnight Stay in Durham

Stay Date: 07/12/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Stockton-On-Tees who stayed at 3* Travelodge Durham in Durham wrote this review.

Hotel location was very good but had to pay ten pounds extra for early check in as we couldn't leave our cases anywhere but obviously there was a room ready. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely Night at the Novotel

Stay Date: 26/12/13, a customer aged 18-24 who stayed at 3* Novotel Newcastle Airport in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

I arrived at the Novotol at around 8pm and was greeted by a lovely woman at the desk, she didn't seem to mind that I was checking in so late. She was extremely friendly to us and actually made us See More  Read more information feel wanted, nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff. We received our room key and went straight up, at first glance the Novotel is extremely pleasing to look at, everything's clean and it hada lovely vanilla smell. We arrived at our superior queen room which was exactly like the photos I'd seen, it was large and warm. I was surprised at our en suite feature as it was much bigger thanI expected it to be. Unfortunately my stay wasn't long enough to enjoy the hotels facilities but if your looking for a lovely hotel to spend the night in, I highly recommended the Novotel for itsfriendly staff and clean comfortable rooms.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Durham

Stay Date: 03/05/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Travelodge Durham in Durham wrote this review.

Walking around the city, especially by the river. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Botanical Garden  
city/heritage area  
Tanfield railway  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wetherspoons  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Fabulous day in Durham City centre

Stay Date: 12/07/14, a customer aged 25-44 from Crook who stayed at 3* Travelodge Durham in Durham wrote this review.

Brilliant atmosphere loved the day. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Durham

Stay Date: 30/08/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Travelodge Durham in Durham wrote this review.

The stay was ok, a little noisy with doors banging and people walking past constantly but it was a nice comfortable room. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 491 - 499 of 499 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001435 @ 08/11/2017 09:41:29

Last rendered @ 20/11/2017 09:56:02

Last rendered @ 20/11/2017 09:56:02

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.