Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North East England

North East England Holiday Reviews

Angel of the North, Gateshead

Perfect for a short break, our hotels in North-East England range from budget city accommodation to luxury country retreats. Up-and-coming cultural hubs, cities in the North-East are also famous for their unique nightlife and fab shopping – our Newcastle hotels and hotels near Middlesbrough are handy for it all. When you’re off on a longer break, be sure to check out the hotels near Newcastle Airport for the best way to get your holiday off on the right foot.

Whatever you’re looking for from a getaway, our hotels in the North-East have something to offer; relaxing, picturesque and ideal for walks, Northumberland hotels are just as appealing as those in region’s big cities – for entirely different reasons. Escape to the country for one of our relaxed dinner break, unwind at a spa, or enjoy the splendour of an afternoon tea package at one of our hotels in North-East England.

  • One of the country’s top city breaks, don’t miss our Newcastle hotels for the best of the North-East’s great shopping, top sport, infamous nightlife, events and art galleries such as the renowned BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art.
  • Our hotels near Durham are also a superb choice for a short break; be sure to soak up the city’s ambience and appreciate its fabulous historical attractions – the gothic Durham Cathedral and the Norman Durham Castle are both UNESCO World Heritage sites.
  • Perhaps the area’s most scenic spot, the Northumbria coast is a must-see, and our hotels near Berwick couldn’t be better placed for visits to Alnwick Castle, Holy Island at Lindisfarne, and Hadrian’s Wall.


An excellent choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-East in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 511

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Get What You Pay For

Stay Date: 29/06/09, a customer who stayed at 3* Travelodge Durham in Durham wrote this review.

Travelodge Durham is fine apart from the noise from rooms above - the squeaking of the floorboards is something else. So my tip is - go for an upstairs room. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Park and Fly

Stay Date: 27/06/09, a customer who stayed at 3* Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport and 8 days parking in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

stayed one night and parked car up for 8 nights travelling with 2 adults and two kids. Had meal in hotel restaurant which was ok for the money room wasnt huge but consisted of bunk beds and twins, See More  Read more information which were ok. Suited us as we only had to walk over to the airport in the morning.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break Nr Durham

Stay Date: 26/01/10, a customer who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Newton Aycliffe rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bistro 31  
 
 

2 night dinner offer at Barcelo Redworth Hall

Stay Date: 05/06/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

The hotel was very nice and just what we expected. Perfect for the spa break or relaxed weekend away from cities and towns. The only part of the hotel I noticed that needed a refurbishment was the See More  Read more information restaurant. Although the food was good, the restaurant did not fit in with the rest of the hotel. However, this was a small thing to be noticed and it did not affect our stay. Overall, we were veryhappy with the visit.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Barcelo Redworth Hall Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: This review was written by a member of Superbreak staff who stayed at this hotel.

 

Short Break In Newcastle

Stay Date: 01/08/10, a customer from London who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Alnmouth  
Berwick  
Bambrough  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zizzi  
Pizza Express  
La Tasca  
 
 

Expensive Redworth

Stay Date: 19/02/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

Room was nothing special compared to previous visit. 1st night dinner in restaurant was extortionately priced and not worth it. At 7.15 we were told there was no steak to be had. Neither did they See More  Read more information have any vanilla ice cream. Ridiculous. £8 for tea and a scone..Laughable. I ordered gluten free bread a week before our stay and only got it as i was finishing breakfast on the final day of our stay.10 minutes earlier and i wouldn't have got it at all. Leisure facilities lovely but treatments again, very expensive. Changing rooms not clean, floors dirty, shower tiles cracked and stained, no showergel in dispensers and just a trickle of water. I mentioned all this when i checked out and was assured i would be contacted to discuss my concerns...Still waiting. Northallerton a lovely littlemarket town worth a visit...Betty's for treats and a fab deli up the street. Meal at the bay horse in heighington was excellent.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Bay Horse, Heighington  
Betty's Tea Room, Northallerton  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Slightly Dissapointed With Hotel

Stay Date: 19/06/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

Little dissapointed as had a fire alarm at 12am on 1st night of stay and had to evacuate. Got a photocopied letter of apology, but with a 1 year old baby, being woke up and trying to get back to See More  Read more information sleep was a nightmare.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Darlington  
Croft  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Heightington Village  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Durham

Stay Date: 22/06/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Travelodge Durham in Durham rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Raby Castle  
Bowes Museum  
Blue Reef Aquarium  
Btcc At Croft  
 
 

Ideal Price For A Stag Do

Stay Date: 31/07/11, a customer from United Kingdom who stayed at 2* Travelodge Newcastle Central in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Travelodge central is what you come to expect from just about any travelodge: fairly clean, fairly friendly, a bit like a college halls of residence. As long as you're not paying much for it you See More  Read more information shouldn't be disappointed. No surprise then that it is the obvious choice for so many stag/hen dos.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jongleurs Comedy Club  
F1 Karting Gateshead  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing Weekend

Stay Date: 02/04/12, a customer from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Travelodge Durham in Durham wrote this review.

Lovely walks around a historic town and along the river. Wide range of shopping and places to see. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham Cathedral  
Crook Hall Gardens  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Little Italy  
Bells Fish & Chips  
Bishops Mill  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 441 - 450 of 511 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001374 @ 19/10/2017 16:34:03

Last rendered @ 20/10/2017 19:10:40

Last rendered @ 20/10/2017 19:10:40

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.