Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Newbury & Area

Newbury & Area Holiday Reviews

Highclere, near Newbury

If a rural retreat is what you’re after, then look no further than our hotels in Newbury. A principal town in the county of Berkshire, the area is most well-known for its high calibre horse training and famous Newbury Racecourse, ideal if sporting events are your thing. The town, with its many 17th century buildings, is located in the picturesque River Kennet valley and overlooked by the North Wessex Downs making it an area of outstanding beauty.

  • Take a tour around the home of Downton Abbey with a visit to Highclere Castle. The stunning castle and landscape will keep you mesmerised for hours, with some great private tours available should you wish to learn more
  • If you fancy having a flutter on your short break then get yourself to Newbury Racecourse. Host of many great race days, you can bet on your favourites and enjoy the vibrant atmosphere
  • For a relaxed evening full of culture, The Watermill Theatre offers everything from classic Shakespeare to big-number musicals, all in front of an intimate 220-seater audience
Staying in our Newbury hotels also gives you great access to larger areas such as Reading and Swindon, thanks to easy access onto the M4 motorway.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 21

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Romantic Easter Weekend

Stay Date: 07/04/07, a customer from Wellingborough who stayed at 4* Mercure Newbury Elcot Park in Newbury (Nr) wrote this review.

We needed a special weekend away and were not disappointed. The hotel was superb and set in in lovely peaceful grounds.The leisure facilities were great and the food in the restuarant very good as See More  Read more information were the staff. All in all a very special weekend and we will definately return.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hungerford  
Highclere Castle  
Donington Castle  
Shopping In Newbury  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tea Rooms, Hungerford  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Newbury

Stay Date: 06/04/07, a customer from Essex who stayed at 4* Mercure Newbury Elcot Park in Newbury (Nr) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

One Night Stay at West Grange Hotel

Stay Date: 27/05/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Best Western West Grange Hotel in Midgham wrote this review.

Service in this hotel was first class the evening meal was fantastic and breakfast i must say was the best i have ever encountered in all my years of travel i would recomend this hotel to any one it See More  Read more information is one of the best and would have no hesitation going back   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Time on New Year 's Eve

Stay Date: 31/12/07, a customer from Hertfordshire who stayed at 4* Mercure Newbury Elcot Park in Newbury (Nr) wrote this review.

had a great new years evening the staff were excellent the food was great and the room just great we had a wonderful time many thanks we will be coming back. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Relaxing Break in Berkshire

Stay Date: 25/07/08, a customer from Tadworth who stayed at 4* Mercure Newbury Elcot Park in Newbury (Nr) wrote this review.

We stayed in room 20 in the Mews. Excellent. We will definately ask for that room again. Very quiet and with lovely views across the open countryside. We ate in the resturant on both nights and the See More  Read more information service was impeccable, as it was on our previous stay last year.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Marlborough  
Hungerford (Canal walk)  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend break at West Grange Hotel

Stay Date: 09/01/09, a customer from High Wycombe who stayed at 4* Best Western West Grange Hotel in Midgham wrote this review.

We had a lovely weekend break at this Hotel. As the hotel is situated midway between Reading and Newbury we visited both towns on a bus, as the bus stop was just outside the hotel. On returning to See More  Read more information the hotel we enjoyed a lovely meal in relaxed atmosphere and were well looked after by the staff. The room was warm and cosy on this cold January weekend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shopping Newbury  
Shopping Reading  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Midgham

Stay Date: 10/04/09, a customer from Southampton who stayed at 4* Best Western West Grange Hotel in Midgham rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Time To Relax

Stay Date: 28/11/09, a customer from Clayton-Le-Moors who stayed at 4* Best Western West Grange Hotel in Midgham wrote this review.

Upon checking in I asked if there was any chance of an upgrade to an executive room. The receptionist was very polite and helpful and was able to offer the requested upgrade. The room, although one See More  Read more information of the smaller executive rooms, was beautifully decorated, large comfortable bed, wall mounted lcd tv, and a bathroom that surpassed all expectations - pure luxury. We ate late breakfasts and werepleasantly surprised that there was still more than enough available. Service and food excellent. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation, to anyone who wants peace and quite yet easy access toboth Oxford and Reading. Will definitely be staying here again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Oxford  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Birthday Break

Stay Date: 20/04/07, a customer from Rugby who stayed at 4* Best Western West Grange Hotel in Midgham wrote this review.

Visited National Trust properties in locality, caught up with family. Went to RHS Wisley fabulous, glorious sunshine, flowers spectacular. Walked along Thames, busy but lots to see. Enjoyed See More  Read more information evening meals at hotel, where we were few in number, but very well looked after Coffee in Sonning garden centre, pleasant for a short stop   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Nice First Romantic Break

Stay Date: 21/07/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Newbury Elcot Park in Newbury (Nr) wrote this review.

At the first sight everything was as nice in reality as on the website. Lovely hotel in a nice and quiet setting. We enjoyed my boyfriend and I a cappucino in the lounge bar followed by a delicious See More  Read more information dinner in the restaurant of the hotel. The staff was as good as the quality of the meal. The only negative side was a lack of accomodation for smokers as it was raining and could not find one coveredarea outside.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
L'Orangery  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely Sunday in Bath

Stay Date: 25/08/07, a customer from Brighton who stayed at 4* Mercure Newbury Elcot Park in Newbury (Nr) wrote this review.

We visited Bath, which is a City we have been to before, but saw things this time we had missed before. We strolled through the French market and a lovely park near Royal Crescent. We visited the See More  Read more information restored house in Royal Crescent which is manned by very pleasant volunteers who are so keen to tell you what they know about Bath and its history. Shame they couldn't open more rooms due to a shortageof people. We had a lovely lunch in Strada which is in a building which used to be lived in by Beau Nash. The day was lovely, and we really enjoyed ourselves. Bath is a beautiful place.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bath  
Henley  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Strada  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

West Grange

Stay Date: 15/09/07, a customer from Pontefract who stayed at 4* Best Western West Grange Hotel in Midgham rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Great Visit to Newbury

Stay Date: 08/08/08, a customer from Batley who stayed at 4* Best Western West Grange Hotel in Midgham wrote this review.

We were a little disappointed when we arrived at The West Grange Hotel in Newbury, as it resembled a building site, which in fact it was!! The hotel was undergoing refurbishment, which we were See More  Read more information unaware of. However this did not deter us, and in fact throughly enjoyed our stay. There were lots of delightful inns in the area, where the food was excellent. We had a very enjoyable stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Rowbarge, Woollerton  
The Bull, Near Pangbourne  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Elcot Park

Stay Date: 13/02/10, a customer from Southampton who stayed at 4* Mercure Newbury Elcot Park (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Newbury (Nr) wrote this review.

We had a lovely room in the main hotel, and I must admit I would have been disappointed if we had been in the mews. The staff were helpful, and friendly, and the red rose for ladies dining in the See More  Read more information hotel on valentines was a nice touch. The hotel is in a quiet location whist in easy reach of Newbury, Hungerford, and Marlborough all delightful little towns with lots of character.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Didcot Railway Centre  
Hungerford  
Newbury  
Marlborough  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Long Weekend In West Berkshire Area

Stay Date: 16/04/10, a customer from Caerphilly who stayed at 4* Best Western West Grange Hotel in Midgham wrote this review.

The hotel was easy to find and the staff friendly and welcoming. Our room was at the back of the hotel overlooking countryside and wildlife-beautiful. However, our bed was uncomfortable and very See More  Read more information creaky! Both room and corridor doors need to be fixed with dampers so they do not slam all night. The menu was the same each night of our stay which resulted in some of my party of 4 having the same foodeach night! (but it was very nice). The staff were attentive and very helpful. Why do british hotels rarely offer marmalade for breakfast?.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Theale Bird Sanctuary  
Newbury Town Exploration Walking Tour  
Kennet & Avon Canal  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hungerford-Egon Ronay Cafe Near Canal  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

It Is A Lovely Place

Stay Date: 12/06/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Mercure Newbury Elcot Park in Newbury (Nr) wrote this review.

We booked for a few days to just switch off, it was ideal for this, swim, steam, tennis, nice food etc. And only a two mile walk away a charming village with canal, waterside pub and a delightful See More  Read more information farm shop.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel stay

Stay Date: 21/03/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Colchester who stayed at 4* Mercure Newbury Elcot Park (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Newbury (Nr) wrote this review.

Staff very friendly. Excellent value for money. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Basildon Park  
airkix basingstoke  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Sunny Days down by the canals, Newbury

Stay Date: 29/05/16, a customer aged 25-44 from Maidstone who stayed at 4* Mercure Newbury Elcot Park (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Newbury (Nr) wrote this review.

Elcot was a little further out of Newbury than expected but not a problem, very quiet area and the hotel and surroundings very nice (a little more love and attention to flowers would make it even See More  Read more information better). Visited Newbury, Hungerford and Bath on this stay, all nice places, parking a little steep in Bath but to be expected. Hotel rooms very comfortable and roomy and clean, the only thing missingfor me was a bottle of water and a small packet of biscuits and then it would be perfect.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windsor Great Park  
savill garden  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Grand hotel in quiet location

Stay Date: 16/12/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Littlehampton who stayed at 4* Mercure Newbury Elcot Park (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Newbury (Nr) wrote this review.

The hotel building and grounds are really stunning. The reception rooms were very impressive, although the dining room was smaller than expected. Our bedroom was a little tired, but most comfortable See More  Read more information with magnificent views. What stood out for us was however the customer service. We did have a few issues, which Hassine at reception sorted for us with exceptional professionalism and understanding.With customer service like that, we would certainly visit the hotel again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Newbury Town  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Breakfast

Stay Date: 13/01/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Cardiff who stayed at 4* Mercure Newbury Elcot Park (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Newbury (Nr) wrote this review.

There was a wedding on Saturday which meant that breakfast was busy on Sunday morning. The hotel seemed to struggle to keep up with the demand for food and coffee. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Unfortunate Break

Stay Date: 16/06/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Newbury Elcot Park in Newbury (Nr) wrote this review.

due to the bad weather the hotel had a 8 hour power cut - making us drive 20 miles before we found somewhere to eat no air conditioning in the room, windows could not be opened enough to allow cool See More  Read more information air to come inside the room   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 21 of 21 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001475 @ 22/11/2017 08:00:42

Last rendered @ 23/11/2017 18:45:42

Last rendered @ 23/11/2017 18:45:42

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.