Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North East England

North East England Holiday Reviews

Angel of the North, Gateshead

Perfect for a short break, our hotels in North-East England range from budget city accommodation to luxury country retreats. Up-and-coming cultural hubs, cities in the North-East are also famous for their unique nightlife and fab shopping – our Newcastle hotels and hotels near Middlesbrough are handy for it all. When you’re off on a longer break, be sure to check out the hotels near Newcastle Airport for the best way to get your holiday off on the right foot.

Whatever you’re looking for from a getaway, our hotels in the North-East have something to offer; relaxing, picturesque and ideal for walks, Northumberland hotels are just as appealing as those in region’s big cities – for entirely different reasons. Escape to the country for one of our relaxed dinner break, unwind at a spa, or enjoy the splendour of an afternoon tea package at one of our hotels in North-East England.

  • One of the country’s top city breaks, don’t miss our Newcastle hotels for the best of the North-East’s great shopping, top sport, infamous nightlife, events and art galleries such as the renowned BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art.
  • Our hotels near Durham are also a superb choice for a short break; be sure to soak up the city’s ambience and appreciate its fabulous historical attractions – the gothic Durham Cathedral and the Norman Durham Castle are both UNESCO World Heritage sites.
  • Perhaps the area’s most scenic spot, the Northumbria coast is a must-see, and our hotels near Berwick couldn’t be better placed for visits to Alnwick Castle, Holy Island at Lindisfarne, and Hadrian’s Wall.


An excellent choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-East in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 512

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

New Year At Redworth Hall

Stay Date: 01/01/10, a customer from Chester Le Street who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

My family, my parents, myself and my two daughters age 11 and 9 stayed at Redworth Hall as a Christmas/New Year treat. It was also my birthday on New Years day. The hotel is beautiful real old world See More  Read more information with open fires and a lovely christmas feel. We enjoyed the New Year evening meal and had two lovely swims while we were there- very enjoyable break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Barcelo Redworth Hall Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Newcastle

Stay Date: 09/12/09, a customer who stayed at 2* Travelodge Newcastle Central in Newcastle-upon-Tyne rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Baltic Centre  
Sage Gateshead  
 
 

Lovely Relaxing Break

Stay Date: 04/12/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

We had visited Redworth Hall previously and it lived up to expectations. The hotel is magnificent, in a wonderful setting, and the room was great. Food was also very good although it is surprising See More  Read more information that the dining room is modern and functional rather than in keeping with the rest of the hotel (there is an older part but we didn't dine in there this time). The break was intended to be relaxing sowe didn't do anything frantic. We visited Mount Grace Priory and Fountains Abbey en route. Both were well worth a visit but Fountains Abbey, floodlit in the dusk, was magnificent. Saturday was spentin Durham, visiting the Christmas craft marquee, attending the carol service at the cathedral (and subsequently touring the cathedral) and watching the christingle procession. It was a very enjoyableday and we were impressed with the effort made for children (petting animals and free rides with santa etc.). The week-end was very relaxing and really put us in the spirit of Christmas.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Carol Service At Durham Cathedral  
Durham Incl Christmas Market And Craft Marquee  
En Route (Going) Mount Grace Priory  
En Route (Returning) Fountains Abbey  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Darlington

Stay Date: 29/11/09, a customer from Faringdon who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel in Darlington rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break In Newcastle Area

Stay Date: 27/11/09, a customer from Southampton who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Washington in Washington rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Baltic Flour Mills  
 
 

Short Break In Northumbria

Stay Date: 23/10/09, a customer from Stockton-On-Tees who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel, Alnwick in Alnwick wrote this review.

Hotel and bistro were good. Only negative comments would be the male members of reception staff were more professional, polite, attentive and smartly dressed than the female members of staff and See More  Read more information acted in a more professional manner. Bathrooms could be cleaned a bit better.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Alnwick Gardens  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

University Drop Off

Stay Date: 29/09/09, a customer who stayed at 3* Travelodge Durham in Durham wrote this review.

Central. Car parking. Hotel clean and reasonably priced. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Haltwhistle  
Brampton  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Che Villa  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Travelodge

Stay Date: 20/09/09, a customer who stayed at 3* Travelodge Durham in Durham rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham Cathedral  
Durham Castle  
York  
 
 

A Break With Freinds

Stay Date: 03/09/09, a customer from North Yorkshire who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

The facilities were excellent and made for an enjoyable stay. Dinners were of a very high order and the menu was comprehensive.The staff were attentive and friendly. All round, an excellent place to See More  Read more information stay. We will be back!.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Darlington  
Wearside Railway  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Durham

Stay Date: 26/08/09, a customer from Derby who stayed at 3* Travelodge Durham in Durham rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bamburgh Castle  
Hartlepool Maritime Museum  
Durham Cathedral And Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Express  
Cafe Rouge  
 
 
 

Showing 321 - 330 of 512 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100637 @ 17/08/2017 08:58:34

Last rendered @ 23/08/2017 09:22:18

Last rendered @ 23/08/2017 09:22:18

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.