Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North East England

North East England Holiday Reviews

Angel of the North, Gateshead

Perfect for a short break, our hotels in North-East England range from budget city accommodation to luxury country retreats. Up-and-coming cultural hubs, cities in the North-East are also famous for their unique nightlife and fab shopping – our Newcastle hotels and hotels near Middlesbrough are handy for it all. When you’re off on a longer break, be sure to check out the hotels near Newcastle Airport for the best way to get your holiday off on the right foot.

Whatever you’re looking for from a getaway, our hotels in the North-East have something to offer; relaxing, picturesque and ideal for walks, Northumberland hotels are just as appealing as those in region’s big cities – for entirely different reasons. Escape to the country for one of our relaxed dinner break, unwind at a spa, or enjoy the splendour of an afternoon tea package at one of our hotels in North-East England.

  • One of the country’s top city breaks, don’t miss our Newcastle hotels for the best of the North-East’s great shopping, top sport, infamous nightlife, events and art galleries such as the renowned BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art.
  • Our hotels near Durham are also a superb choice for a short break; be sure to soak up the city’s ambience and appreciate its fabulous historical attractions – the gothic Durham Cathedral and the Norman Durham Castle are both UNESCO World Heritage sites.
  • Perhaps the area’s most scenic spot, the Northumbria coast is a must-see, and our hotels near Berwick couldn’t be better placed for visits to Alnwick Castle, Holy Island at Lindisfarne, and Hadrian’s Wall.


An excellent choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-East in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 511

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Theatre Break Newcastle

Stay Date: 15/02/17, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Could not fault the location of the hotel, a very short walk from the theatre. Staff were helpful and friendly, room clean and comfortable, and food at breakfast excellent. Only problem that it was See More  Read more information a very deep bath/shower with no easily reachable support to get in and out. I hadn't asked for an accessible shower (and I assume the hotel will have them as they had a wheelchair lift) but this wasvery inaccessible. Possibly the ongoing refurbishment programme will take care of it.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cafe Rouge  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Break in Darlington scenic location

Stay Date: 25/03/17, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

Room was good and spacious. Meals very good with plenty of choice. Excellent leisure facilities. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent

Stay Date: 12/05/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The County Hotel Newcastle (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Hotel clean, staff friendly and helpful, meals lovely and served by very professional staff. Situated straight across from railway station - perfect location for shopping, pubs and restaurants. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
St James Park  
MetroCentre  
Eldon centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
TGI  
Weatherspoon  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend at Darlington

Stay Date: 12/08/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel in Darlington wrote this review.

We stayed at The Blackwell Grange Hotel, we were made welcome on arrival, our room was spotless. After a good night's sleep we went for breakfast, the staff were friendly and welcoming, there was a See More  Read more information good range of food to pick from and was all good. Would not hesitate to stay there again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Darlington Town  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely weekend around Beamish

Stay Date: 02/09/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Doncaster who stayed at 4* Best Western Beamish Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Durham (Nr) wrote this review.

Beamish Hall Hotel is a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. The staff, especially the dining staff, are lovely and the room was super. V quiet even though there are lots going on at the hotel we See More  Read more information were not disturbed. There were fireworks after a wedding, it might have been nice to have known and we would have stayed up and watched them. Went to Beamish Museum couldn't have been easier and thenbeing National Trust members we visited Cherryburn and Gibside which were both lovely a fabulous weekend, will definitely be back.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Gibside  
Cherryburn  
Beamish  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Stables  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Day by the river.

Stay Date: 03/09/17, a customer aged 65+ from Pudsey who stayed at 4* Vermont Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Excellent hotel, room with a view, overlooked the river and landmark bridges. Short walk to the quayside and river, lots of cafes and restaurants. Away from the river it can be hilly some quite See More  Read more information steep! Great for shopping in the town plus even more cafes and restaurants. A great place to visit!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shopping  
Quayside/River  
Historical building,etc,.  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beautiful Beamish

Stay Date: 13/09/17, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Best Western Beamish Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Durham (Nr) wrote this review.

We only came to see Beamish Museum which we visited last 35 years ago! It was good then and is excellent now, we spent 5 hours there. It was Beamish Hall Hotel where we stayed, really close to the See More  Read more information attraction but in itself is a great hotel with wonderful northeastern staff, really good food and pleasant rooms.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Gorgeous Northumberland!

Stay Date: 06/10/17, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* White Swan Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Alnwick wrote this review.

Stayed at White Swan Alnwick for our wedding anniversary. Staff were excellent & hotel provided complimentary champagne with our anniversary meal. Hotel is very old and traditional and rooms are See More  Read more information "tired". Problem with bathroom as no heat in the towel rail so towels from evening's shower were still wet and cold next morning. Hotel is aware as towel rails are a Health & Safety issue and cannot beused? Food was very good with excellent choices. The Olympic restaurant which features stained glass and wood panelling from The Olympic, sister ship to The Titanic is worth a visit in itself. Followthe coastal drive from Amble north to experience the most stunning deserted beaches.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
N. T. Cragside  
Northumberland coastal drive  
Craster  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shopping in Newcastle

Stay Date: 10/10/17, a customer aged 65+ from Hull who stayed at 3* The County Hotel Newcastle (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

County Hotel is opposite the train station, bus stop to the quayside and Eldon Centre outside the train station. The hotel was first class, rooms clean and comfortable. Our deal including a 3 course See More  Read more information dinner on our first evening and was delicious and the breakfast selection was excellent. All staff lovely and helpful. The bar has an excellent selection of drinks, cocktails etc. Initially came forshopping which we did, but will be returning to see more of the city and shall definitely will stay at the County Hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Millennium Bridge  
Catholic Cathedral  
Shopping  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beautiful Beamish

Stay Date: 11/10/17, a customer aged 65+ from Ulverston who stayed at 4* Best Western Beamish Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Durham (Nr) wrote this review.

Fabulous two day break - the hotel is set is gorgeous grounds, it is full of old style grandeur. The staff were welcoming and informative. We spent the day at Beamish Outdoor Museum which was See More  Read more information wonderful. A great two days!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 511 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001286 @ 05/10/2017 08:13:06

Last rendered @ 17/10/2017 02:55:45

Last rendered @ 17/10/2017 02:55:45

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.