Customer Reviews by Destination - North East England

North East England Holiday Reviews

Angel of the North, Gateshead

Perfect for a short break, our hotels in North-East England range from budget city accommodation to luxury country retreats. Up-and-coming cultural hubs, cities in the North-East are also famous for their unique nightlife and fab shopping – our Newcastle hotels and hotels near Middlesbrough are handy for it all. When you’re off on a longer break, be sure to check out the hotels near Newcastle Airport for the best way to get your holiday off on the right foot.

Whatever you’re looking for from a getaway, our hotels in the North-East have something to offer; relaxing, picturesque and ideal for walks, Northumberland hotels are just as appealing as those in region’s big cities – for entirely different reasons. Escape to the country for one of our relaxed dinner break, unwind at a spa, or enjoy the splendour of an afternoon tea package at one of our hotels in North-East England.

  • One of the country’s top city breaks, don’t miss our Newcastle hotels for the best of the North-East’s great shopping, top sport, infamous nightlife, events and art galleries such as the renowned BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art.
  • Our hotels near Durham are also a superb choice for a short break; be sure to soak up the city’s ambience and appreciate its fabulous historical attractions – the gothic Durham Cathedral and the Norman Durham Castle are both UNESCO World Heritage sites.
  • Perhaps the area’s most scenic spot, the Northumbria coast is a must-see, and our hotels near Berwick couldn’t be better placed for visits to Alnwick Castle, Holy Island at Lindisfarne, and Hadrian’s Wall.


An excellent choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-East in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 562

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Great Weekend In Durham

Stay Date: 21/03/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

The hotel was an old stately home converted into a hotel about 20 years ago and has kept its charm and features beautifully, as well as adding new features such as a lovely leisure club and See More  Read more information conference facilities. We wanted to visit durham which was only 20 minutes away by car. It is a very interesting old city with a wonderful cathedral and castle and good shops, bars and restaurants! Altogethera very enjoyable and good value weekend!.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham Cathedral  
Durham Castle/Uni  
Whitby On Sea  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant Both Nights  
La Tasca- Durham  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Newcastle

Stay Date: 06/03/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Matfen Hall Hotel in Matfen (Nr Newcastle) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break In Newcastle

Stay Date: 28/02/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Baltic Flour Mill  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Living Room  
 
 

Walworth Castle

Stay Date: 27/02/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel in Darlington wrote this review.

What a lovely hotel! Impressive from start to finish and I am very picky. Welcome was good, room excellent, food and service good. Would definitely recommend and will go back. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Day Out In Edinburgh

Stay Date: 13/02/11, a customer from Keighley who stayed at 3* Marshall Meadows Country House (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Berwick-upon-Tweed wrote this review.

Fantastic city to visit, a day was not long enough, from the hotel it was 1 hour's drive, it would have been easier & cheaper to travel by train from berwick upon tweed as parking in edinburgh can See More  Read more information be expensive. The hotel was lovely, very clean and the staff were all friendly and helpful. The food in the hotel was excellent and plenty of it! the only negative comment is that it was hard to find.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Expensive Redworth

Stay Date: 19/02/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

Room was nothing special compared to previous visit. 1st night dinner in restaurant was extortionately priced and not worth it. At 7.15 we were told there was no steak to be had. Neither did they See More  Read more information have any vanilla ice cream. Ridiculous. £8 for tea and a scone..Laughable. I ordered gluten free bread a week before our stay and only got it as i was finishing breakfast on the final day of our stay.10 minutes earlier and i wouldn't have got it at all. Leisure facilities lovely but treatments again, very expensive. Changing rooms not clean, floors dirty, shower tiles cracked and stained, no showergel in dispensers and just a trickle of water. I mentioned all this when i checked out and was assured i would be contacted to discuss my concerns...Still waiting. Northallerton a lovely littlemarket town worth a visit...Betty's for treats and a fab deli up the street. Meal at the bay horse in heighington was excellent.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Bay Horse, Heighington  
Betty's Tea Room, Northallerton  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Berwick Upon Tweed

Stay Date: 30/01/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Marshall Meadows Country House (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Berwick-upon-Tweed rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Coastal path  
Berwick upon Tweed  
Walked Round Berwick Ramparts  
Walked To Scotland  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dolallies? - Fab Lunch - Paninis And Coffee  
Marshall Meadows Country House  
 
 

Great Break Away

Stay Date: 24/01/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Marshall Meadows Country House (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Berwick-upon-Tweed wrote this review.

I took my mother to Berwick as her christmas gift, we were well looked after in the hotel and the staff were brilliant. It's location is perfect and we were able to get into town in 5 minutes. We See More  Read more information mooched around the shops and went to the musuem, walked the town walls but the best bit was the pantomime at the maltings presented by the spittal varity group. It was really excellent. All in all agreat location and great food and staff, I would recomend no problem for those after a base for a relaxing weekend break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Town Walls  
Military Museum  
Coastal Walks  
Maltings Theatre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Queens Hotel Restaurant  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Anniversary Weekend

Stay Date: 23/01/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Marshall Meadows Country House (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Berwick-upon-Tweed wrote this review.

It was a get away weekend. We visited Berwick and the holy island and really enjoyed ourselves. As the food was so good at the hotel we decided to eat there again on the next night. We found the See More  Read more information staff extremely friendly and very helpful and the food was exquisite.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Berwick  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Marshall Meadows Country House  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Northumberland

Stay Date: 09/01/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel, Alnwick in Alnwick rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bamburgh Castle  
Barter Books  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tower Restaurant  
 
 
 

Showing 321 - 330 of 562 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2016 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=On-Going Enhancements

Version=10621926690 @ 10/01/2017 14:50:08

Last rendered @ 20/01/2017 03:43:50

Last rendered @ 20/01/2017 03:43:50

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.