Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North East England

North East England Holiday Reviews

Angel of the North, Gateshead

Perfect for a short break, our hotels in North-East England range from budget city accommodation to luxury country retreats. Up-and-coming cultural hubs, cities in the North-East are also famous for their unique nightlife and fab shopping – our Newcastle hotels and hotels near Middlesbrough are handy for it all. When you’re off on a longer break, be sure to check out the hotels near Newcastle Airport for the best way to get your holiday off on the right foot.

Whatever you’re looking for from a getaway, our hotels in the North-East have something to offer; relaxing, picturesque and ideal for walks, Northumberland hotels are just as appealing as those in region’s big cities – for entirely different reasons. Escape to the country for one of our relaxed dinner break, unwind at a spa, or enjoy the splendour of an afternoon tea package at one of our hotels in North-East England.

  • One of the country’s top city breaks, don’t miss our Newcastle hotels for the best of the North-East’s great shopping, top sport, infamous nightlife, events and art galleries such as the renowned BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art.
  • Our hotels near Durham are also a superb choice for a short break; be sure to soak up the city’s ambience and appreciate its fabulous historical attractions – the gothic Durham Cathedral and the Norman Durham Castle are both UNESCO World Heritage sites.
  • Perhaps the area’s most scenic spot, the Northumbria coast is a must-see, and our hotels near Berwick couldn’t be better placed for visits to Alnwick Castle, Holy Island at Lindisfarne, and Hadrian’s Wall.


An excellent choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-East in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 511

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Grey Street Hotel Newcastle

Stay Date: 04/12/12, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Lovely hotel situated near all shops, bars and clubs. Perfect for a city centre Newcastle break. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Newcastle City Centre  
Metro centre gateshead  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Newcastle

Stay Date: 27/12/12, a customer aged 45-64 from London who stayed at 4* Vermont Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Friendly people, great nightlife, classic architecture and just great being away with friends. Wonderful and classy hotel. What more can you ask for. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Nightlife  
Baltic Mill  
Bridges  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Italian Restaurant  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Trip to Newcastle

Stay Date: 26/12/12, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Vermont Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

We stayed at the Vermont Hotel. Staff were polite and pleasant. Meal was lovely and rooms at the hotel good. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Newcastle Trip

Stay Date: 11/01/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Glasgow who stayed at 4* Vermont Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Just a chance for a relax and pub lunches and catch up time See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Castle Garth  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Express  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Newcastle

Stay Date: 11/01/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Vermont Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

the hotel room had no views it looked on to an alley,we had a good day out at the metro centre the break was not long enough to really do any thing else See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Metro Centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chinese Buffet  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good Weekend Away

Stay Date: 18/01/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Dundee who stayed at 4* Vermont Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Trip to Newcastle was for my 60th birthday and included visit to Newcastle United FC. Despite very cold weather we had a good time and enjoyed our stay at the Vermont. Facilities were very good and See More  Read more information staff exceptionally friendly with a very high level of service. Our only regret was coming home one day early due to impending severe weather conditions.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
St James Park  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Bridge  
Prima  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic Vermont Newcastle

Stay Date: 19/01/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Vermont Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

We stayed 3 nights at the Vermont in Newcastle. From arrival to departure, we were thoroughly impressed with the opulent surroundings, central but quiet location, lovely rooms, fantastic value, See More  Read more information excellent food and extremely friendly staff. I can not rate this hotel high enough. The meals were top class set in a lovely dining room with friendly attentive staff. My wife thought we had arrived atthe wrong Hotel when we first arrived and the concierge helped us it looked "better" than the Hotels we "normally" go to.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Eldon Square Shopping Centre  
Tynemouth  
Discovery Museum  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

30th Wedding Anniversary in Newcastle

Stay Date: 04/02/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Vermont Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary with friends going to bars , restaurants and a trip on the metro to the Tyneside coast. Hotel was great value for money, ideally located to explore Newcastle. See More  Read more information Will definitely try Superbreak again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pan Haggerty  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bridge Hotel  
Las Iguanas  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic Time at Matfen Hall

Stay Date: 05/02/13, a customer aged 25-44 from Alnwick who stayed at 4* Matfen Hall Hotel in Matfen (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

We had a fantastic time at Matfen Hall, accommodation was faultless and the spa facilities were great. Only downside was the lack of choice for dining and the price of the drinks was too high. See More  Read more information Otherwise superb place in a great location, perfect for a romantic getaway / chilled out break. Would definitely go back again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Conservatory  
The Keepers Lodge  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Christmas Shopping in Norwich

Stay Date: 16/02/13, a customer aged 25-44 from Sleaford who stayed at 4* Gisborough Hall in Guisborough wrote this review.

Staying at the Holiday Inn, we had a great day Christmas shopping in the markets, centres and stores in Norwich. The atmosphere really helped to get us in the festive mood. It was great to get back See More  Read more information to the hotel to rest after our hectic day before a great meal in the local Delia Smith Restaurant that evening. After a comfortable nights sleep, we managed to get our appetite back just in time fora fantastic breakfast at the hotel, before checking out and heading off for more shopping!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 3 out of 3 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 111 - 120 of 511 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001286 @ 05/10/2017 10:49:14

Last rendered @ 16/10/2017 23:10:07

Last rendered @ 16/10/2017 23:10:07

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.