Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - London Outer

London Outer Holiday Reviews

Greenwich Skyline, London Outer

With all of the exciting attractions, fabulous shopping and incomparable West End Theatre the capital has to offer, choosing one of our hotels on the outskirts of London means you'll have easy access to a wealth of exciting short break activities. Ideal for when you don't want to stay right in the thick of it - a quieter break somewhat removed from London's infamous hustle and bustle - the London outskirts are also well worth the trip in their own right.

When you do fancy a trip into the city, London's excellent transport links will take your right into the centre. Our hotels on the outskirts of London are made easy to get to on major roads like the M25, fantastic rail links across the country and, of course, London's many airports.

  • Our hotels North of London are ideal for a visit to the incredibly popular Harry Potter Studio Tours - an absolute must for all fans of the boy wizard.
  • The home of football, Wembley Stadium is a must-see when you're staying in our North-West London hotels, and the utterly brilliant concerts and events at Wembley Arena are well worth a look too.
  • South-East London hotels are perfectly situated to see gorgeous Greenwich - the breath-taking buildings of the Old Royal Naval College and the National Maritime Museum have to be seen, and London?s greatest concert venue The O2 Arena is also here.
  • Don't miss our Richmond and Wimbledon hotels either, not least for the pretty and affluent surrounds of this part of London, but also for the world-famous Wimbledon Championships during the summertime too.


The perfect choice for a quieter break in the capital, check out our range of London Outer hotels in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 613

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Holiday Inn Stationers Lock Apsley

Stay Date: 12/08/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead in Hemel Hempstead wrote this review.

The hotel was great, newly built with comfrtable rooms and great customer service. Hemel Hempstead has turned into a good shopping centre, although Starbucks was a shambles, I waited for 5 mins to See More  Read more information be served and ended up walking out before being served, there was no one in front of me! Oscars in Kings Langley is a great place to eat. Great food, Italian pasta and pizza. Good range of drinks,great staff and service.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hemel Hempstead Shopping Centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Oscars in Kings Langley  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Hemel Hempstead

Stay Date: 24/03/07, a customer from London who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead in Hemel Hempstead rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Whipsnade

Stay Date: 12/05/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead in Hemel Hempstead wrote this review.

Hotel room was very hot. Air cooler was broken - so very hard to cool the room down quickly. I had to move the children and change rooms after I had put them to bed which made it difficult to get See More  Read more information them to sleep. COntary to your staff's knowlege - meals are not offered by the hotel at weekends - so just as well I fed the children elsewhere. There was also only a shower in the room which I was notexpecting! Hotel is positioned beside the canal - lovely walk around the narrow boats and good pushchair access to the tow path. Plenty of bars around and McDonalds a mile up the road! There was auseful corner shop just over the canal footbridge. Whipsnade Zoo is spreadout over a much larger area than I rememered. You have to pay extra for £3.50 or £11 (inside) for car parking - which seemsrather mean! The animals were in fantastic enclosures but so spreadout it was very tiring for the children to walk between them. We walked over 5 miles! The steam train was great - but another £3.50for adults! The seal lions were funny .....   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Whipsnade Zoo  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chef n Brewer  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's comments: The Express by Holiday Inn offers meals throughout the weekend; dinner is only unavailable on a Friday.

 

Warner Bros Studio and London Weekend

Stay Date: 06/04/13, a customer aged 25-44 from Wolverhampton who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead in Hemel Hempstead wrote this review.

Stayed at Holiday Inn Express in Apsley, located directly opposite train station into London. The hotel was clean and mostly comfortable. we stayed in a family room with two teenagers sharing the See More  Read more information sofa bed (the only uncomfortable part of the weekend, for them). The Paper Mill pub is right next door to hotel which I can highly recommend for an evening meal over looking the canal. There are otherrestaurants close by. We intended to visit the Science and History museum but only made the Science as queue for History was nearly two hours long by the time we got to it. I recommend you go therefirst as it is more popular than the Science. The The Harry Potter Studios fulfilled all my expectations and more! A must do trip for any Harry Potter fan of any age. Travel from the hotel to Warner BrosStudios only took about 15 mins. Overall an excellent trip!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
London City  
Science Museum  
Warner Brothers Studios  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Paper Mill Apsley  
Cafe Concerto London  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Harry Potter Studios

Stay Date: 30/11/13, a customer aged 25-44 from Bristol who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead in Hemel Hempstead wrote this review.

Great location for hotel and easy to get around with pub short distance away. Room was good with everything we need and staff was great with kids at breakfast. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harry Potter Studios  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fabulous trip to Harry Potter studio tour London

Stay Date: 19/01/14, a customer aged 25-44 from Swansea who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead in Hemel Hempstead wrote this review.

The hotel was excellent value for money and the staff were very friendly and welcoming and helpful. The room was of a good size and well equipped. Breakfast was very go with a wide variety choices. See More  Read more information Check in and check out was very smooth which all added to a stress free stay   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
harry potter studio tour london  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

My First Visit to London

Stay Date: 22/07/06, a customer who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn London Elstree M25 J23 in Elstree wrote this review.

We travelled by bus from Musswell Hill into London and were able to see my partners old haunts We were able to spend time with my partners son and his family and also my partners brother We were See More  Read more information taking part in a tv programme in Trafalgar Square that will be shown in the autumn. We took part in the juggling   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
All London Attractions  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chinese Restaurant in Elstree  
Indian Restaurant in Cheshunt  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Wedding Anniversary Party

Stay Date: 17/10/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Swindon who stayed at 4* De Vere Selsdon Estate in Sanderstead (Nr South Croydon) wrote this review.

We were part of a 50th wedding anniversary group staying over for the party being held at the hotel. Reception staff were very helpful especially Ross, Dorota and their manager; thank you for See More  Read more information accommodating our room needs.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Average Hotel - Dining room did not have enough staff

Stay Date: 26/08/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Tyldesley who stayed at 4* De Vere Selsdon Estate in Sanderstead (Nr South Croydon) wrote this review.

There were weddings at the hotel both days so it was quite busy. The first night the dining room was full - not even 1 table for 2 at any time. A warning when we checked in would have been useful. See More  Read more information The card given us with our room card clearly stated that breakfast at weekends was until 11 am. We arrived at 1015 to be told that breakfast ended at 10 am. Dining room staff seemed stupefied aboutwhat the card said and several asked to examine it. We were allowed to eat although felt under pressure to finish the meal quickly. Some food on the hot buffet was cold. On the second morning we madesure to arrive at breakfast well before 10 am. The dining room was again full mainly with wedding guests. Staff seemed to be struggling with the number of guests. Our table had not been properly laid -missing several items. Some guests occupied a table near ours that had not been cleared from the previous guests. All the food on the hot buffet was lukewarm at best. My pot of tea was cold eventhough I poured it almost immediately after it was delivered. Once I caught the eye of a waiter it was replaced with a full apology. There were lots of cobwebs on the windows in the dining room. Itlooked as if they had been there some time. It begs the question "How clean are the food preparation areas?" The view from the terrace was stunning. A shame that there was no waiter working theterrace offering drinks on the Sunday morning which was very warm, sunny and busy. Most carpets in the public areas were worn, as was the one in our bedroom. The room was too warm and opening thewindows seemed risky as it was a lower ground floor room looking out over an internal courtyard. The bathroom seemed to have underfloor heating that could not be controlled. This added to the warmth in theroom. The external aspects of the hotel and the view were very attractive but internally it was tired. Could be a great hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Poor hotel

Stay Date: 27/10/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Cardiff who stayed at 4* De Vere Selsdon Estate in Sanderstead (Nr South Croydon) wrote this review.

Hotel in great location and looks attractive. Room was dirty, cold and damp. Bathroom poor and dirty. Shower not hot and barely a drizzle of water to shower in. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 41 - 50 of 613 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=1001507 @ 06/12/2017 08:14:45

Last rendered @ 12/12/2017 21:40:08

Last rendered @ 12/12/2017 21:40:08

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.