Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) Reviews (Nr Aberfoyle - Trossachs)

Aberfoyle, Trossachs, Central, FK8 3TL, Scotland
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner)

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

Star Rating:

4 stars:
SuperBreak Customer Rating:
 
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating:
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel &  Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) - Hotel Image

Average TripAdvisor Traveller Rating:

  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness

Average Customer Rating:

  • Sleep
  • Breakfast
  • Staff
  • Destination
 

Read reviews below or click here to view the hotel product page

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews
  • TripAdvisor Traveller Reviews

Great location

Stay Date: 21/08/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Glasgow who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Lovely hotel in its own grounds with great views of loch and nice walks around the venue including a small waterfall. Staff friendly and helpful. Ate in Rafters restaurant, food great but a little See More  Read more information pricey. Breakfast excellent and plenty of choice. Hotel said they didn't know we asked for an upper floor room with a loch view but quickly changed it for us. Room was nice and clean. Road signage fromAberfole poor, the only sign was covered by trees and easy to miss. Spa treatments good though had misunderstood type of treatment included in Super Break deal but again quickly resolved. Pool andJacuzzi good. Overall a good venue for a relaxing break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Forrest Hills

Stay Date: 27/03/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Dundee who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Arrived to sunshine on stunning scenery - the shimmer of the loch and the snow still thick on Ben Lomond combined with the splendour of the hotel 's gardens made a great start to our break. Checking See More  Read more information in was simple and efficient and rooms were large and comfortable - maybe in need of some updating but the bed was huge and the pillows luxurious. Superb pool and spa area. Dinner and breakfastexcellent and well presented. Plenty walking and places to see with watersports and shooting etc available across the road on the lochside. Prices in hotel were high but service was good and is whatyou expect in a hotel of this standard. Overall excellent value for money and a very enjoyable stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend at Forest Hills Hotel

Stay Date: 22/11/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Inverness who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

The Hotel was very good with a very large double aspect room, very comfortable. We just toured about the are and walked around Callendar and Aberfoyle. Also went to the spa at the hotel. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Highland Break

Stay Date: 25/02/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Perth who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Weather fantastic. We enjoyed walks around the lochs. Hotel location was perfect. Lochs & mountains. Hotel staff were quite exceptional, especially the dining room staff. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Walks  
Villages  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Family Time at Aberfoyle

Stay Date: 11/01/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

We 4 hadn't got together for a while....we had a blast. Delighted with the rooms. Dinner was brilliant, you have a lovely dining room. Breakfasts were wonderful. We walked in the grounds and See More  Read more information played draughts. Then walked in the forest and around Lochard....a beautiful part of the world....the snowfall added to the beauty. The swimming pool was lovely (pity about the sauna!!!) and we enjoyed adrink in the bistro. I will recommend this hotel to friends, and will definitely be back!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Loch Katrine  
Forest/Hill Walks  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Coach Inn, Aberfoyle  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Trossachs

Stay Date: 14/09/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Edinburgh who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

We had a wonderful two night break which included bed & breakfast and dinner on the first night. The room was upgraded free of charge although it did look partly over the car park and See More  Read more information scaffolding/tarpaulin on the hotel building, but an excellent room otherwise. All hotel facilities were very good but there was a lot of shabbiness to the outside and public areas of the hotel, which was hard tounderstand why a 4* hotel would allow such deterioration to have happened, but there was ongoing works we could see to the roof and walls so perhaps it would be put right in time. The only thing whichwould have made the break better would have been a choice of dinner on the second night as well included in the total price. The booking process could not have been easier or more convenient. Wespent our time hill walking in the local vicinity and at the end enjoying a bottle of white wine we chilled in the waters of loch Chone.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Trossachs National Park  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lochard - Weekend

Stay Date: 05/04/13, a customer aged 65+ from Lanark who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

The hotel room was excellent with an extra large double bed. The heating was excellent as well and could be used at any time. It was not permanently on timed. The service was very good and the See More  Read more information meals were excellent and that included the sandwiches we had at lunch. The setting of the hotel next to Lochard is beautiful and the grounds are excellent to have a short walk around   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Forrest Hills

Stay Date: 21/09/12, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Good time See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hote  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Trossachs

Stay Date: 30/01/11, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

We were allocated a room in the furthest point from the reception, which basically looked like a room I would have expected from a cheap b&b in blackpool, we complained to the staff who rectified See More  Read more information this, but unfortunately it put a bit of a dampener on the weekend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Location Great Hotel

Stay Date: 13/08/10, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

We had a fabulous break at the Macdonald Forest Hills hotel where the staff were all friendly and could not have been more helpful. The meal we had in the beautiful garden restaurant was just superb See More  Read more information and we also had a more casual but still enjoyable meal in the bistro which is on site. Our room had a four poster bed and the most wonderful view over Loch Ard - we could not wait to open ourcurtains in the morning just for the views. Well done Forest Hills. Can't wait to return.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Go Ape  
Scottish Wool Centre  
Queen Elizabeth Forest  
 

User Review Ratings: 3 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews

Write a Review

The information on this website are the views and opinions of TripAdvisor members and not TripAdvisor LLC. It is provided 'as is' and we accept no responsibility for any loss, injury or inconvenience sustained by anyone resulting from this information. You should verify critical information (like visas, health and safety, customs, and transportation) with the relevant authorities before you travel.

©2007 TripAdvisor LLC. All rights reserved

Read reviews for Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner), Nr Aberfoyle (Trossachs). We only accept reviews from customer who have booked Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner), Nr Aberfoyle (Trossachs) through us. This means better quality reviews which you can trust. View Hotel Details. These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100699 @ 24/08/2017 10:04:35

Last rendered @ 24/09/2017 09:48:18

Last rendered @ 24/09/2017 09:48:18

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForHotel

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForHotel.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.