Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - London Bridge & Southwark

London Bridge & Southwark Holiday Reviews

Globe Theatre, London Bridge and Southwark

Surrounded by must-see sights and impressive views, our London Bridge Hotels are an excellent and interesting choice when it comes to planning your next short stay in the capital. The south side of the river is home to a number of London's top attractions, whilst also being a quick journey away to the famous shopping of Oxford Street and the fabulous shows in the West End, both are a mere 15 minutes away on the tube.

Our hotels in Southwark are of course in the perfect spot for visiting Southwark Cathedral, or for going wine tasting at the popular Vinopolis. No trip to this area of London is complete with taking in the breath-taking View from The Shard - 800ft up, in Western Europe's tallest building - or experience a slice of quintessential London the way it used to be down at Borough Market.

  • The trendy Southbank is just a short walk away, and top, family-friendly London attractions including The London Eye, the London Dungeons and the London Aquarium can all be found there.
  • Get all cultured and catch a show at the world-famous Shakespeare's Globe Theatre, or take in the free exhibitions at the iconic Tate Modern Art Gallery.
  • Amongst the other attractions near London Bridge, the impressive and imposing HMS Belfast is a must-see and, just across the river, you can find the fascinating Tower of London and the endlessly pretty St Paul's Cathedral.


An excellent destination for your next short break in London, check out our range of hotels near London Bridge.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 352

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

London Break

Stay Date: 09/04/07, a customer from Lincolnshire who stayed at 4* Novotel London City South in London Bridge/City wrote this review.

Hotel was lovely, although breakfast was not that good. Even though we went down for breakfast at about 9am, they had already run out of quite a lot of items. Only stayed one night, so didn't bother See More  Read more information complaining, but had we stayed longer and it had happened again, certainly would have. Visit Planet Hollywood for a great meal, been there many, many times, not cheap but worth every expensivepenny! A bike along the canals or through the parks is always a great way to see parts of London you perhaps wouldn't normally see.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hyde Park  
Covent Garden/Leicester Square  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Planet Hollywood  
Sticky Fingers Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fabulous Weekend In London

Stay Date: 13/04/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Novotel London City South in London Bridge/City wrote this review.

Travelling in style via 1st Class on Virgin trains (fabulous breakfast) we arrived at London Euston. Taxi ride to Novotel London City South on ?12 which we thought was a fabulous price - very cheery See More  Read more information and helpful taxi driver. Arrived 10 minutes later at the hotel. Our rooms weren't ready but we were early. However, checked in left luggage in a secure room and went for a stroll. We were pleasantlysuprised how close we were to the River Thames - just 2 minute walk where we found fabulous restaurants, cafes etc. Strolled over the millenium bridge and found a lovely bar with outdoor terrace. Wejust had to have a few drinks there (it would be rude no to!)The weather was fabulous and the company too (my husband, sister, mum & dad). Couple hours later returned to Hotel where we then settledinto our fabulous rooms. Over the next couple of days we took a trip on the London Eye and the London Eye river cruise (book tickets prior to arriving for a discount online). it is well worth buying 24hour ticket from reception for the original bus company open top tours where you can hop on and off wherever you like (yellow line route is the best as you get a fabulous live tour guide to inform youof the sights). Also a trip to the London Dungeons is highly recommended (not for those with nervous disposition) - again buy tickets from reception to 'fast track' the queue. Saturday night left uswith just one word to describe it - guess what that is - yes - fabulous! Dirty Dancing at the Adlwych theatre truly fabulous! Thanks to Superbreaks we were 4 rows from the front best seats in thehouse! Prior to the show we found a fabulous Brasserie just around the corner that did a special pre-theatre menu. Finally, travelled home in 1st class but unfortunatley didn't get anything to eat as itwas a Sunday! (thought modern times had put an end to the world stopping because it was a Sunday) - so a little disappointing. On the whole though, as you have probably gathered, it was FABULOUS!.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
London Dungeon  
London Eye  
Thames River Cruise  
The Original Tour  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Express  
Brasserie Around Corner From Aldwych Theatre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in London

Stay Date: 25/05/07, a customer from Wakefield who stayed at 4* Mercure London Bridge in London Bridge/City wrote this review.

Very good weekend, staff at the hotel gave valuable info about getting to the Chelsea Flower Show which save a lot of time. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chelsea Flower Show  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in London

Stay Date: 08/06/07, a customer from Stowmarket who stayed at 4* Novotel London City South in London Bridge/City rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harrods  
Tower of London  
 
 

Short Break in London

Stay Date: 22/07/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Novotel London City South in London Bridge/City wrote this review.

Convenient hotel for business visit. Extremely competitive price for night required. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Novotel London City South Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Came up to Town

Stay Date: 03/08/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Novotel London City South in London Bridge/City wrote this review.

Special treat bargain price travelled first class on GNER Made welcome in hotel, Freshend up then went to Covent Garden. Finished day with meal in hotel resterant. Great evening of free See More  Read more information entertainment, great atmosphere. Next day good breakfast in hotel,and booked tickets for attractions. Short walk to bus tour, stopped on way to watch film crew. We bought flexible tickets so we could drop inand of bus. Stopped at Tower of London Excellent. Walked to St Pauls spiritual visit. Took a river cruise. Walked short distance to hotel, collected cases and took leasurly journey back toYorkshire. Excellent short break, begining to feel more like a Duracell.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
St Paul's Cathedral  
Tower of London  
London Bus Tour  
River Thames Cruise  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
McDonalds  
Savoy Grill  
Salierie  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in the City

Stay Date: 27/07/07, a customer from Telford who stayed at 4* Novotel London City South in London Bridge/City wrote this review.

each day was a new experience underground was the business See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hampton Court Palace  
Globe Theatre  
Victoria Theatre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Daughter's West End Birthday Treat to See Joseph

Stay Date: 28/07/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Novotel London City South in London Bridge/City wrote this review.

As a birthday treat, we took our daughter and her best friend to see Joseph at The Adelphi Theatre, thoroughly enjoying the build up on the BBC's 'Any Dream Will Do' programme to see who would win See More  Read more information the lead role - fortunately the girls' favourite - Lee! On the train down from Birmingham, we were able to pre-book seats with a table, have our packed lunch in comfort and arrive in London nice andrelaxed. We bought 1 day off-peak travelcards for the underground allowing the kids to travel free. Using the underground we traveled easily to our hotel (six stops with no changes)and although wewere a bit lost when we came out of the tube, a quick call to the Hotel's frontdesk and we were given excellent directions. We were greeted by friendly staff at the hotel and booked into our room- a family room for two adults and two kids. We got showered and changed for a pre-theatre meal followed by the show. Using our travelcards, we went by tube to The Strand and ate at the Pizza Hutwe had located before our visit, opposite the theatre. We had to wait for a table to become available and could have done with longer to eat our meal but we asked for all the courses to come togetherso that we could get to the theatre on time! So glad it was nearby. We had budget seats right at the top back of the theatre but luckily our seats allowed the kids to sit in line with aisles and havea good view of the stage. Other seats would have been worse as the audience was mainly adult and a bit difficult to see over. The show was fantastic and the kids sang and danced their way back tothe hotel and to bed. Breakfast was excellent in the morning - something to suit all tastes. We had already planned what we were going to do on the Sunday and we set off using travelcards again onthe tube. A short trip to Westminster Pier and we got the 10am sightseeing cruise to Greenwich. Our travelcard allowed a 30% discount on the price of a family return ticket normally ?26. The trip takesabout 1 hr each way and you can return when you want. We walked to the Royal Observatory first, which takes you past some very impressive buildings around the National Maritime Museum and up asteepish hill through a lovely park. The story behind Greenwich meantime is very educational for the kids (and adults!) and standing on the meridian provides a great photo opportuniy. We walked backto the Maritime Museum, first having a healthy but bit pricey lunch in the courtyard of it's cafe/restaurant. We were a bit short of time to visit the Maritime Museum properly and found it difficult tofind our way about - a route to follow would have been helpful. We got the boat back to Westminster Pier and tube back to pick up our luggage from the hotel. It was a bit of an effort to turnstraight back out of the hotel to the tube station again, but we had to catch our train back to Birmingham. Once again we were very thankful for pre-booked seats on the train as it was quite full. Somefamilies were split up and/or standing in the corridor! Overall we had a fantastic trip - the anticipation once booked, the build up, the actual trip and then of course the memories afterwards.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Maritime Museum  
Royal Observatory  
Thames River Services - Return Cruise to Greenwich  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Hut  
National Maritime Museum Cafe  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in London

Stay Date: 16/08/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Novotel London City South in London Bridge/City rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Covent Garden  
King's Road  
Cabinet War Rooms & Churchill Museum  
Theatre - Wicked  
 
 

Short Break to London - Mercure Hotel

Stay Date: 11/08/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure London Bridge in London Bridge/City rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Theatre - In celebration  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mercure Hotel - Room Service  
 
 
 

Showing 261 - 270 of 352 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Release-20170705

Version=100699 @ 24/08/2017 10:04:35

Last rendered @ 25/09/2017 01:59:31

Last rendered @ 25/09/2017 01:59:31

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: ""

Is Secure? False

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.