Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North East England

North East England Holiday Reviews

Angel of the North, Gateshead

Perfect for a short break, our hotels in North-East England range from budget city accommodation to luxury country retreats. Up-and-coming cultural hubs, cities in the North-East are also famous for their unique nightlife and fab shopping – our Newcastle hotels and hotels near Middlesbrough are handy for it all. When you’re off on a longer break, be sure to check out the hotels near Newcastle Airport for the best way to get your holiday off on the right foot.

Whatever you’re looking for from a getaway, our hotels in the North-East have something to offer; relaxing, picturesque and ideal for walks, Northumberland hotels are just as appealing as those in region’s big cities – for entirely different reasons. Escape to the country for one of our relaxed dinner break, unwind at a spa, or enjoy the splendour of an afternoon tea package at one of our hotels in North-East England.

  • One of the country’s top city breaks, don’t miss our Newcastle hotels for the best of the North-East’s great shopping, top sport, infamous nightlife, events and art galleries such as the renowned BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art.
  • Our hotels near Durham are also a superb choice for a short break; be sure to soak up the city’s ambience and appreciate its fabulous historical attractions – the gothic Durham Cathedral and the Norman Durham Castle are both UNESCO World Heritage sites.
  • Perhaps the area’s most scenic spot, the Northumbria coast is a must-see, and our hotels near Berwick couldn’t be better placed for visits to Alnwick Castle, Holy Island at Lindisfarne, and Hadrian’s Wall.


An excellent choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-East in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 504

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Amazing couple of days in Newcastle

Stay Date: 17/11/17, a customer aged 18-24 from Darlington who stayed at 3* The County Hotel Newcastle - Friday Night Out in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Overall, my partner had a lovely stay at The County Hotel in Newcastle. We enjoyed a beautiful meal at Zizzi's, followed by cocktails and a great night's sleep. The following day was spent exploring See More  Read more information the city's Christmas Markets, and visiting the Hancock Museum. We are excited to book our next Friday night out! x   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Christmas Markets  
Hancock Museum  
Fenwicks (Christmas window display!!)  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zizzi, Grey Street  
Chiquito, Eldon Square  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Newcastle short break.

Stay Date: 06/11/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Great break. Would recommend Newcastle. Will go back soon. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Baltic Gallery  
Laing Gallery  
Biscuit factory  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great stay

Stay Date: 21/11/17, a customer aged 45-64 from North Yorkshire who stayed at 3* Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel in Durham wrote this review.

We only stayed one night but can highly recommend the hotel. Food was gorgeous and the staff very helpful and friendly. Our hotel room had amazing views over the deer park too. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham  
Dalton Park  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Patisserie Valerie  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Super break - Super Happy

Stay Date: 26/11/17, a customer aged 45-64 from California who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Stayed at the Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle City Centre for 2 nights, great building, everything was comfortably as specified especially the powerful WiFi. Booking via Super Break saved me £50 on See More  Read more information the combined hotel & train ticket against booking on Travelocity - will always check Super Break out first and will return to the Grey Street Hotel too which was a simple walk down from the NewcastleCentral railway station, so no taxi needed. More £ saved.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grey Street Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Snowy Beamish

Stay Date: 29/12/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Beamish Hall Hotel (Afternoon Tea Offer) in Durham (Nr) wrote this review.

Lovely location. We used it as a base for a wedding nearby so didn’t eat in hotel other than breakfast or visit nearby attractions. The hotel has character although the bedroom looked tired and in See More  Read more information need of freshening up. Would visit again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beamish Hall Hotel

Stay Date: 04/01/18, a customer from Barnsley who stayed at 4* Beamish Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Durham (Nr) wrote this review.

FABULOUS! We needed a break and to recharge, well this is the place. So quiet and peaceful, yet close by to towns and attractions if you want them. Nothing could be faulted at all. We will be See More  Read more information rebooking for later in the year on another break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
none  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Mini break in Newcastle

Stay Date: 08/01/18, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The County Hotel Newcastle in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

From getting on the train on outward journey to the hotel, location staff, food etc and then travelling home again everything about our experience with Super Break was fab, will certainly do it all See More  Read more information again soon.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
MetroCentre  
Discovery Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic overnight stay

Stay Date: 20/01/18, a customer aged 25-44 from North Lanarkshire who stayed at 4* Matfen Hall Hotel in Matfen (Nr Newcastle) wrote this review.

Our first impression of it was great. We upgraded to a double deluxe room. It was a beautiful room. Such lovely decor. Opening the door to such a lovely room. It was a really good size, with a big See More  Read more information bathroom. It was spotlessly clean & had a cosy feeling. We ate in the Keepers Lodge, we decided to eat in the more informal restaurant. Our meal was really nice. Afterwards we had a drink in theconservatory bar. It had a nice feel to it. Breakfast was in the library restaurant. It was lovely. Matfen Hall is a very beautiful hotel. The decor is so beautiful & tasteful. Such lovely old fashionedfeatures. Even the hallway carpets & decor. The great hall has the wow factor! We passed it going to & from our room. It looks like a room from Cinderella’s castle. The staff were all very polite,attentive & professional. The food was very good. It is situated out in the countryside, so ideal if like us, you are looking for somewhere to relax & just chill out. We don’t get to do that very often soit was a special treat. We would definitely recommend Matfen Hall. We had such a lovely relaxing time & hope to go back again some day. Thank you Matfen Hall.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Strictly Come Dancing in Newcastle

Stay Date: 24/01/18, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

The Grey Street Hotel was a beautiful hotel. Bed are so comfortable and rooms have everything you need. Staff very all very helpful and friendly, would definitely come back. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Metro Radio Arena  
The gate shopping centre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Midweek break Newcastle

Stay Date: 23/01/18, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Vermont Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Stayed at Vermont Hotel. Staff, facilities and room excellent - highly recommend. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Arena 'Strictly come dancing'  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bella Italia Eldon Sq  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 504 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001676 @ 21/02/2018 09:04:19

Last rendered @ 24/02/2018 14:00:18

Last rendered @ 24/02/2018 14:00:18

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.