Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - North East England

North East England Holiday Reviews

Angel of the North, Gateshead

Perfect for a short break, our hotels in North-East England range from budget city accommodation to luxury country retreats. Up-and-coming cultural hubs, cities in the North-East are also famous for their unique nightlife and fab shopping – our Newcastle hotels and hotels near Middlesbrough are handy for it all. When you’re off on a longer break, be sure to check out the hotels near Newcastle Airport for the best way to get your holiday off on the right foot.

Whatever you’re looking for from a getaway, our hotels in the North-East have something to offer; relaxing, picturesque and ideal for walks, Northumberland hotels are just as appealing as those in region’s big cities – for entirely different reasons. Escape to the country for one of our relaxed dinner break, unwind at a spa, or enjoy the splendour of an afternoon tea package at one of our hotels in North-East England.

  • One of the country’s top city breaks, don’t miss our Newcastle hotels for the best of the North-East’s great shopping, top sport, infamous nightlife, events and art galleries such as the renowned BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art.
  • Our hotels near Durham are also a superb choice for a short break; be sure to soak up the city’s ambience and appreciate its fabulous historical attractions – the gothic Durham Cathedral and the Norman Durham Castle are both UNESCO World Heritage sites.
  • Perhaps the area’s most scenic spot, the Northumbria coast is a must-see, and our hotels near Berwick couldn’t be better placed for visits to Alnwick Castle, Holy Island at Lindisfarne, and Hadrian’s Wall.


An excellent choice for your next short break destination, check out our range of hotels in the North-East in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 512

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Durham xmas market

Stay Date: 03/12/16, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Travelodge Durham in Durham wrote this review.

Hotel staff very helpful and friendly. The room was as expected and clean and tidy. The mattress was a little too firm for us which resulted in an ok night's sleep. We enjoyed the market and the See More  Read more information town centre was buzzing and very festive. It was difficult to find room in the cafes, but this was a minor problem. The hotel is well situated for walking into town and we didn't use our car during ourstay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
durham xmas market  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Court Inn  
sambucas  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Overnight stay Newcastle

Stay Date: 09/12/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The County Hotel Newcastle - Friday Night Out in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Great location for train station & nightlife. Rooms were clean & comfortable with quick check in & Prosecco which was included was very nice. Excellent value for money. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zissis  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Best birthday

Stay Date: 31/12/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Hall Garth Hotel, Golf & Country Club New Year Break in Darlington wrote this review.

My birthday is New Year's Eve so my husband and I decided to do something different and was so glad we did, it was an excellent night definitely will be booking again this year. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great break in Newcastle

Stay Date: 06/01/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Cumbria who stayed at 3* Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays Hotel - Friday Night Out in Gateshead wrote this review.

Fantastic break from start to finish. Staff were great. Room was clean, tidy and warm. Location was good right next to the river lovely views. Breakfast was fab. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tiger Tiger  
Zizzis  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zizzis  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Newcastle

Stay Date: 20/01/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays Hotel - Friday Night Out in Gateshead wrote this review.

Excellent stay for my daughters 21st, the staff very helpful, room was excellent comfy bed and clean. You could walk into Newcastle, but taxis was a reasonable price. Excellent stay. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
City Centre  
Tiger Tiger  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zizzi  
Queens Cafe  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short break away

Stay Date: 10/02/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Scarborough who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

An enjoyable break for the weekend. The hotel was welcoming and the staff very friendly. Dinner on the first night was good in the restaurant and the service on the second night from the bar menu See More  Read more information served in the lounge was also a good option.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Oriental Museum  
Head of steam museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Theatre Break Newcastle

Stay Date: 15/02/17, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Grey Street Hotel in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Could not fault the location of the hotel, a very short walk from the theatre. Staff were helpful and friendly, room clean and comfortable, and food at breakfast excellent. Only problem that it was See More  Read more information a very deep bath/shower with no easily reachable support to get in and out. I hadn't asked for an accessible shower (and I assume the hotel will have them as they had a wheelchair lift) but this wasvery inaccessible. Possibly the ongoing refurbishment programme will take care of it.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cafe Rouge  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Break in Darlington scenic location

Stay Date: 25/03/17, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

Room was good and spacious. Meals very good with plenty of choice. Excellent leisure facilities. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent

Stay Date: 12/05/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The County Hotel Newcastle (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Newcastle-upon-Tyne wrote this review.

Hotel clean, staff friendly and helpful, meals lovely and served by very professional staff. Situated straight across from railway station - perfect location for shopping, pubs and restaurants. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
St James Park  
MetroCentre  
Eldon centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
TGI  
Weatherspoon  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend at Darlington

Stay Date: 12/08/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel in Darlington wrote this review.

We stayed at The Blackwell Grange Hotel, we were made welcome on arrival, our room was spotless. After a good night's sleep we went for breakfast, the staff were friendly and welcoming, there was a See More  Read more information good range of food to pick from and was all good. Would not hesitate to stay there again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Darlington Town  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 512 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100637 @ 17/08/2017 08:40:20

Last rendered @ 21/08/2017 11:00:44

Last rendered @ 21/08/2017 11:00:44

x-forward-port: "80"

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.